We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mandala Beach House & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Alaska
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent accommodation for this budget range. After a horrid 30 min experience at Johnson's The Nest Homestay (stay away!), I tuk tuk-ed myself over to Mandala's. Walking into Mandala's private gate felt like that moment your Xanax starts to kick in.... That warm, cozy, content and happy feeling. The foyer garden was a bloom and a beautiful tall green fern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hdown
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband visited mandala two weeks ago, the place is very excellent it has good beach view sitting area, and owner harris is very nice he arrange for us boat trips I really recommend this place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teenaubaid
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights because of the recommendation from lonely planet . The first night I stayed I didn't have power or wifi for a good 5 hours of so I just thought it would be one off . Then the next morning the power was out again so I went for a walk and expected to be sorted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

This guesthouse was by far the worst we visited during our time in India. The other negative reviews are entirely consistent with our experience. The room was dirty, including sheets, walls, floor and bathroom, it was filled with ants and the loo and shower did not work. It required endless pestering for the loo and shower situation to be resolved....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orme C
mandalabeachhouse, Owner at Mandala Beach House & Cottages, responded to this review

Actually this lady never stayed in mandala beach house,she came to have dinner along with her friend and they order for grilled fish unfortunately we had taken little time to serve the dish, and she had the dinner as well after all when we gave her bill she refuse to pay the money that she was telling the reason for...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The owner yelled at us when we check out. He insulted us and called us names in front of other customer just because we were only staying one night instead of two. We had told the guy at the reception when we checked in but apparently they don't share information. The owner have NO MANNER and we were not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahthib2016
mandalabeachhouse, Owner at Mandala Beach House & Cottages, responded to this review

You actually you booked for two nights but you stayed only one night and next day you packed and left our place with out any prior inform, but i think i never misbehave with you if you felt any bad by my talk i really apologies

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Great stay at mandala. Stayed here five nights end of Jan. Nice, friendly staff and Harris the owner was very helpful, organising a houseboat for us at a decent price. Perfect place to relax and good way to meet people. Would definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank goldi101
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

If it is 5 star luxury you want then this place is not for you however if you are well travelled this place is a gem, its all about the location, the price is low,the rooms are basic but comfortable and clean and we found all of the staff exceptional, we didnt eat here as we was told it is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sandrajane260156
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We stayed in the penthouse while we were there. Overall the staff was polite, trustworthy, and and at times went out of their way to help us. They even went to the train station to buy a ticket for us. The location was great as well. The beach was pleasant and there were good lounging spaces outside. Our one gripe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kyle T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stayed in the "penthouse", the most expensive of this hotel's rooms, and the price was certainly well above the average for the area. The floor was studded with bolts that made walking an exercise in obstacle avoidance. The room had a single, rusting fan that simply moved the room's considerable collection of dirt slowly around, but failed to cool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Miel L
mandalabeachhouse, Owner at Mandala Beach House & Cottages, responded to this review

we have already write in our reception area in each rooms that you should check room properly before you check in ,but you stayed in my place and you made dirty our place and your teen aged daughter pee in our mattress but we didn't said any thing so kindly note that your intentionally want spoil my name in trip...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I want to preface this review by saying that while paying the bill, I had a face-to-face discussion with the owner to raise my concerns and offer feedback. I was trying to avoid writing a negative review and genuinely wanted to share my thoughts for improvement (as a note in each room asks his guests to do), but the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BrianaEve

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.2 km away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#17 of 66 in Alappuzha
28 reviews
2.3 km away
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
Pozhiyoram Beach Resort
#52 of 66 in Alappuzha
69 reviews
0.1 km away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#25 of 66 in Alappuzha
93 reviews
0.1 km away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#23 of 183 in Alappuzha
85 reviews
4.8 km away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mandala is a small guest house located on a quite part of Alleppey Beach. It has two basic rooms, one bamboo cottage and another cottage with a great view to the beach. We just started our annex property near Mandala and it got upstair rooms with sea view. All rooms are bath attached and three of them with bath tubs. We organize some trips to the sea with fishermen, to the back waters and we also do BBQ on the beach. You can have a comfortable and relaxed stay over here. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Address: North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Price Range: €43 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mandala Beach House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandala Beach House & Cottages Kerala/Alappuzha, India
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mandala Beach House & Cottages staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mandala Beach House & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Different kinds of rooms. All seemed to be clean and nice.”
 of 5 bubbles emmie2017, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles toubabing, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Really all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles victordiana507, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Nice place”
 of 5 bubbles sharlottetom, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Need to add more rooms”
 of 5 bubbles sarajhon009, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay