We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Rorke's Drift Hotel

    Isandhlwana Road, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$1,067
    View Deal
    Traveller (132)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (12)
    Fairmont Zimbali Resort
    898 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Ballito
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    400 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Royal Country Inn
    96 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
     
    Overview
    • Excellent75%
    • Very good21%
    • Average3%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “buffalo river” (93 reviews)
    “zulu guide” (18 reviews)
    “main building” (12 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Fairmont Zimbali Resort
    898 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Ballito
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    400 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Royal Country Inn
    96 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (209)
    There are newer reviews for Rorke's Drift Hotel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 207 reviews

    Reviewed 9 February 2017

    Having driven some 17 hours to reach this hotel, we were extremely disappointed with the standard of this accommodation. Considering they really are charging premium prices, the cleanliness and quality were not good enough.... bathroom grubby, stained bedding and everything in general need of updating....More

    Thank langebaan28
    Response from Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift HotelResponded 28 February 2017

    We are so sorry that you were disappointed in our hotel. Perhaps your 17 hours was a bit too far into rural Africa. Most of our guests seem to like our slogan of 'finding your African space' and it is very rural with supplies remote,...More

    Reviewed 4 February 2017

    Whilst the position and hotel itself are to be recommended, the staff very welcoming but the standard of the meals let the hotel down. Supper was mediocre and tasteless. We booked a twin bedded room only to discover that we were shown to a double...More

    Thank yvonne b
    Response from Snapsh0t, Owner at Rorke's Drift HotelResponded 28 February 2017

    We are so sorry that we missed your request for twin beds; it was clearly stated on your initial enquiry. Your comments on our food is quite alarming and has been the subject of discussion with the supervisors. So sorry you were disappointed.

    Reviewed 1 February 2017

    Crossing the bridge over the Buffalo linking KwaZulu with Natal you will see the famous and normally safe river crossing chosen and used for generations by many explorers and traders. Set back and above is the impressive location at the Rorke's Drift Hotel run personally...More

    Thank Monro55
    Reviewed 19 January 2017

    We were delighted to find this lovely hotel in the middle of the Zululand battlefields. The outlook was stunning and we were really looked after for the few days we spent there. We had an amazing guide (Paul) for a day and overall had a...More

    Thank Debra T
    Reviewed 3 January 2017

    We arived at the Hotel as part of a group travelling with Illios Tours. The Hotel overlooks the Buffalo River and the original Rorke`s Drift where the Zulus crossed on 22nd January 1879. My wife & I stayed in Reynolds Room which was clean and...More

    Thank mctavish2016
    Fairmont Zimbali Resort
    898 reviews
    #1 of 7 hotels in Ballito
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    400 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Bergville
     
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Royal Country Inn
    96 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Dundee
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$171 - US$505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Rorke's Drift Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Rorke's Drift
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (132)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (12)
    Pool & Beach (8)
    Hotel & Grounds (87)
    Nearby
    Fairmont Zimbali Resort
    898 reviews
    149.04 km away
     
    Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
    400 reviews
    158.11 km away
     
    Royal Country Inn
    96 reviews
    36.60 km away
     
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    134.70 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Battle Creek Spur Steak Ranch
    32 reviews
    37.02 km away
    Klets Cafe & Deli
    29 reviews
    69.14 km away
    Tranquili-tea
    8 reviews
    80.45 km away
    Dee's Restaurant & Bar
    18 reviews
    68.92 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Fugitive's Drift
    70 reviews
    7.17 km away
    Nambiti Game Reservve
    189 reviews
    60.70 km away
    Blood River Heritage Site
    110 reviews
    27.38 km away
    Da Blu Juice
    20 reviews
    35.67 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Malrantoo
    7 March 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Snapsh0t | Property representative |
    We regret that the Hotel does not have wifi but we are able to offer the use of a computer with internet connection for guests' use. We do enjoy a good Vodacom service which can access 3g for mobile comms.
    1
    Vote
    Joan W
    25 December 2016|
    AnswerShow all 5 answers
    Response from Nosipho M | Property representative |
    You will find our standard menus on the Hotel Information listing on the Reservations page. We normally offer a table d'hote menu for supper with the option of a choice from the a la carte for the main course.
    0
    Votes
    smrgeog
    3 October 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Nosipho M | Property representative |
    Our published rates on the website are per person sharing, or single occupancy if required. The overnight rate is half board, which includes dinner. we confirm all rates at the time of booking.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Rooms to the left and right of "Reynolds "room have excellent views from the balconies of the..."
    Read review
    "Pay extra for the river view."
    Read review
    "rooms overlooking the river seem to have the best views."
    Read review
    "Need a room with a view"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing