We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Edgewater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 869: English reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Hotel is old, some updates have been done, but old is the order of the day. The room was clean and spacious with a very small balcony overlooking a metal roof, the pool and looking up a mountain. The bed did not sleep well and parking the 1st night was fine, not many folks staying, but on Friday night it...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChattaElder
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will consider staying with us again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Best Regards,

Ringgold, Georgia
Reviewed 3 October 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed on the top floor facing Gatlinburg by the river and the view was absolutely stunning! The sunsets we saw were incredible and I would definitely recommend staying on the top floor if possible. Very short walk to the Gatlinburg strip and very convenient location overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin K
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of the Edgewater. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Pell City, Alabama
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Nice comfortable place, the beds were nice and the breakfast was good.Parking in the lower level was a bit tight but understandable because of limited space but compared to parking prices in town it was great. We really enjoyed our two nights there. We will return if we don't carry our pets when we go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cleansweep86
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay during the Jubilee event. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate all the Jubilee guests and hope to see you again when Jubilee returns next year. Best Regards,

North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 September 2014

The hotel was in a great location, easy walk to restaurants and attractions. If you had to park in town, it would have been expensive. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony overlooking the outside pool and mountain behind us. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and changed slightly every day. However, when we first entered the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Butch42
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I am sorry that your stay was not up to our normal standards. I have been in contact with our Maintenance Engineer to review any negative reports we have had in the last few days and I believe we have taken care of the issue in your room...

Bowling Green, Ky
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We stayed for 4 nights this month & found the hotel to be comfortable, relatively clean & in close walking distance to all the downtown Gatlinburg action. A big plus was the abundance of luggage carts in the parking structure near the elevators at all times. The 24 hour coffee/tea bar was always well stocked & tidy, which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnails1
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to hosting you again when you are next in the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

This place was a last minute choice . Although pictures were nice and the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice, our room spelled like dog urine. If they are going to charge extra for allowing animals, they should atleast shampoo the carpet. Also the parking was awful, cars were so close that mine was doored. Last visit there

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Manningchic1978
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. We appreciate your honest comments and suggestions. Sincerely,

Reviewed 25 September 2014

You'll know from reading other reviews that this is an older hotel, we knew this before we booked, so it wasn't a surprise (older carpet/furnishing/etc). Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater, and will likely stay there again in the future. Upon arrival, our room had a terrible mildew smell. We notified the front desk, who apologized profusely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbeers1234
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We strive for excellent customer service and thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Edgewater Hotel through a Bluegreen resort vacation. Suppose to stay 4 nights. We checked in and was sent to a room that when you first walked in the smell of urine or ammonia would knock you down. It was obvious that the hotel needs help, but the smell was horrible. I called...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank B C
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for the negative experience that you had when you were here. We strive for excellent customer service at the Edgewater and I assure you that all the issues you stated in your review will be addressed with our Management Staff. Sincerely,

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The reviews were accurate. Great location-within walking distance of resturants and attractions. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous. Room was very clean and quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Our room was located on 7th floor facing the street with a small balcony. We will stay there on next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbag44
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

San Diego
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The hotel is located perfectly for walking to everything Gatlinburg has to offer. It is also sitting on a beautiful river that you can walk along. It is very tranquil and benches are placed along the path. The service was friendly and new guest are offered a cocktail in the lounge. The room was clean, but average and in need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LadyASanDiego
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent stay in Gatlinburg and I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Mountain Side) (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (River View) (24)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#8 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
430 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard Gatlinburg
Courtyard Gatlinburg
#3 of 78 in Gatlinburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: €90 - €472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a front room over looking the stream and Gatlinburg for the view and higher up is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles dougj640, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view the hotel backs right up to the mountain its dark on the balcony at night nothing a simple porch light couldn't fix.”
 of 5 bubbles I2535FEtamaras, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a River view”
 of 5 bubbles DW1Louisville, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't asked for a room close to the elevator because we did asked for one and they put us completely at the other end of the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles happymom64, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We like the river side, but I think the mountain side has jacuzzis!”
 of 5 bubbles joebO3751AO, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay