We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters

PricelineUS$10*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$14*
US$10*
US$14*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice time with the people and a beautiful garden to chill and relax. The service is good and the dormitory is clean and cool. A breakfast shop and a general store are nearby and the backwaters too! The staff is very nice and is like a family! Enjoy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hp B
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our hotel. We try our best to fully satisfy all our customers and are glad we were successful with your experience. We look forward to welcome you back. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderfull hostel away from all crowed, a beautiful lawn and very calm .the manager will play guitar for all . I enjoyed the breakfast most espesially idly and red chutny. Transportation at night is a little problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shyju R
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Shyju, Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are delighted to read of what an enjoyable experience you had. We really appreciate your support. Thank you for staying with us. We would love to see you again. We do however recommend you also visit our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I have to vedanta's hotels in many cities. But I must say this is their worst. In the name of service they had just one guy who manages the whole place. And the kind of attitude he shows is of the owner not the care taker. I mean are we supposed to take our utensils back to kitchen after food....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 569manishm
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Manish, We are sorry about your experience. We have noted your complaints and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

It was wonderful stay in vedanta wake up the room was well clean and the garden which is very beautiful and we got the rooms in front of the garden the guys who work in Vedanta was really friendly the night the manager who played guitar with English and Hindi song we stayed w late night with them .and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charuuz
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Charuuz, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our hotel. We try our best to fully satisfy all our customers and are glad we were successful with your experience. We look forward to welcome you back. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Willunga, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We spent 1 night here. At first we were extremely impressed about the location and the gardens around the rooms. The staff were also mostly helpful and helped us book a great houseboat, however that is just about all the positives. We arrived after a 14 hour train ride and all we wanted was a shower, and the shower in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty, Thank you for the feedback! We have noted your complaints and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Very unprofessionally managed hostel. The green surrounding do not manage to cover up for the lapses. Based on the images, I had high expectations of the place but it did not live up to my expectations. 1) Rooms : cramped, AC did not work, bed sheet stained. 2) Bathroom : very mediocre, water logging 3) Food : Charged low on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivek L
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Vivek, We are extremely apologetic for the problems you faced. We have noted your concerns and right action has been taken. We would be most fortunate to have you back at our property. Awaiting your earliest return. Do visit again. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

i had wonderful time in vedanta ,the ambiance and atmosphere which is excellent . we had lovely yummy south Indian breakfast the night we had guitar concert by vinod and he was so friendly. totally it was amazing trip than we expect in vedanta ........... THANKS YOU GUYS ,,,,,,,,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinod S
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Vinod, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our hotel. We try our best to fully satisfy all our customers and are glad we were successful with your experience. We look forward to welcome you back. Do visit us at our other properties too. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 11 October 2016

This is a hotel which can be improved in many things specially in cleanliness and in food varieties. Even if we had a good time in room, they could maintain the surroundings well. Management can take care of these and certainly its a great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sreenu v
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Sreenu, Thank you for the feedback! We have noted your complaints and suggestions and we will take the necessary action. Please do stay with us again -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

fairly reasonable price and good service. rooms were spacious and had tv and ac . only thing lacking was not enough lighting. location is not perfect but considering the price its fine. you can easily get rickshaw right outisde the hotel. house boat and ferry services is nearby. market is also fairly close.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J T
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for that amazing feed back! Comments like these motivate our staff to work harder. Hoping to see you soon! -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Honestly, I was travelling through India for a month and "Vedanta wake up" was the worst hostel ever. Just because the staff is lying to you all the time! Lie 1. First of all, don't believe anything you read on their desciption. I read "there is a chef who is going to prepare food for you", but there was NO...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ewa S
VedantaWakeUpHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters, responded to this review

Dear Ewa, We are extremely apologetic for the problems you faced. We have noted your concerns and right action has been taken. We would be most fortunate to have you back at our property. Awaiting your earliest return. Do visit again. -Vedanta Wake Up! Hotels.

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (25)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.4 km away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#35 of 67 in Alappuzha
33 reviews
33.8 km away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.7 km away
Cosy Regency
Cosy Regency
#60 of 191 in Alappuzha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seaside Residency
Seaside Residency
#72 of 191 in Alappuzha
62 reviews
3.9 km away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 191 in Alappuzha
90 reviews
0.7 km away
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
#94 of 191 in Alappuzha
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey, is located along a network of rivers and is a perfect launchpad to enjoy a beautiful sunny day on the famous Kerala backwaters. The property is set on a vast expanse of lush green lawns and it’s architecture draws inspiration from local elements. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters

Address: near HMCA Chapel | Punnamada Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey)
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Price Range: €9 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Mysuru (Mysore), India
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“WiFi is a 4.9 on a scale of 1-10 get a room close to the router.”
Krbaker91, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Best stay and visit”
Srivalli2016, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms. Inexpensive and clean.”
shashankmc, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Prefer to stay in old premise , which has a kitchen and reception staff for any queries and help”
Mahak_Travelling, 12 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Ensure to get the old/original property only..”
NJaiswal, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$10* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$14
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates