We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
790 7th Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-6204
43 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!20% off room rate
Official Site
US$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/02/23
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Hurb
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/02/23
Hotels.comUS$162
Trip.comUS$157
Vio.comUS$153
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4364)
Room & Suite (924)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#466 of 519 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:20% off room rate
12154Reviews566Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4,932
  • 2,649
  • 1,974
  • 1,112
  • 1,487
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alan F wrote a review 5 Feb
Market Drayton, United Kingdom69 contributions54 helpful votes
We stayed at the Manhattan to celebrate my 80th Birthday with family. The lovely receptionist moved us to the executive suites when she knew it was my birthday. We had a wonderful time. Can't wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
We appreciate the feedback, Alan. Thank you so much for choosing The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to celebrate your 80th birthday! It sounds like you had a wonderful time, and we are delighted that our front desk team was able to make your stay even more special by upgrading you to our executive suites. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If there is anything else we can do to make your next visit even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to contact us. Thanks again for your kind words! Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ahardyk wrote a review Aug 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada17 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This is my second stay here. Great location right next to Times Square. Got a free upgrade for my birthday which was a big plus. The room in the 18th floor was upgraded and modern. Bathroom lovely with rain shower head and good pressure. Not alot of counter space though. Room very clean. Front desk service friendly and helpful. Although no valet, parking easy just around the corner. Easy to walk to many places from this hotel. This is my second stay at this hotel. I would stay again. The non upgraded rooms are a bit more aged but we’re still clean. For me, you aren’t going to NYC to just stay in the hotel, but this is a very good one at an affordable price point.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 14 Aug 2022
Thank you for the fantastic review and continued patronage, Ahardyk. We're delighted your time with us was so wonderful. It's fantastic you took advantage of our convenient location where you can walk to everything. We endeavor to offer a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are so glad you enjoyed your upgraded room. It's great to hear our staff was attentive to you during your stay. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another excellent experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review 4 Feb
Armagh, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is located just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park. All easily accessible by foot. Our room was basic enough, but had everything we needed (bed and a bathroom) and it was clean. Other people staying in the same hotel weren't as lucky. Their room was dirty and unacceptable, they requested to be changed on two different occasions and paid extra to upgrade to the executive suite. Resort fees were $40/night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you're only using this hotel as a base to explore NYC it's probably perfect.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for the review, paulmG4820QF. We are very proud to hear about the wonderful stay we were able to share with you. It is great to hear that you found our location and accommodations to be so agreeable. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon as we'd love to share another great experience with you. Thanks again. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joana wrote a review 3 Feb
12 contributions
Location is amazing.The best we can have!!!! However this is the only positive point. Limited options for breakfast No dinner tables or chairs to have breakfast Some of reception staff not friendly at all Rooms are very very old and not looked after Carpets very dirty Noise between rooms This hotel needs to be closed for refurbishment urgently!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for the feedback, JoanaProenc. We regret that your time with us was anything less than perfect. While we're happy that you appreciated our ideal location, it's unfortunate our breakfast service, staff members, and conditions didn't exceed your expectations. We strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience so we'll be sure to discuss your feedback with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you allow us the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vik wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
We first visited in 2017, via travel agent booking, & had a positive experience, so decided to book again, this time we booked directly as we had our own flights too. Not sure if this 2nd experience due to whether agency bookings get better rooms or the hotel rooms had 5 years of inattention. Ray the Bellboy was lovely, as was William at the Starbucks counter, but some members of the reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful: on check-in, the more expensive room that we had booked & were still paying for was not initially available and the attitude about that was very nonchalant, saying we could ask in the morning if one with a Broadway view was available. We also reported to reception that the duvet had blood on it and they did not seem surprised, just that they would pass it on. In addition, on another day when I explained I overheard someone else give our room number to a different member of staff at the Starbucks counter after not paying for their breakfast as I didn’t want it charged to our room bill and they were not bothered about it. Good job we didn’t include breakfast in our booking despite the offers of it being a range of sumptuous goods: it looks like it would only have been the plastic croissants, tea & coffee offered by the Starbucks bar. None of the bedroom or bathroom photos on this website represent what we had (20th floor). The two rooms we had were substandard, old, and grotty, for example we were able to clean someone else’s dirty drip marks off the bathroom door ourselves. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate the feedback, Lndntrav. It's unfortunate your time with us was less than ideal. We care about the satisfaction and happiness of our guests. We regret that your room wasn't refreshed properly and that our staff did not go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. It's important to us that we offer our guests a quality experience. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ezmail wrote a review Jan 2023
