We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marcel at Gramercy

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marcel at Gramercy
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,437: English reviews
Xxxxx
Reviewed 11 July 2015

I had a lovely 4-day stay at the Marcel at Grammercy while attending a training in NYC. My original room was clean, stylish and comfortable, but quite tiny. There was a problem with the air conditioner in that room and they immediately sent someone to look at it. When they determined that it could not be fixed right away, they...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 691debrar
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi 691debrar - Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with us. Our Team is always striving to create great experiences for our guests, and it's great to see the fruits of our labor. We're glad you received an upgrade, and hope you enjoyed the great views from our 10th floor lounge! We hope to welcome you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Came to spend 4th of July. Worst 4 hotel days we have spent anywhere in nyc! Small doesn't describe our two rooms. It's like we each had a closet to stay in. Even for nyc standards the rooms are just beyond tiny! Air conditioner didn't work and it was more than hot. Both me and my friend complained to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EvaHarper1
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi EvaHarper1 - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am extremely sorry and disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have sent you a private message to speak directly about the specifics of your stay, and I hope to hear back from you soon. Thank you again. Mike Williams General Manager...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Very dirty rooms. Besides made up beds, we couldn't see that they ever cleaned. Dust etc everywhere. We had a large room, but still not ONE dresser to put our clothes in. One tiny closet. We lived out of our suitcases, which might be ok for a day or two, but not for 11 days. Out of our 11 night...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank saradS3740VL
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi saradS3740VL - Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. I have reached out via a personal email to discuss in more detail. Thank you. Mike Williams General Manager mwilliams@marcelhotelnyc.com

Norman OK
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I emailed Mike Williams the manager and told him we would be in NYC to celebrate our 52nd anniversary and asked if we could have a queen bed instead of the double in the standard room. I have trouble sleeping and being in a double would add to my husband's discomfort when I thrashed about. Mr. Williams replied and said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dekoung
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi Dekoung - Thank you so much for sharing your great review with us! I am glad my Team and I were able to make your 52nd anniversary special, and hope to see you again on your 53rd anniversary :) ! Thank you again - take care! Mike Williams General Manager mwilliams@marcelhotelnyc.com

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 8 July 2015

I booked a standard room when I was coming over for a work trip and wanted to be somewhat close to the Javits center. It was still on the pricey side but a lot cheaper than what was equivalent in the area. The photos showed that this hotel was clean and modern, for the most part, and when I arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdamToogood
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi AdamToogood - Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear you found our hotel clean and modern, and hope you were able to fully enjoy our great neighborhood. Please feel free to reach out to me directly the next time prior to booking - I would be pleased to personally handle your...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I booked this through an app I love called HotelTonight. I was drawn by the modern look and great neighborhood. I was not disappointed. There are plenty of nearby restaurants and bodegas to suit all your needs. The bed was comfy, the towels were thick and best of all, THERE WAS A CHANNEL GUIDE!! I stay at a fair number...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C7719YPmaryp
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi C7719YPmaryp - Thank you for sharing your review with us! We love to hear that you enjoyed the modern look of our hotel and the great neighborhood. We strive to create great guest experiences, and it looks like we were truly successful during your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon. Take care! Mike Williams General Manager mwilliams@marcelhotelnyc.com

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The room I was in was super tiny, and had a window that looked out to a stairwell with no light coming in at all. The air conditioner unit seriously sounded like a freight train - but don't turn it off, because then you hear the floor creak, the doors open and the elevator moving up and down!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jenniferrC1719LE
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi jenniferrC1719LE - Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with your room. In looking at your reservation, it appears that you reserved one of our Standard rooms, which are the smallest rooms that we offer. We generally recommend booking our Deluxe category if you are planning on spending...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Love the location. Easy to get everywhere from here. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.The overall experience is really great. I do love my time at this hotel. The only negative is the WiFi access in the room is not great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevenY1157PB
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi stevenY1157PB - Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us! We're glad you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff, and hope to welcome you back soon! Take care. Mike Williams General Manager mwilliams@marcelhotelnyc.com

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The staff were very helpful and personable...much better than the huge chain hotels that treat you like a number. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located and close to restaurants and walking distance to most things you might need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Israelbusiness
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi Israelbusiness - Thank you for sharing your great experience with us! We pride ourselves on our personal attention that we give each guest, and love to hear success stories such as yours. We are always striving to go above and beyond for our guests, and appreciate that you took the time to recognize this. We hope to see you...

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The hotel had a great room and great service. Parking was easily accessible even though it is not with the hotel. We had a Deluxe King room which was perfect with a firm bed that is really comfortable. And since this was our anniversary, the crew at Marcel prepared a complimentary champagne in our room when we first checked in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lionelmoh
MikeWilliamsGM, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this review

Hi lionelmoh - Thank you so much for sharing your great review! We are glad that you decided to spend your anniversary with us, and love that we were able to provide champagne to help celebrate! We hope to see you again soon! Mike Williams General Manager mwilliams@marcelhotelnyc.com

892 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (497)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (208)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (365)
Viewed
Amenities (83)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Double Room (99)
Viewed
Junior Suite (24)
Viewed
Standard King Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (42)
Viewed
Superior King Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4,781 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our perfect location in historic Gramercy District offers easy access to public transportation and major airports. Within arms reach are the hip neighborhoods of the East Village and Lower East Side, Madison and Fifth Avenue shopping, Baruch College, the Empire State and Flatiron buildings, and Union Square. Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and Chelsea areas are just a short walk away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Marcel at Gramercy

Address: 201 East 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010-3801
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Price Range: €186 - €421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marcel at Gramercy 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marcel at Gramercy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcel At Gramercy Hotel
Marcel New York
Marcel Hotel Nyc
Hotel Marcel New York
Marcel Nyc
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Family Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marcel at Gramercy staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from The Marcel at Gramercy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good views”
allanb740, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room higher up ours was on 6th floor”
davem656, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great staff, good location”
G2127DAashleyl, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed in a variety of rooms and all are OK. Higher floors offer better views.”
brookslambert, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get an upper floor room away from street noise.”
LongIdler, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5