We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

River Edge Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Edge Motor Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for River Edge Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 31: English reviews
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This was the first time we have stayed at River Edge after visiting the area for over 30 years. We were very pleased with our stay. The room was large and the beds were perfection. My husband and I enjoyed our private balcony in the mornings and afternoons, after hiking in the National Park during the day. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murphy b
River Edge M, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Murphy B, We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience! We look forward to being able to service you again in the near future. We will under go some changes as we are remodeling through the winter but will remain open as we are tackling a few rooms at a time. By the end of spring we...

Kankakee, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This was my 3rd time staying at River Edge & they have never disappointed me. I love the views from the 3rd floor so I request a certain a room & they have been able to accommodate my request (or close to it) very time. The staff are always friendly & helpful and the rooms are always clean. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
River Edge M, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kim G, We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience! We look forward to being able to service you again in the near future. We will under go some changes as we are remodeling through the winter but will remain open as we are tackling a few rooms at a time. By the end of spring we...

Reviewed 14 October 2016

The hotel was so nice and reasonable for a family of 5. It had all the amenities we needed to suite our Family. The Hotel people were all extremely nice and rooms clean. We had the best 3 days. So convenient to downtown, no driving necessary. We did venture out but all our needs were right there. Were looking forward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
River Edge M, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer C, We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience! We look forward to being able to service you again in the near future. We will under go some changes as we are remodeling through the winter but will remain open as we are tackling a few rooms at a time. By the end of spring we...

London, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Great location in downtown Gatlinburg, very close to Smokies main park entrance.Staff very friendly, got us right in. room what we expected. Older place but well maintained for most part. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmart061374
River Edge M, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jmart061374, We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience! We look forward to being able to service you again in the near future. We will under go some changes as we are remodeling through the winter but will remain open as we are tackling a few rooms at a time. By the end of spring we will...

Reviewed 12 October 2016

Please do not stay here unless you like bed bugs. We had this motel booked 2 months in advance so we wouldn't have any problem finding a room since it was Gatlinburg's busiest time of the year. We checked into our room and my husband went to sit on the bed and turned the pillow over and there it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sheila S
Karl T, General Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on River Edge Motor Lodge. The new owners purchased the inn this past September and inherited some issues that have been addressed and are now under control. I was told by the new extermination company that there is not one single lodging establishment that has not experienced this issue because...

Shepherdsville
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My room was a ground floor requested because of my bike. My buddy and I was comfortable in the room. Continental breakfast with the usual stuff... but we weren't looking for that with all the excellent restaurants close by. The tv was acceptable and the ac worked well. No glitz here , just good bed and hot water. Clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardc67
River Edge M, Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear benardc67, I am so glad to hear you had a good stay with us! We look forward to being able to service you again in the near future. We will under go some changes as we are remodeling through the winter but will remain open as we are tackling a few rooms at a time. By the end of...

Reviewed 1 October 2016

My husband and I stayed at rivers edge for our first visit to gatlinburg this past week. We purposely booked an inexpensive hotel knowing we wouldn't be spending much time in the room. I booked thru hotels.com which I found to be easy & efficient. We arrived right around check in time & were greeted at the front desk by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melinda N
Decatur, Illinois
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Open door to room has a very musty smell holes in doors dirty carpet not on the main strip will not be back very hard to find the hotel itself but just check in went to town to find air fresher because smell is that bad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank odielask898
River Edge M, General Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for submitting your concerns. The property is under new management. Renovations are scheduled to begin in January, 2017. We want you to have a good experience in your stay with us and are trying to make our guests as welcomed and comfortable as possible. Sincerely,

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I had another nice visit to this hotel and found out that it was recently bought-out. The previous owner was wanting to sell the property for years, and a big renovation is being planned. The new owner is expected to spend a great deal of money on the property and be completed around spring-time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dgf001
River Edge M, General Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your nice compliments of your stay at our motel. We hope that you will return very soon for another comfortable stay with us. We are only as successful as our customers are satisfied and we count on our wonderful guests as you are! Sincerely,

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We travel to Gatlinburg three times a year. We stay at various hotels within the town. This was our first stay with this hotel and by far the best yet ! The staff here are very courteous and very informed. This hotel gives you easy access to all activities surrounding Gatlinburg. I would recommend this hotel to friends and relatives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
River Edge M, General Manager at River Edge Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your very nice comments about our motel! The motel is under new management and are striving to make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. We are in the renovation status and hope that you will return and stay with us again. Your positive comments are very important and appreciated! Thank you for telling your...

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
1.2 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
438 reviews
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#21 of 78 in Gatlinburg
886 reviews
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites on the River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 78 in Gatlinburg
534 reviews
1.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.2 km away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#44 of 78 in Gatlinburg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about River Edge Motor Lodge

Address: 655 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: €92 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Edge Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your River Edge Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Edge Motor Hotel Gatlinburg
River Edge Hotel
River Edge Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Edge Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from River Edge Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the rooms overlooking the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 925aileenk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“views from 3rd floor are the best”
 of 5 bubbles 852kimg, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
2 of 2