We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tea Bush Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Tea Bush Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 133: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The property is located on a uphill drive road, off the main road connecting Nuwara Eliya and Gregory lake. First thing we noticed when we entered was that the rooms did not have AC, and immediately realized we would not be needing one! The rooms were big with old English furniture and the bed/linen was very clean, warm and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shashidhar26
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our extended family had our 14th year reunion here. 8 adults & 8 kids. Being the owner of Zhilam Hostel, I know the ins and outs of running a homely place. Tea Bush meets all the main requirements and exceeds: clean, peaceful, honest, helpful, quite, easy access, great walks, good food, friendly dog, and Sam the manager is always on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krubesh
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice cosy place to stay.. Very nice folks who manage this place.. The manager of the property is very forthcoming and makes all effort to make your stay worthwhile. Excellent WiFi the best I experienced in all my stays in Sri Lanka. Nice beautiful place.. Though there is some new construction coming up hampering the view. Breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank varehman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Set in the beautiful hillside, TeaBush is a cosy haven for the weary traveler. Beautiful heritage and history of the building. Still retains the rustic charm. The gardens surrounding are perfect for a cup of tea on a sunny day. The manager and staff are great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandra F
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was the old superintendents home on the tea plantation! Many old features are still there such as the floor boards, wooden ceilings, furniture and fire places! However it was cold in December due to it being an old building but were provided with a heater throughout our stay! Great views of Gregory lake and the mountains! Beautiful vegetable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroline b
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We halted here for buffet lunch on way to Nuwara Eliya. I can not comment on rooms but the food was good. Both local and continental fare was on offer. Their were no rotis though. Overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vidyapm
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

we stayed 2 nights in superior deluxe newly room but other rooms are very old our room higher than the other hotel.beautiful view in the morning. staff were very friendly & always willing to help us.foods not bad

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skc J
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Tea Bush at Nuwara Eliya isn't just a hotel. It's an experience. If quaint comfortable homely and cozy is your thing then you are at the right place. If it isn't then visit this hill top haven to make it your thing. Delicious food goes hand in hand with polite and well trained English speaking staff ready to carry out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hector k
Galle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Over rated by the high price, nothing special with the hotel other than nice garden, because it very difficult to find places with garden in nuwaraeliya, but rooms are very old, not comfort as expected to this price, you don't get the best of view also, we got a double room(room only) for 8500+VAT that is really expensive compare with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charith H
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The hotel was a disappointment. We booked what was advertised in Agoda as "Super Delux Room with Breakfast". When we arrived at the hotel the staff told us that we should pay extra for the breakfast. An unpleasent discussion was required until the staff agreed to waive the costs for the breakfast. In addition the bathroom was not particular clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 652jeka
Shiranthi, Co-ordination Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, First of all thank you so much for posting you comments on Trip Advisor and we are sorry for the misunderstanding you had with your reservation. But i must tell you, Even the room you have booked mentioned Super Deluxe Room with Breakfast the breakfast option you have selected no and you have booked Room only. That's why...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
0.3 km away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
299 reviews
2.5 km away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
200 reviews
12.9 km away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
136 reviews
0.3 km away
Silver Dew
Silver Dew
#57 of 206 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Daffodils
Hotel Daffodils
#62 of 206 in Nuwara Eliya
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Address: 29, Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: €54 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tea Bush Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tea Bush Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tea Bush Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 101. It was at the end of the hall and quiet. Good wifi signal.”
 of 5 bubbles namaste859, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“none of the rooms have good views... u see only buildings in the front.”
 of 5 bubbles krtKaranth, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The room with the outside access is a great perfect choice”
  • Cozy
 of 5 bubbles maitlis, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Delicious Food”
 of 5 bubbles AsankaWeerasinghe, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The room in the new wing, on the top floor has the best view and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles meuma, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay