We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Biltmore Greensboro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Biltmore Greensboro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Biltmore Greensboro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 306: English reviews
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Great location in downtown Greensboro! Good rooms at a reasonable price. Have stayed here several times and always a good experience. Locally owned and operated. Carolina Theatre is around the block. We have enjoyed brunch, lunch, and dinner across the street at Liberty Oak...highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ugbwhitl
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you for your kinds words and review. We hope to see you again soon!

Fries, Virginia
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This was a business trip arrived at hotel both night around midnight. The room I stayed in was not the one I booked on line, management aware did not to correct problem. Heard the train most of the night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

We apologize great you the mix up...the front desk clerk did check you in to the right room but gave you the wrong key. This i promise is not how we treat our guests! I will speak with the person responsible!

Reviewed 7 December 2016

I checked in very late 1:30 AM exactly. I was exhausted after a nine hour drive. Upon entering the hotel bathroom in room #223 I found black smear stains on the toilet seat and scuffed tile grout spread across the floor. At daybreak I notified the front desk clerk of the unacceptable conditions, and he in turn walked me down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle M
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

WE apologize that the room and service was not satisfactory...the dogs in the room prevented the maintenance person from servicing the toilet set as requested. I assure you that as the general manager i will take care of this and speak with the persons involved. As the GM i will be in touch. This is NOT how we treat our...

Oxnard, California
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Ghost stories aside, because evidently there are 2 friendly ghosts here, the rooms are comfortable and warm. We drove past it once without seeing it, so look carefully as yo're not looking for someplace very big. The oldest electric elevator in the Carolinas works great, although we did the stairs generally, the entire hotel is a throwback to a different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msw98488
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and review. Hope to see you again soon!

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Had high hopes for my stay here as I travel through Greensboro often going from Alabama to VA. This is a pet friendly hotel but the pet area is across the street with poor lighting and I did not feel comfortable walking the dog. There was no where to get food or drinks at the hotel, the security there was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sdorman
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. But let me address some of your concerns...due to the historic nature of the property we are not allowed to cook, there is vending on the first floor, and 50 restaurants with in walking distance. The spot across the street is the Governmental Plaza so very safe, the only...

Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 November 2016

The Biltmore is a vintage property with excellent personal attention and service. If you're looking to stay downtown in Greensboro, this is your place. It's a short walk to the ballpark and all the other downtown amenities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J1187UScraigh
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you soo much...reviews like this make it all worth it! Safe Travels!

Alabama
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The room was large, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large and well appointed. We were on the front of the building so it was a little noisy at night, even after midnight. The 7pm wine & cheese offering was very nice, but the seating was minimal. The breakfast room is very generous & spacious. You'll need to go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wetravel101
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you for kinds words and glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself...those windows have been replaced to reduce the outside noise...hope to see you again soon!

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This hotel is a the perfect little get away for a night or weekend. It's an older building, so we expect the older bathroom furnishings, but I actually like the old brass fixtures & ceramic knobs. The rooms are very quiet & relaxing. The only downfall for a coffee snob like me is the in-room coffee maker. Would prefer a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cintinque
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Our suites have a Keurig...but we also have a special bled coffee that we brew fresh all day in the lobby...if you prefer we can make a private pot for your room! Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon!

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 November 2016

If you can get in the Biltmore it's the best for your money conveientlly located in the heart of downtown Greensboro, excellent value, clean rooms and excellent customer service. I would anyone to stay there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 153bobbyh
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you so much...we look forward to seeing you next year! Safe travels!

Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Biltmore Hotel has a few things going for it. Its downtown location is good, if you need that. Free parking in a deck across the street is also nice. The lobby is beautiful and a nice place to sit and enjoy the ambiance of a classic old historical hotel. And the rooms (at least ours) are large. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 978KenT
biltmoregreensboro, General Manager at The Biltmore Greensboro, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review...we are in plans to update our bathrooms. You are correct..this building was one of the first three in the state to have rooms with a private bath. With that said...the bathrooms were designed to be just a bathroom...lol. Keep an ye out for those renovations...Safe Travels

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
3.6 km away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
512 reviews
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greensboro / Coliseum Area
3.4 km away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#19 of 76 in Greensboro
377 reviews
9.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Greensboro
9.2 km away
Hyatt Place Greensboro
Hyatt Place Greensboro
#11 of 76 in Greensboro
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our history begins in 1903, when the building was constructed to house the burgeoning corporate empire of Cone Export and Commission Company. At the time it was said to be “in every way up-to-date and well appointed.” This means completed wired for electricity and plumbing, and in 1920, they added one of Greensboro’s first unmanned elevators to the building; it is the one we still use today. They occupied the space until 1924 when they moved to larger building around the corner. At that time, the building housed local insurance companies. It was in 1929, that the building was converted to living quarters. Half of the building was used as an annex to the local post office, until 1932, and the other half was listed in the city directory as furnished rooms. The Greenwich, as it became known as the following year, was one of the first to offer private baths for around $2.00 a day. In the late ‘40s, early 50s, it became known as the Greenwich Apartments and stayed this way until the mid-1960s. In the late ‘60s, the building reopened as the Greenwich Inn, and a new face was brought to the building by renowned interior designer Otto Zenke. He modeled the hotel after an English hunting club and decorated the lobby as an old world drawing-room with walnut paneling and traditional hunting scenes.The hotel changed ownership once again 1992, and was renamed the Biltmore Greensboro Hotel. Today, we pride ourselves as a fine boutique establishment, offering old world charm accentuated by modern amenities you would find at any hotel of distinction. Under new ownership since 2007, we look forward to continuing to provide memorable experiences for all our guests. Stay once and not only will we remember your name but the little things like your favorite room or you need for a late checkout. It is always “no problem.” ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Biltmore Greensboro

Address: 111 West Washington Street, Greensboro, NC 27401
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Price Range: €111 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Biltmore Greensboro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Biltmore Greensboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Biltmore Greensboro Hotel Greensboro
Biltmore Hotel Greensboro
The Biltmore Hotel Greensboro
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Greensboro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Biltmore Greensboro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None just don't book one”
KareCars, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front of hotel, Nosiy”
lowens002, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Plenty of places within walking distance and delivery, but no bar or restaurant in the hotel. Nice room, great staff, breakfast ok, etc. Enjoyed my stay!”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a view of the building next to us. If you prefer something more scenic, you may want to call and ask for something on another side of the hotel. ”
karla79, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not check in to #220”
sherrymcdaniel2017, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5