We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Edgewater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Edgewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 863: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2014

You'll know from reading other reviews that this is an older hotel, we knew this before we booked, so it wasn't a surprise (older carpet/furnishing/etc). Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Edgewater, and will likely stay there again in the future. Upon arrival, our room had a terrible mildew smell. We notified the front desk, who apologized profusely and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbeers1234
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. We strive for excellent customer service and thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Jackson, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Edgewater Hotel through a Bluegreen resort vacation. Suppose to stay 4 nights. We checked in and was sent to a room that when you first walked in the smell of urine or ammonia would knock you down. It was obvious that the hotel needs help, but the smell was horrible. I called...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank B C
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your review of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I apologize for the negative experience that you had when you were here. We strive for excellent customer service at the Edgewater and I assure you that all the issues you stated in your review will be addressed with our Management Staff. Sincerely,

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The reviews were accurate. Great location-within walking distance of resturants and attractions. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous. Room was very clean and quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Our room was located on 7th floor facing the street with a small balcony. We will stay there on next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbag44
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

San Diego
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The hotel is located perfectly for walking to everything Gatlinburg has to offer. It is also sitting on a beautiful river that you can walk along. It is very tranquil and benches are placed along the path. The service was friendly and new guest are offered a cocktail in the lounge. The room was clean, but average and in need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LadyASanDiego
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater during your recent stay in Gatlinburg and I'm glad your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you again when you are next in Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Mt. Juliet, TN
Reviewed 13 September 2014

This is my second stay at The Edgewater Hotel. The location is great, as you can walk to everything on the main strip. The hotel elevators are extremely slow. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast included waffles, scrambled eggs, biscuits, donut holes, cereal, fruit, etc. The room was very quiet. They have a game room with snack machines that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank luvtammy
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to hosting you again when travel plans bring you back to the Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Arizona
Reviewed 12 September 2014

The room was average. The hotel seems a little outdated overall. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom could have been better, but it was decent. The walls were kind of thin, and we could hear people in the other rooms so that was a little annoying when it was late at night or early in the morning. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Novice_traveler316
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your honest opinions and hope you will choose the Edgewater again when you next visit Gatlinburg. Best Regards,

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

Tucked a block off the Strip, peaceful environment with spacious rooms- nice view and helpful staff. Close proximity to all attractions and best of all the Smokies. Adequate breakfast is a plus. Overall a really nice place to wake up and go to sleep- security is nice- while playing with our planet!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mildbill007
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your reveiw of your recent stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your comments and am glad that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting a future visit when travel plans bring you back to Gatlinburg and the Great Smoky Mountains. Best Regards,

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst passing through Gatlinburg. Our decision was based on the Trip Advisor reviews. Usually our stays mirror the TA reviews, but we were a little disappointed by the Edgewater hence our average assessment. Perhaps it was the tacky nature of Gatlinburg that influenced our opinion but it was not helped by the views of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MDS24
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Edgewater. I appreciate your honesty in your comments and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I do hope that should you find yourself back in the Gatlinburg area, you would decide to give us another opportunity to host you. Sincerely,

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Staff was so helpful. The price was great and it was only a block over, which meant walking distance to downtown. The room was clean and really good sized with a balcony :) We'd totally stay here again. One side we noticed faced the water/ creek and the other faced the main down town area. I can't imagine you'd have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desertcoy1982
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Edgewater for your recent stay. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your future stay when travel plans bring you back to the Gatlinburg area. Best Regards,

Reviewed 4 September 2014

A great value, not a fancy hotel, but very clean and comfortable, friendly staff, fun pool, and great location for a relaxing stay. Easy walking distance to loads of fun attractions and good food. Our favorite is the Aquarium which is a two minute walk from the hotel which follows beside the river and is lined with flowers and shady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
joann001, Front Office Manager at The Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Edgewater. I'm glad your stay was pleasant and our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to hosting your next stay when you are back in the Gatlinburg area.

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (66)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Mountain Side) (23)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (River View) (24)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gatlinburg Downtown
0.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#8 of 82 in Gatlinburg
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 82 in Gatlinburg
426 reviews
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 82 in Gatlinburg
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redefining your Smoky Mountain lodging experience! In room micro-fridges, private balconies, complimentary continental breakfast, hotel wide WIFI, year round swimming are just a few privileges extended to you, our valued guest. Located "right smack in the center of Gatlinburg" at the entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and next to Ripleys Aquarium of the Smokies, our location is both perfect and convenient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Edgewater Hotel

Address: 402 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3200
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: €81 - €658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gatlinburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Edgewater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a front room over looking the stream and Gatlinburg for the view and higher up is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles dougj640, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view the hotel backs right up to the mountain its dark on the balcony at night nothing a simple porch light couldn't fix.”
 of 5 bubbles I2535FEtamaras, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a River view”
 of 5 bubbles DW1Louisville, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't asked for a room close to the elevator because we did asked for one and they put us completely at the other end of the hall.”
 of 5 bubbles happymom64, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We like the river side, but I think the mountain side has jacuzzis!”
 of 5 bubbles joebO3751AO, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay