We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thunderbird Inn

Show Prices
#37 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,487: English reviews
Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewed 25 April 2015

I visited this motel for a fun weekend night for my birthday and the front desk was extremely rude when asking questions about policy and parking. She did not like to listen and got an attitude. Even the assistant manger whose main job is to make customers happy managed to be extremely rude as well. When checking out the next...

4Thank Remi G
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

To be clear, there wasn't fraud. The desk was only awful because your party was rude to the room next to you. We had you refund their stay because your party was drinking and banging on their door. You also kept switching cars in the lot because, as you told us, you had parking issues at the other hotel your...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015

Stayed here in spring break 2015 for a couple of days. Is located just on the outside of historic Savannah. Was great, we walked in each day (in a few minutes) and explored the city. Free lemonade and popcorn whenever you want and donuts for breakfast!

Thank Stuart L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Cheap and cheerful retro motel perfectly located within walking distance of downtown Savannah. Buffet breakfast is coffee and Krispy Kremes and you get a free Moonpie on checking in! Would recommend...

Thank Jayne B
Rochester, NY
Reviewed 23 April 2015

My wife and I wanted to be a short walk from the Savannah Riverfront and Historic District so we tried an overnight at this hip little hotel/motel and we were glad that we did. The front desk staff greeted us warmly and offered us a complimentary refreshing lemonade and some popcorn. Our room was comfortable and clean and on the...

1Thank larrydebo
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2015

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was conveniently located to shopping, dining and Trolley Tours. We were there for four nights and four days, but our room was never cleaned! And I had to go to the laundry room to get clean towels!

Thank Linda O
Reviewed 18 April 2015

If your diabetic, have issues with obesity, need a least toast for breakfast and want to park your car with a chance that you can get out of your car literally and can back your car out without hitting a car sitting directly behind you between your row and the row on the opposite side, then this is not the...

2Thank Brian S
Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 16 April 2015

A really convenient place to stay as we were visiting SCAD. The rooms were extremely comfortable. Beds were great, room was clean, shower was good. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. And LOVED the moon pie and RC Cola that greeted us in our room! I'll most definitely be back to stay :)

Thank kentuckygirl125
Eden, georgia
Reviewed 15 April 2015

I was so impressed by the Thunderbird Inn, Clean room, comfortable bed, Great shower, but seriously, when was the last time you stayed somewhere that offered real glass drinking glasses, and honest to goodness coffee mugs? I hate plastic cups and usually bring my own coffee cups while traveling. And the view is simply wonderful I remember that area from...

Thank Glenda P
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

The only good thing I have to say is the beds were comfy. We stayed here for a last minute anniversary trip. 2 adults 2 children. The first night they messed up our room and gave us a room with one double bed. I instantly emailed the owner with no response even after the end of our 4 day stay....

Thank Hannahlburke
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Nice stay, was recmmended by my sister who stayed with her dog. Clean rooms, comfortatble bed and pillows, right next to downtown. Their eco-conciousness was a nice surprise and welcome. Quick walk right on edge of town, beside bus station, train museum and near welcome center.

Thank Travels_with_Roo

566 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (309)
Room/Suite (76)
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Bathroom (18)
Dining (4)
View from Room (4)
Videos (1)
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Double Full Room (56)
Double Queen Room (54)
King Room (49)
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
932 reviews
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range: €112 - €219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved the drive up room....”
 of 5 bubbles 397kellya, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is good.”
 of 5 bubbles 399lauraw, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2 floors so if steps are a problem call for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles dannyh393, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor if you can. If you're on the bottom floor you're going to hear folks walking around at all hours.”
 of 5 bubbles 428ninab, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to stay upstairs for quieter rooms to avoid parking lot noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesandkarlam, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5