We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lowell Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lowell Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 August 2015

The Lowell Center is a great place to stay, whenever you come to visit the UW campus. My room had a king size bed, refrig, microwave, Keurig, iron, and flatscreen TV. Room was very clean, wifi worked great and the free breakfast was was absolutely outstanding, The only negative was the night time noise level,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear David A We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast! We are also sorry you had some noise trouble; please make sure to contact the front desk next time, we are happy to help. Hope to see you again on your next campus visit! Lowell Center

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Overall, very nice hotel with clean and updated rooms, and excellent location close to the university and State St. Parking is limited at the hotel, but they do have extra parking a few blocks away if you don't mind walking. I agree with others comments it looks like a dorm from the outside, but you'll be pleasantly surprised by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tstupp56
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear tstupp56, Thank you for sharing with us! It is important to us you had a satisfactory experience. Hope to see you again! Lowell Center

Surrey
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Upgrade to a plus room for high quality air conditioning, WIFI, spacious room, comfy beds and very quiet room to room. While this is 'adult' accommodation for long term students, there is noise from rooms to hallway but not much between rooms. Hotel has a pool and free breakfast with everything from eggs, cereal and toast to waffles and more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear yvrtravelguy, We appreciate your feedback! I'm very glad to hear you had a good experience with us. Hope to see you again soon! Lowell Center

Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Ok. It looks like an average dorm from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised by our 1 night stay. We had a clean, spacious room with a view of the lake. Breakfast was far superior than the standard Hampton Inn fare- home made everything, cooked to order eggs, fresh fruit, etc. Hint: get an upgraded room for about 20 bucks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear Chuck S, Thank you for sharing with us your experience! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Come back on your next college visit! Lowell Center

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Hotel was extremely clean, rooms in great condition, staff in hotel were very professional & helpful,friendly. Is close to the University, lake, beautiful area for walking. Lots to see & great location to everything we were there to do.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank July20014
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear July 20014, Thank you for reviewing! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again at Lowell Center next time you're in Madison! Lowell Center

Reviewed 22 July 2015

Whether you are going to the Union or the Farmers Market, the Lowell Center is walkable. Only little hike is to the Funio where you park your car although some arrangements can be made to park on site. Very clean, very friendly, very comfortable mattress, and wide range of locally sourced items on the breakfast buffet. Pool is better for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siampayne
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear Siampayne, Thank you very much for sharing! We're happy you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to see you again at Lowell Center soon! Lowell Center

South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 July 2015

As another mentioned it's not a 5 start hotel and not even a 4. That said, I travel often and was very comfortable here to attend a conference. Very close to the lake, state street, the student union, the capitol and most everything in town. The bed was on the soft side and comfortable and the room was clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear Beth T, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! I’m so glad you had a good experience and enjoyed our WIFI service. We hope to see you again in the future! Lowell Center

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days attending a class. The room I had was clean, had a great view of the lake, great air conditioning and a keurig. The shower was not that powerful and the towels felt like sandpaper. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a variety of items and always had one featured item and someone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VirginiaLove2Travel
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear VirginiaLove2Travel, We're glad that you enjoyed your stay! I have shared your feedback about the towels with our management team. Hope to see you at Lowell Center again in the future! Lowell Center

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This is an old 1960s dorm that's been turned into a hotel for UW Madison extension. The room is nice enough, and the bed and TV are awesome. However, the air conditioning is terrible. I'm sitting here wit the fan provided trying to cool off with the much cooler air in the hallway. It's not working. Do not stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100nightsayear_sea
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear 100nightsayear_sea, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your opinion is very important to us and I am sorry you had such a bad experience with the air conditioning during your recent stay with us. I'm going to share your feedback with our management team. If you have any additional feedback, please don’t hesitate to give us a...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 8 July 2015

So, I think the main reason that others haven't given this a 5 is that it isn't a 5-star hotel. And I suppose I should mention the negatives. The service isn't up to the standard you would expect at a regular hotel. There were places the room felt a bit rough, like the molding spot where the bathroom above (or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ScholarGentleman
The Lowell C, Manager at Lowell Center, responded to this review

Dear ScholarGentleman, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I’m sorry you felt our service was less than excellent. I also shared your feedback on the roof and desk lamp with our management team. I’m glad you had a comfortable stay and hope to welcome you to Lowell Center again soon! Lowell Center

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.6 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
626 reviews
0.8 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
633 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.1 km away
Graduate Madison
Graduate Madison
#26 of 61 in Madison
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lowell Center

Address: 610 Langdon St, University of Wisconsin-Extension Conference Centers, Madison, WI 53703-1104
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: €84 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lowell Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lowell Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“7th Floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles holzmansarah, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There is no individual control over AC. Apparently the -01 and -02 rooms are all very cold. The -12 rooms are very hot.”
  • The mildew on the shower curtain in my room at the Lowell Center.
  • The photo is poorly lit because the room is poorly lit. Note the space heater in the corner.
  • Dorm-style institutional bathroom.
  • Institutional bathroom with no style or comfort. Cleaning supplies left by staff.
 of 5 bubbles WhoAmIToday, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If possible, get a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles pmlk82212, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Great location - near State Street and Memorial Union”
 of 5 bubbles briansL2801YS, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the top floor for less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 644davida644, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5