We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vagabond Inn Ventura

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vagabond Inn Ventura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Showing 288: English reviews
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewed 28 May 2016

I stayed here in 2013 and the room was not like how it was this week. It must have had animals in it for the rug was disgustingly stained and my daughter allergic to cats and dogs and was sick the whole time. The walls were never wiped and were dirty and the alarm clock was so dirty, I wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larain S
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that the carpet was not clean. We are trying to get wood flooring for our pet friendly rooms. My head housekeeper read your review and told me about before I even read it. She was upset that the alarm clock was overlooked and the stained towel. I do hope you come and try us again in the...

Netanya, Israel
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Visited with my 2 friends, first we shall say the goods: we arrived late at night and noticed we made the reservation to the wrong date (we didn't updated the pc time to USA clock..) but the front desk lady was excellent and changed the date for us with no fee at all! However, the motel is very old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saar_teboul
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We are getting rid of all smoking rooms. Hopefully that will help. I'm hoping to get new floors this year too.

Ventura, California
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Clean rooms, friendly staff and location near downtown shops is a plus. But it is the restaurant, family owned for many years, with long time service staff, good food and quick service that makes this motel a worthwhile stop. You can skip the restaurant for a free, minimal continental breakfast but I don't recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane E
MaroneeBaker, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Duane. The restaurant celebrated it's 50th birthday this month. Thank you for the review.

Provo, Utah
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Older hotel room, average size but clean. Had fridge and soft bed and a lot of TV channels. Good maid service. Access to walking overpass right to pier. Pier closed for preservation, we rented bikes there instead, ride north not south.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzown
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The Pier has now been re-opened. It sustained damage during the storms in February and March.

Ventura, California
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We often stay at the Vagabond when we want to get away while staying in town. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant is great for breakfast, lunch or dinner. And the location is close to the beach and local attractions.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank damonm792
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you!

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 24 April 2016

It is a nice hotel and a good location near the beach. It also has one additional attraction. When the local train rides by every 4 hours, the room perceptibly shakes for 20 seconds. I have lived through many earthquakes in California so I would estimate it at about 2.5 on Richter scale. Going to Universal to experience this would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Art C
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

LOL, you will have a great time at Universal.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We have stayed in Ventura many times as it is a great stop from the SF Bay area to many destinations in So Cal. This is the first time we've traveled with our dog, so that is the reason we stayed at the Vagabond Inn. The room was clean, the beds were comfy, the service was friendly, the location is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mesano
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you! We are so glad you brought your dog this time. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 9 April 2016

This is mediocre motel at $75/nt. We stayed one night and I found the room to be clean looking, however, the carpets were old, stained, and very dirty (as made apparent by my white socks) and the bedspreads had stains on them. Yuck. The interior and exterior looks like it hasn't had an update in about 20 years. Check-in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

We are removing bedspreads from the beds because we can't wash them everyday. This way you can count on a clean bed. I'm sorry about the carpet. We will be changing to wood floors rather than carpet in the future, hopefully soon. About half of the rooms have been updated, and the rest should be finished within a year.

Oakland, California
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I enjoyed 3 nights here in late March 2016, appreciating the amenities mentioned in title and the location so close to the water and downtown. It was very easy to walk across the pedestrian overpass to the beach and pier as well as downtown. It is also convenient to get around from there by car. Others have complained about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phototogo
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed review. I appreciate the thought you put into it. We certainly hope you come back soon!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This is my go to place to stay whenever I am in the area. Great location in downtown. It has always been clean and tidy, and the front desk has always been polite. Parking lot is pretty well lit and have never had any issues. Love the distance to the beach and shops downtown. For the price, location, and comfort...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cody L
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review

Thank you Cody! We love our "regulars".

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.7 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Price Range: €77 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vagabond Inn Ventura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms along the back of the building seem to be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 276JoeR276, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“None great room”
 of 5 bubbles stefnali2010, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the sides are best, the back of hotel is next to train tracks and freeway. Spencer MaKenzie's good food next door.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanC955, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like rooms upstairs closer to the lobby. Seems most quiet in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles JUDYW797, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rating would have been better if I paid the regular price at $100.”
 of 5 bubbles 162hale, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5