We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

First, a disclosure, we rented this cabin, through the resort, but a friend's family member owns it. Bear Necessities is a 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin. It has a pool table, hot tub and foosball table. There's a fold out sofa and a fold out cot (in the Master closet) We had 5 people in the cabin and it was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RuthlessBunny
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Bear Necessities cabin. Each cabin in the Mountain Shadows Resort log home community is individually owned and includes many standard amenities as well as some specific additions by the owners themselves. This variety of offerings enables guests the option of finding an ideal vacation cabin experience.

Reviewed 5 October 2015

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon...we stayed at Mountain Eden. It was so nice. There was a jacuzzi, tv, king sized bed, and everything else you would need or want..including things to cook with. We were shocked at how they literally had everything. I would not recommend if you have more than 2 people because the cabin...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel W
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate this nice review of a studio cabin in the Mountain Shadows Resort community. Although this particular cabin is not presently in our inventory, we have several just like it with the same amenities at value rates, ideal for a couple’s getaway.

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Mountain Shadows Resort is a “sub-division” of all privately owned cabins. The owners agree to rent them out a certain number of days a year. Those rentals are handled by the company, Mountain Shadows Resort. There are many cabins of varied sizes all jammed packed in together up a hillside. It’s just a couple of miles off the strip…turn at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsFoodieLouisville
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your perspectives in reviewing your cabin and stay at our Resort, both the good and the not so good. Some things about our Resort setting and amenities are appealing to some while not so much to others. The issues mentioned that we can fix or change, are already underway. As we say in our guest surveys, “we...

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

I loved our cabin! We stayed in Bears treehouse. The hot tub was perfect our cabin was very clean. The pool table was okay needs new felt on the table and the pool sticks were horrible. But it was still fun. The drive way on the other hand was not so great it is very steep and there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CwilliansA
MountainShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We always appreciate kind words, especially when everything wasn’t as ideal as it could have been. The owners are working on the pool table issues. We look forward to your return visit…and the higher riding vehicle is a good idea for the mountain roads.

Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Far enough from Gatlinburg to get peace and quiet while close enough to go there and have a nice night on the town. For $700 a week this is a nice deal. AC didn't work the first night but the staff quickly fixed it. Both hot tubs outside and inside were nice. Great cabin for a family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaqkobefan
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our resort. The community’s proximity to local attractions and services is a big plus for our guests. We’re so glad we were able to get your AC issue handled quickly. Please do come back and see us again.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 5 August 2015

I cannot imagine being in Gatlinburg and not staying in a cabin because this area of Tennessee is the perfect place to have cabin fever. I am appalled by the bad reviews here and I think it is so unfair because some people want a champagne cabin for the price of a beer. I think if we all have reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Connie_H321
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Although this reviewer did not stay in one of our company’s homes, we want to thank them for the nice comments about the Mountain Shadows Resort community setting and location. It is a great vacation destination IN Gatlinburg and close to all area attractions and activities.

Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

We thought we were getting a good deal but I was wrong. Our hot tub was COLD maintenance wouldn't turn it up we asked three times. It was right by the pool so it was like people were on our porch at all times and wasn't private at all. Mwe had no bowls to eat with, it was dirty there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashley N
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory. Our staff did make every effort to address these issues as we were notified of them, which we always do if any problems arise. Our housekeeper performed some re-cleaning shortly after check-in, some requested items were delivered to the cabin, and the hot tub was reset as we were...

Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed in the "Almost Heaven" cabin booked through Interval International but it didn't live up to it's name. It was dirty, smelled, damaged furniture, one chair smelled like urine. Sheets and towels were worn, dishes were all dirty and had to be washed. First night was freezing but management said they had no blankets. The only response we got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pam O
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We wish to sincerely apologize for not meeting this guest’s expectations. At their first indication of dissatisfaction they were offered another larger cabin but chose to remain in Almost Heaven for their week’s stay. Since all reported cabin issues are documented in our unit notes for each guest, save for that first day’s alternate cabin possibility, we had no record...

East Windsor, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We returned from a family vacation in Gatlinburg. We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in a cabin called Almost Paradise. Everything was great. The pictures on line do not do the cabin justice. Everything was clean and we'll maintained. We would highly recommend this resort!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Gatlinburg and for your kind comments about our Resort and the Almost Paradise cabin. We're so glad you had a great time. Please come back and see us again.

Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

Walls are paper thin. Dirty. Cabins are too close together. Pool is tiny and was FREEZING. You have to take all your garbage when you leave, dumpster is off site a mile down the road, VERY inconvenient. Parking sucks. The refrigerator wasn't on when we arrived and it took forever to get cold. Hot tub was dirty and took forever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KayDau
MountainShadows, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest had a less than satisfactory experience at one of our cabins. We always make every effort to address concerns we are able to correct, such as some of those mentioned, when we are notified of a problem. However, after going through all of our rental notes and guest surveys for that period, we could...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Gatlinburg
5.7 km away
Glenstone Lodge
Glenstone Lodge
#41 of 78 in Gatlinburg
926 reviews
4.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
Sidney James Mountain Lodge
#60 of 78 in Gatlinburg
853 reviews
4.7 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#28 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
6.2 km away
Travelodge Inn & Suites Gatlinburg on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxurious log homes - hot tubs, spas, fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, gas/electric grills, game rooms, swimming pool. Honeymoons to Family Reunions. Gatlinburg trolley, Adjacent to National Park. Children's Playground. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort

Address: 1901 E Parkway, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-5950
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: €138 - €344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Shadows Log Home Hotel Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Shadows Log Home Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for in depth pictures of desired cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles randalls158, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask about parking and the condition of the bed mattress”
 of 5 bubbles powellgs, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Loved this cabin...plenty of room for the 6 of us”
  • Upstairs Suite
  • Deck off of the main floor
 of 5 bubbles Comish32, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There are lots of great cabins avoid Mountain Shadows Resorts. Don't repeat our mistake.”
 of 5 bubbles joe37919, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Check layout and floor plans before choosing. You can also call office they will answer any questions”
  • Kitchen
  • Fireplace bedroom and living room
  • Bedroom and bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Cmramage, 22 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5