We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thunderbird Inn

Show Prices
#36 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thunderbird Inn
The Thunderbird Inn
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,428: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Was excited to try this hotel for nostalgic purpose. Website and reviews looked fun and we thought we would give it a try. When we checked in, there was a stain on the bedspread, blanket and carpet. Decided to expolore Savannah and live with it. When we came back, the stains were grossing my kids and wife out and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shannon1966
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Shannon, Please reach out to me. mark@thethunderbirdinn.com

Reviewed 20 February 2015

Cute, clean hotel. Awesome location. Did not smell like a pet friendly hotel.No stains on carpets. Was a quiet area.Front desk staff was helpful with what to do in the area.If I had to improve something I would say have a healthy option for breakfast. I not the biggest doughnut fan in the world. The free lemonade is a cute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skyebird18
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! We work hard to not smell pet friendly. All the rooms are deep cleaned after each pet. regards, Mark Thomas

Reviewed 18 February 2015

When you drive up, it's like a time warp! The exterior is totally retro. The rooms are small but with all the necessary amenities and the decor is a 'retro shabby chic'. Bathroom tub could use some cleaning on the grout, but I didn't use it...still, for one night, it was acceptable for the great price.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CKayBay
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay

ONTARIO
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Not a bad place but lacks. Everything was as advertised. Stayed two nights room semi-cleaned not dirty but maid missed a number of things Front desk staff semi-helpful Rooms small If you are looking for a hotel in the Historical District in Savannah do your research you can do better than the TB Inn. Very unlikely we'll stay here in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HPB3515
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we missed the mark for you. regards, Mark

Reviewed 17 February 2015

You can't really go wrong when there is Krispy Kremes for breakfast. Nice room, helpful staff and great location - 10 minute walk from the main attractions. Wifi wasn't great though and could only be used on one half of the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maddiesydneyfc
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and saw us as a "good value". I'm sorry about the wifi, we just added more access points to remedy its shortfalls. We'll keep working on it. regards, Mark Thomas PS, Glad you loved the Krispy Kremes!

Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2015

This inn looks very appealing from the street which is why we chose it. It has a wonderfully retro sign and a whole early 1960s feeling about it. I would NOT stay here if I: Needed internet. The internet is extremely slow. It was impossible for me to complete work that needed to be done. When I complained about the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SpikeCanada
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Please reach out to me. Mark@thethunderbirdinn.com I don't know what was wrong with the water pressure. I will see if others were complaining about the same issue. We do use conservation fixtures as we try to be good to our environment, but that shouldn't have an effect on the toilet tank filling. I"m not sure how you made your reservation,...

Kalispell, Montana
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Sure, the Thunderbird looks a little bit like a roach motel but don't judge a book by it's cover! We stayed here after a few days in the most uncomfortable hostel in Charleston and it was like heaven. The staff were so very kind and allowed us to check in early. The rooms were very clean and nicely air conditioned...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TrishBubble
Bladenboro
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We were at first skeptical but any concerns were quickly extinguished when we met the friendly staff and checked into our room. The room was clean with a small coffee maker that had good coffee which is unusual these days. Shower/bath was clean as was bed linen and sink. Initially I booked with Amex which the hotel doesn't take so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur,S M
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad Jackie was able to help you. I'm sorry we don't accept AMEX. We made that choice because they more expensive than the rest. We try to provide a great value to our guests, so we look at places we can save costs and not diminish our guests' experience. It's cool you loved...

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Amazing staff. Great price. Walking distance to everything. Your not paying for a ton of extras that you most likely wouldn't use anyway. Their environment friendly, very clean. Staff is accommodating. Tony was awesome! I am horrible at names, so I apologize but I also spoke a lot to the assistant manager. She was so very friendly and helpful as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Five4Mom
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I'm so happy you had the opportunity to interact with Tony and Leslie. They are great ambassadors of the Thunderbird Inn and Savannah! I also love that you loved our green efforts! regards, Mark Thomas

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 11 February 2015

This hotel is exactly what is advertised - a good room at a great price. A 2 min drive or walkable in summer to all bars and restaurants, which was awesome. We had a beeping smoke alarm and Tony came by and fixed it literally 1 min after telling the front desk. Don't listen to the other idiots that say...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mrizos
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review

I LOVE your review. Thank you! I'm so happy you loved the inn and our staff! regards, Mark Thomas General Manager

565 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Double Full Room (56)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (54)
Viewed
King Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Midtown
#45 of 113 in Savannah
921 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Price Range: €99 - €227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Thunderbird Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved the drive up room....”
 of 5 bubbles 397kellya, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“First floor is good.”
 of 5 bubbles 399lauraw, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2 floors so if steps are a problem call for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles dannyh393, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor if you can. If you're on the bottom floor you're going to hear folks walking around at all hours.”
 of 5 bubbles 428ninab, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to stay upstairs for quieter rooms to avoid parking lot noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesandkarlam, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5