We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Farnsworth House Inn

Booking.comUS$176*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Farnsworth House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 369: English reviews
Start your review of Farnsworth House Inn
 Click to rate
Duncanvillle, PA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an enjoyable long weekend stay at the Farnsworth House Inn. A quaint old Inn and a lovely property with an outdoor bar, a nice restaurant, and a small pub. It is an historic building and comes with the quirkiness that an old property brings including creaky steps, banging hot water heaters, and, of course ghosts (though we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phlegg
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Didn't stay at the Bed & Breakfast, did eat dinner in the restaurant however. Very good. Service was great. Good was delicious. Looking forward to staying at the Inn on a future visit, especially after being on the ghost tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We would love to have you stay in the B&B next time! We hope to see you soon!

Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a piece of history in such a historical town...The room was great with big and comfy bed...You have to do the mourning room especially if you like a slightly scary touch. The breakfast was excellent and the the tavern was fun to stop in for beer and app. Gettysburg is a very fun town if you are not into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TKLT27
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to stop by Sweney's Tavern for a drink. We really do offer so much here on property that people don't know about, so thank you again for sharing your experience with others!

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time this group has eaten here. There were 18 of us, we'd requested a room aside from main dining room. We were sat at 3 tables. For a group this size, more than one wait person would have been better. The food was good, but it was brought at a hit or miss basis. One table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 161VAGirl
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals, however I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the way that it was served. I will be sure to pass this review along to our restaurant management staff so that we can make some changes for groups of...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Chef has improved on his recipe for the Game Pie. It is thicker and meatier and not so runny as it was. It is now on the top 5 entrees served in the United States. My server was Brooke and she was lovely and capable as always. The only drawback on this place is you can literally hear a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimo688889
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our game pie is our number one seller by far, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it! The dining room does have a very close and intimate atmosphere - that is one of the things that separates us from other restaurants in town. I hope that you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just after Christmas, my husband and I visited Gettysburg, and we booked a night at the Inn because of its reputation and history. We booked many months in advance and were so excited to stay at Farnsworth House. When we arrived, we had to check in at a small building in the back of the property, and then were ushered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience here at the Farnsworth House. On behalf of the management and the staff I would like to sincerely apologize for your poor service. I hope that you will reconsider and come back and see us again sometime soon. The property is truly very special, and we have so much to...

Bullhead City, Arizona
Reviewed 4 March 2017

this B&B is a huge piece of history. beautifully furnished with antiques, It is quite charming and very comfortable and right in the middle of more history. Oh ... and its haunted :) It has a tavern and restaurant, with great food, it has a gift shop with tons of books on the civil war, and it has ghost tours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghostgurl
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We appreciate you including everything that we have to offer in your review for others to see. We hope that you will be back again soon!

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Supposedly the most haunted building in Gettysburg. Don't know as we had no experiences. It is, however, possibly the most interesting place to stay in Gettysburg. We stayed in the Sweney Room. It was quiet and comfortable with a good shower. The included breakfast is outstanding. For a truly unique experience try the game pie and goober peanut soup. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lannyr
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Farnsworth House! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! Come back and see us again soon!

Thurmont, Maryland
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Went for a luncheon meeting. Food and service were fabulous. I had the soup and sandwich special. Homemade tomato bisque was delicious. The Inn is beautiful as well. Definitely recommend for business or leisure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wiinks2
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch! The tomato bisque is one of my personal favorites as well! Come back soon!

Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We had a great night at the Farnsworth house. We had spend 3 days in D.C. and wanted to stop by Gettysburg for a night to top off our "edu-vacation" The inn keepers were very friendly and informative about the surround locations. We went on a ghost tour through the house and the battlefields. I love these types of things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Farnsworth House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at the Farnsworth House! I love hearing peoples experiences from ghost tours. Everyone has such a unique experience! We would love to have you visit with us again soon!

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.6 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
951 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 km away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
366 reviews
0.6 km away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#5 of 27 in Gettysburg
358 reviews
0.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Farnsworth House Inn

Address: 401 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2623
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Price Range: €132 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farnsworth House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Farnsworth House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnsworth House Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Hotel Gettysburg
Farnsworth Inn
Farnsworth House Inn Gettysburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Farnsworth House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Farnsworth House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have trouble with the stairs you will want to stay in the garden rooms. the steps in the house are very steep.”
ghostgurl, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Research the rooms for yourself, we went with the most spooky of the selections.”
F216LLericm, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the main house - rooms are very small”
cfields286, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't read the journal until morning.....”
MEBucketlists, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the Eisenhower room.”
  • McFarlane Room
  • Details were perfect. Eisenhower Room
  • Eisehower Room
  • Above the bed in the Eisenhower Room
  • McFarlane Room
  • Eisenhower Room
  • McFarlane Room
  • Above bed in the Eisenhower Room.
sherryappraisal, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$176* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$176
Orbitz.comUS$176
Hotels.comUS$176
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates