We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritance Tea Factory

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Tea Factory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Tea Factory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,058: English reviews
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

Awesome views and spectacular decor. The hotel has a great sense of welcome from the hospitality of the staff to the warmth feeling of the old style tea factory. The hotel is situated on top of the mountains and is great for a cool retreat in Sri Lanka, away from the heat and humidity of the coast. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Am4r
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Tea Factory as your preferred accommodation partner for a relaxing holiday experience and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your positive endorsement of the overall facilities and the services that the hotel had to offer during your stay. Serving you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Who ever managed the conversion of this old tea factory did the most fabulous job, it really is stunning. In addition the staff (our top chum Mutu) and the restaurant (buffet) food are really excellent. However the common areas are looking a little tired, especially the soft furnishings and on our arrival it was a pity to see tables left...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon J
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Heritance Tea Factory. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed the cuisine provided and we are delighted that our staff has been friendly and helpful to you. We are really sorry to hear that you...

Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewed 5 October 2015

situated on top of a mountain very high ...most beautiful view. interesting Hotel. we did it for the view and the experience. rooms are not too big but have all you need for pampering. we only stayed one night arrived late afternoon and left early morning ...not enough to experience the hotel properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michal i
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Michal, We would like to thank you for visiting Heritance Tea Factory and for the time devoted in posting an insightful review on TripAdvisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance and the location. We warmly invite you to pay another to our hotel for a longer stay to explore what it has...

Anoyira, Cyprus
Reviewed 4 October 2015

This hotel is a converted tea factory, done with style whilst retaining some great features. The staff are just a joy to experience, always smiling, well turned out and always ready to help. The room we had was comfortable with a balcony looking over the lawns and tea plantations. The food was excellent with lots of choice. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyzbass
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Johnny, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Tea Factory as your holiday destination to celebrate your romantic getaway in the midst of the hill country Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting this valuable review for the befit and knowledge of our future guests. We are indeed delighted to note...

Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We loved our visit here. They seem to have a well drilled team and the customer service was excellent. We took up one of their tours - to walk to the village - and our guide was absolutely charming. We loved it. The story of the hotel is very interesting and they have quite a lot of historic displays which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Esther, It is always pleasing to hear such wonderful compliments regarding the natural beauty of the Sri Lanka's hill country along with the experience you've had during your stay with us at Heritance Tea Factory. Serving you during your stay with us has been a delightful and relaxing experience and we certainly thank you for providing us the opportunity...

Reviewed 1 October 2015

The hotel is set in the middle of a tea plantation and is a converted tea factory. The interior and reception is incredible with much of the machinery beautifully worked into the hotel. The check in is painless, the rooms excellent and the food top class and plentiful. Its a get away hotel or part of a tour as its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Mark, We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay with us. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed our culinary experience and found the culinary team to be very helpful. Please keep us informed when you're making your...

England
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in September 2015 as part of our honeymoon trip around Sri Lanka. The hotel is beautiful, full of history and just fascinating to wander around. As other reviews have said, it's part hotel, part museum. The rooms are small but have everything you need, I wouldn't say they were chic or luxurious but the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KJC1000
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for the valuable time devoted in posting an insightful review on TripAdvisor following your holiday experience at Heritance Tea Factory. It was indeed a great pleasure having you with us and we sincerely thank you providing us the opportunity to be at your service. We are much obliged to note of...

Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed here for two nights coming directly from Kandy. Upon arrival we were served tea and hot towels. Now that's service. We immediately signed up for an afternoon trek around the grounds. It was very refreshing. Then the next day we left very early for Horton Plains National Park coming back in the afternoon to enjoy a tea tasting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wt1986
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Tea Factory as your preferred accommodation partner for a relaxing holiday experience and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your positive endorsement of the overall facilities and the services that the hotel had to offer during your stay with us...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Arrived at the hotel after a long drive and coming up to the end of our tour. Checked in and shown to our room which was on the first floor 106 nice room good view. Went off to explore the hotel and surrounding area. I thought what an amazing place. Changed and went down to dinner food was excellent lots...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex S
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Heritance Tea Factory. Thank you very much for the applauds on the room views, cuisine and the service of the staff. Further to the comments you have made in your valuable and descriptive feedback, we are deeply disappointed...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel location is Uniq and the surrounding is amazing. In the heart of tea plantation. The designers of the hotel succeeded to keep the atmosphere and ambience of the thirties of the 120 century . Food is good and the dinner buffet is delicious and with large variation for just 57 rooms hotel. The only problem that derogate the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erez b
Yohan A, Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review

Dear Erez, Thank you for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay with us at Heritance Tea Factory. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed the hotel location, the surrounding, the design and the cuisine offered. We are so sorry to hear that you have found the rooms to be very...

2,358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2342)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (186)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (717)
Viewed
Dining (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (238)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (948)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
7.8 km away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,446 reviews
8.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,930 reviews
8.1 km away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
249 reviews
4.8 km away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
139 reviews
8.1 km away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: €179 - €344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Tea Factory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor”
sjopjm, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room with a double aspect for the best views”
JanieAlison, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony are lovely.”
JonV19, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sign up for the tea picking, and dinner in the train carriage restaurant if you like dining experiences”
CarannaW, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go to the railway carriage for a meal”
DebWestfield, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5