We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Our trip to Independence included a stay at Hawthorn and it was more than what we could have expected. Jim and Wendy were amazing hosts and went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met. Our room was spacious and cozy and very well kept. Breakfast on both mornings were varied and what you would expect from a 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaAndShayna G
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and so happy you enjoyed your three-day stay! You got to witness first-hand what we love to do and why we do it! Jim loves to cook and your acknowledgement of his skills in the kitchen means so much. Wow! Like a five-star restaurant? We are truly flattered. One of many fun things we...

Augusta, GA
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

My husband made our reservations here a long time in advance and forgot that we were supposed to check in by 6:00 p.m. The innkeepers were not happy when I called them at 3:30 and told them we would be there by 7:00. When we got there, we were given a very quick tour and a good recommendation for dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

As covered in previous responses many bed and breakfasts do not offer 24/7 front desk service and innkeepers make their evening plans based on communicated arrival times. While we appreciated the call you would be late, we could accommodate the change and apologize if you felt we were not thrilled to do so. We do offer a King bed in...

PLYMOUTH
Reviewed 2 April 2016

While the accommodations and setting are top-notch, the host needs some work. We were booked to arrive between 5 and 6 pm, but got a last-minute dinner invitation that would have necessitated our checking in closer to 8. When we called to request a later check-in, my daughter was humiliated and put down by the innkeeper. When we asked what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nelbenMinnesota
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words regarding the lovely setting and amazing sheets. We are very proud of our location on two beautiful acres in a quiet residential setting. The brand of sheets we use have been part of our bed & breakfast for more than 8 years. Guests love them so much they order sets for themselves! As Innkeepers...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I found the owners to be hostile and unfriendly. The breakfast was meager and not very tasty. I have stayed at many many bed and breakfast inns in America and Europe through the years. This was one of the most disappointing Bed and breakfast experiences we have had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nwilk2016
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The reservation made via phone enabled us to learn of your husband’s extensive voluntary dietary restrictions which we gladly were able to accommodate to the letter and told privately by him was very much appreciated. Based on dozens of previous reviews, speaking specifically about our wonderful, delicious and substantial...

Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Nice turn of the Century renovated mansion house. Very clean and spacious rooms. Hospitable hosts and superb breakfasts. Kansas City is only a few miles away. I'll be staying here again when I'm on business in KC

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon J
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit! Our convenient location just outside the city limits make Hawthorn the ideal base of operations when in Kansas City/Independence.

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

As with a lot of older homes converted to B&B's, there are some quirks. Our room's plumbing was backwards so the hot/cold were reversed. The wi-fi wasn't so hot even going through the Apple device tricks to get connected. But I will say it was cozy, beautifully decorated for Xmas, and the breakfast was incredible! You won't need lunch that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abakinzie
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on our bed and breakfast. You will be happy to learn we have upgraded our WiFi capabilities and guests report easier connectivity even with Apple products. The quirk with the reversed faucet is something that has existed for 16 years and we just cannot bring ourselves to change it. We do, as you know,...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Had a wonderful stay while in town for the BYU/Missouri game. This was our first get away in years and we were thrilled with our decision to stay here. The home is warm and welcoming and we didn't want to leave! Will be making a return visit ASAP.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cleadus
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed the warmth and hospitality we are known for. Our close proximity to Kaufmann and Arrowhead stadiums make Hawthorn the ideal location when in town for a game or concert. We look forward to your return visit!

Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Husband and I came in for a football game and decided to stay here because of the close location to the stadium. It was a wonderful stay! The breakfast was delicious and house is beautiful. The inn keepers were warm and welcoming. We will be coming back again for another stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasha M
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Husband and I came in for a football game and decided to stay here because of the close location to the stadium. It was a wonderful stay! The breakfast was delicious and house is beautiful. The inn keepers were warm and welcoming. We will be coming back again for another stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tasha M
Indianola, Iowa
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This is a nice mansion with wonderful accommodations. Make sure you read the fine print on the website if you have more than two people staying in the rooms because the inn keepers do not make it clear when they confirm the reservation what the costs will be. The breakfasts were more than enough to eat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler50125
Hawthorn15, Owner at Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the accommodations. Breakfasts at Hawthorn are really special and we are glad you felt our breakfasts provided ample servings. We are sorry you felt the pricing and extra guest charges were not well communicated. We researched our communications with you (there were three emails in addition to the confirmation) and...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
12.5 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.3 km away
Higher Ground Hotel
Higher Ground Hotel
#2 of 18 in Independence
226 reviews
13.1 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
12.4 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 109 in Kansas City
570 reviews
31.7 km away
Inn on Crescent Lake
Inn on Crescent Lake
#1 of 2 in Excelsior Springs
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Elegant 19th century stone mansion meticulously renovated and opened as a Bed & Breakfast in 2000. Relax in the comfort and privacy of this beautiful estate and savor the gourmet cuisine. Extra large guestrooms, exquisitely decorated, all with private baths, cable TV, wireless internet, individual heat & air-conditioning and full complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Hawthorne Pl, Independence, MO 64052-1966
Region: United States > Missouri > Independence
Price Range: €142 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Omaha
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn, A Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the 2nd floor Gillmor Room. Bringing suitcases up was not easy. Consider this if booking the 3rd floor suite.”
 of 5 bubbles stevesB9722ER, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King bed in the Bbler room.”
 of 5 bubbles lorileboeuf, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 444simonj, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“This is a B&B so no elevators so pick a second floor room or pack light”
 of 5 bubbles Besteverpoodlemom, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Our room was fantastic!!”
  • Hawthorn Gallagher Room
  • Hawthorn Gallagher Room
  • Hawthorn Gallagher Room
  • Hawthorn Gallagher Room
 of 5 bubbles BriAlNews, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5