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania56 contributions54 helpful votes
This property used to be the Sheraton Manhattan hotel. Don’t know if it was Sheraton owed, franchise, or managed by Sheraton. I believe it was sold several years ago and the new owners didn’t want to maintain the Sheraton brand. No standards. Rude personal. I believe there was renovations done due to breaking away from Sheraton and when Sheraton was Starwood. Some towels were thread worn stains on the bedding. Definitely not the same. If this property was part of a chain they would never be able to get away from this. Took a good property and ruined it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay away from this property until they eventually join a major chain
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate the feedback, Ezmail. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel was less than ideal. We're disappointed you had such challenges with our team and that we couldn't assist you in every way. Your experience is not on par with the high-caliber service we're capable of providing so we'll be sure to discuss your review and feedback moving forward. Thank you again for the valuable feedback. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandi T wrote a review Jan 2023
Florida Keys, Florida1 helpful vote
I would give the customer service a zero but it was not an option. I mistakenly booked the wrong day and immediately called to change and add 5 additional days. I spoke to 2 different operators on 2 diff ent calls both told me I booked a non-refundable room & there was nothing they could do. Even when I tried to explain I wanted to add additional nights they would not budge. I also sent 2 emails with no response. Their loss!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, brandit464. We're disappointed to hear that your experience was tarnished by your interactions with some members of our team. Please know that we are dedicated to providing only the most attentive and courteous service to each individual staying in our hotel. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to host you in the future for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venez D wrote a review Jan 2023
West Henrietta, New York
Well, let me tell you the truth. I booked this hotel through my Southwest Rapids rewards after reading the reviews and seeing the pictures on the website. I was extremely disappointed because I'm very particular and felt like I had been bamboozled. The room was horrible. It was old, wall paper torn off the walls, old furniture, unkept floors in the bathroom, and the tub- no thank you. Let's just say that I was highly perturbed. I ended up speaking with the front desk and manager who were very accommodating and gave me an upgrade for a very good price. The room was beautiful. It was one of the renovated rooms- gorgeous and what I'm accustomed to. Great staff and nice manager (Allen and Justin). I will say this- if you stay here and like a plush room, choose one of the renovated rooms- you'll be happy!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for the review, venezd. We are glad you had a great experience with us. We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler87 wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I travel a lot and this is one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at ! NO HOTT water !! They gave me a room that someone else was staying in and walked in on them . Bed are hard as rock and have no cover over the mattress you can see stains on mattress. My other room had no thermostat I was miserable bc there was no air on heat option . Just a gross place !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mistormy, Thank you for posting a review about your hotel stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced at the Hotel and want you to know that this is not the type of service we pride ourselves on delivering to our Hotel guests. We do hope to hear from you soon and we ask for the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlisonTaylor wrote a review Jan 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed over Christmas and had 2 rooms. 834 and 835 . I was really scared seeing all the reviews of the hotel and thought we might have to leave and book somewhere else. As we had waited 3 years for this trip due to covid and didn’t want it ruined by awful hotel.Easy check in no wait. We we were taken quickly to our rooms. Yes the rooms were dated and tired but both rooms were clean. Beds were so comfortable and we slept really well. We were warm. The bathrooms are dated but again clean and functional. Daily housekeeping with clean towels everyday. The room had no TV and we did mention this but it never arrived, but it was fine. We didn’t spend much time in the room it was just somewhere to sleep. It is an Excellent location on Times Square . Stayed with teenagers and Wi-Fi was ok. The grab and go breakfast was excellent and saved us a fortune. The grab and go staff we friendly and helpful. We stayed during extreme weather and yes the windows had frost on them but it was minus 10 degrees. It is in the heart of the city so there is noise but you would get that in any city in the world. Lifts were full at busy times but this it so be expected and only had to wait a few minutes. But mainly got in a lift straight away. Staff were helpful when we needed a taxi etc. Resort fees are expected in NY hotels but was prob £20 per room per day but pricey but it is what it is. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay this is it. If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not it. But as a place to sleep in the heart of NY, it is a good place to stay. Deposit was refunded on credit card straight away ( again was worried about this when I arrived and saw reviews). Would we stay again, yes, despite being tired and aged, it was clean and excellent location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BrendanMoraesGM, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, AlisonT9876. It's great you had a pleasant stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed our smooth check-in, clean accommodations, and ideal location. However, we're disappointed you found our conditions less than perfect. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience. Brendan Moraes Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$144 - US$313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTimes Square / Theater District / Theater District / Times Square / Midtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
685
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MANHATTAN AT TIMES SQUARE HOTEL - Now €140 (Was €̶3̶2̶1̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Top of the Rock (0.4 km), The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.4 km), and Times Square (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Angelina Bakery Times Square, La Grande Boucherie, and Dos Caminos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (6.2 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (6.2 km), and Hamilton Park (3.1 km).
Does The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.