We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Confederate House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The Confederate House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Confederate House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

We will be back! We had a wonderful experience ! The owner of the property / gracious hostess is what made our stay great, the home is warm and besutiful. We had a delicious breakfast made from scratch ! We will be back very soon .

Helpful?
Thank Alex K
Gaborone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The Confederate House is a charming BnB tucked into the heart of historic downtown Savannah. Walking by The Confederate House, you'd have no idea it's a BnB because there is no sign (which I love!) It's within walking distance of anything you'd want to do downtown. The best part: Colleen, the friendly inn-keeper, prepares coffee/tea/cakes for her guests to enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
546 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We spent 4 night here and enjoyed it. I liked having the upstairs sitting room to use my computer or read while sitting on the couch or chairs. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well after walking so much. To me the best part of this B&B was the location, right across the street from Forsyth Park and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gena C
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

The first impression of the property is not a good one. Unkept, weedy side yard, that you enter and bring your luggage thru. Parking is in the back and also not what should be expected. Room was comfortable, bathroom had issues. TV tray for vanity, shower stall flooded and wouldn't drain, dollar store soaps and shampoos. Light bulbs burned out... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Carol H
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

I have never stayed in Motel 6 so I can not comment on it you have the advantage since you seem familiar with it. MOTEL 6 HAS BEEN AROUND FOR A LONG TIME SO THEY MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT. As for your alleged complaints if you do not bring them to my attention when you are here I can... More 

Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016

My husband and I are retired and live in Florida. We often travel to Savannah for a short getaway. This was our first time to stay at the Confederate House. We found the location ideal for walking around our favorite part of the Historic district. We enjoyed the amenities offered..free parking and a wonderful breakfast as well as coffee and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat L
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Please note: This B&B has complimentary WiFi, however, old homes with plaster walls often don't transmit WiFi terribly well, and The Confederate House is no exception. Lounge chairs are conveniently located near the router, or you can just go to a coffee shop. When planning a solo business trip, I booked this place sight unseen for its value and proximity... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed meeting Coleen and hearing her real life story of Savannah. The city was amazing. Our bed was warm and comfortable after sooo many hours of walking and we had lovely tea and than homemade, delicious breakfast with fresh fruit in the morning.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

If you're expecting the Hilton then you should stay at a Hilton. This is a charming bed and breakfast with the most comfortable beds and luxuriant towels. If only the walls could talk about what when on in the 1800s. The pound cakes were delicious, the room and bathroom were very clean and large. The location next to Forsythe Park... More 

Helpful?
Thank melbourneFL2009
Villa Rica, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Recently celebrated my 60th birthday in Savannah on St. Patrick's Day. The Confederate House was an excellent location for the big parade. The owner, Ms. Colleen is a sweet soft spoken southern lady who will share many interesting stories with you during your stay in her home. This place is such a wonderful example of old southern charm with amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna R
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We went to Savannah for the very first time and stayed in the President Davis room "overlooking" Forsyth Park. Miss Colleen is an outstanding Cook and talks about her Staff but you can tell from the condition of the property she has no help. Our room shades were broken and we could not open them "overlooking" Forsyth Park. In addition... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen F
3699, Owner at The Confederate House, responded to this review

I have read your review and you must have stayed here a long time ago. The cost of the Midnight package was lowered a long time ago to $410.00 There are no broken shades in the President Davis room custom ordered Levolor blinds are installed in the President Davis room and the private bath the cost was close to $800.00.... More 

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Roussell's Garden
#19 of 34 in Savannah
189 reviews
Downtown
Dresser Palmer House
Dresser Palmer House
#15 of 34 in Savannah
456 reviews
Downtown
Forsyth Park Inn
Forsyth Park Inn
#9 of 34 in Savannah
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Stephen Williams House
The Stephen Williams House
#17 of 34 in Savannah
46 reviews
Downtown
The Olde Savannah Inn
The Olde Savannah Inn
#5 of 34 in Savannah
1,423 reviews
Catherine Ward House Inn
#3 of 34 in Savannah
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Confederate House

Address: 808 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5903
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Price Range: €128 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Confederate House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Confederate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Confederate House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Confederate House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just three rooms, mine faced the park with huge windows and huge views, I did not see the other two rooms, but this one was spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles MykMc, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are located on second floor of this lovely home.”
 of 5 bubbles Pdougl99, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If available take the General Lee, as it's the largest and has a spacious shower.”
 of 5 bubbles H4244XSjasonk, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable, clean, friendly environment. Quiet, you don't hear anything!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 129lorrainep, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were probably similar. We only saw ours and it was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles jbradford7, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay