We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Resort & Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 813: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Close to the centre of town with parking. Literally 2mins walk from the main road where the attractions are, but the noise doesn't carry over to the room.They also allow you to leave your car there for the day after checkout. Friendly staff and large comfortable rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephenKAdams
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. One great thing about our location is we are central to all of the downtown attractions. It is wonderful that you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be large and comfortable. We hope to see you soon! Ariel

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Reasonably priced hotel with a terrific view! Although not a modern hotel, the rooms were spotless and the staff was friendly. We had a medical emergency so we used the Do Not Disturb sigh for a day. Housekeeping contacted us to switch out the towels. Nice. Traffic in Gatlinburg was horrible so I would recommend leaving the car parked at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheilaMcc
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thanks for recently staying with us and for taking the time to offer us a review on TripAdvisor. It is certainly gratifying any time we receive a review that lets us know that we are achieving our goal of providing both fantastic accommodations and service. Regarding the issue with parking, you are correct in stating that it was due to...

Pineville, Louisiana
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Reserved room months ago and called asking for a river view room. Got to the hotel and they didn't have one for me saying it was overbooked. One of the pools is down. Wifi very slow. Room condition is fair but staff needs great improvement. If I could I would leave tomorrow and find another place but stuck here. Sad...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John L
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the condition of your unit and the location of our resort; however, we regret to hear that you were displeased with our staff. We do wish your review provided more detail as to what caused you to feel this way. Regarding the request for river...

Kentucky
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I am so glad we stayed here on 4th of July weekend. It was so close to everything but felt like we were in the mountains with the nice view we had. Although it does need updating, the beds and rooms were nice and clean. I wish my room had a private balcony but we still had a nice view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haley S
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled you had a great time with us and certainly hope to see you again the next time you choose to visit Gatlinburg. Sincerely, Anja

Reviewed 21 July 2015

Booked online. Friendly staff and room was clean....but old and outdated. Sub par security in rooms as far as doors and locks are concerned (front door, ball cbc only door, adjoining room doors). One of the pools still covered, not open. Carpet tearing, peeling paint on doors, baseboards, etc. Furniture appeared dirty. Blinds broken and missing panels so limited privacy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erin F
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the River Terrace Resort and Convention Center. We are currently working to update this resort and renovate the units, as you noticed a new tub in yours. We are continuing to make improvements and certainly open to have you return to see them once complete. We do apologize for the closure of one of...

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Our room was great! We spent a bit extra for the river view and it was worth it. The room was clean and comfortable, but the beds were kind of hard. We were slightly disappointed that the on site restaurant was closed while we stayed and one of the two pools was closed, as well. The hotel is very close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessi S
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. We do apologize for any inconvenience due to some of the renovation construction that is currently going on at our location. We were though pleased to read that you were still able to enjoy your stay and take advantage of our prime location. We certainly hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Anja

USA
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during the 4th of July weekend. When we got there, they had no vacancy. Even so, there was plenty of room to park and parking was free. The receptionist was very friendly. She let us know they offer free wifi and gave us the password. We stayed in the building behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCUSA04
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We appreciate your review. It is very delighting to know that you found parking to be a breeze and that our front desk staff was accommodating and helpful. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed our ideal resort location. We do, however, apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced, and we do hope that the concerns you...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

The restaurant bar on site drafts was over priced, staff was rude, and food was sub par. I have never given a poor review I usually choose to skip a review all together if that's the case. My grandmother was offended by the waitress. We were left without drinks had child food brought to the table. They were not busy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiff8231
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your review with us. We encourage our resort staff to provide service unlike any other and we are surprised to hear that your grandmother felt offended in any way. Please accept our apologies. We certainly hope that you allow us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future. Luna

Reviewed 13 July 2015

My husband and my 2 babies which are dogs loves this place. its only one fee for pets and there is only 4 hotels that allows pets in Gatlinburg area and they are far away from the srrip. Location is the best part to walking distance everywhere. i read other reviews saying that its out dated, we don't care because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to offer the perfect location for you and your pets while visiting Gatlinburg. We thank you for sharing this valuable information with others here on TripAdvisor as It may assist them when making vacation plans. We look forward to seeing you all again soon! Sincerely, Anja

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

This is probably the worst experience ever at a hotel! Booked a four day stay here and we have been so disappointed! I don't even know where to begin with all the things wrong with this place. First night toilet over flowed, the plumbing in this place is horrible! Second day electric outlets in the wash room and bathroom quit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our resort location and awesome views. It does, however, sadden us to hear that you may have experienced issues with the toilet, the electric outlets and the room phone not working properly. We will continue to work diligently in resolving these concerns for you and...

342 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (326)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gatlinburg hotels
0.1 km away
The Edgewater Hotel
The Edgewater Hotel
#19 of 78 in Gatlinburg
874 reviews
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gatlinburg On The River
0.6 km away
Crossroads Inn and Suites
Crossroads Inn and Suites
#27 of 78 in Gatlinburg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Gatlinburg
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
Hampton Inn Gatlinburg
#10 of 78 in Gatlinburg
1,128 reviews
1.2 km away
Brookside Resort
Brookside Resort
#36 of 78 in Gatlinburg
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Prime Location in the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains River Terrace Resort and Convention Center in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of downtown Gatlinburg, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park. With easy walking access to the main street in Gatlinburg and a multitude of outdoor recreational opportunities, your dream vacation is waiting at River Terrace Resort and Convention Center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Terrace Resort & Convention Center

Address: 240 River Rd, Gatlinburg, TN 37738-3208
Region: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Gatlinburg
Price Range: €90 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River Terrace Resort & Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your River Terrace Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Resort And Convention Center
River Terrace Hotel Gatlinburg
River Terrace Gatlinburg
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Gatlinburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from River Terrace Resort & Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles bluedynaglide, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“confirm parking before accepting room key.”
 of 5 bubbles 33kimt, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors with a balcany”
 of 5 bubbles aaronj541, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Arrive very early if you hope to get what you reserved.”
  • Gross...
  • Dirty tub...
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Dead cockroach on the floor outside our door.
  • Everything but the tv was outdated.
  • Not so great compared to the river view we were supposed to get.
  • Dirty tub...
 of 5 bubbles H6353FMjessicab, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don not know if there is a good room. Maybe there is now.”
 of 5 bubbles damonf553, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5