We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pod 51 Hotel

Save
Share
230 East 51st Street, New York City, NY 10022-6571
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
15 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$266
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Priceline
US$266
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/09/21
Hurb
US$266
US$255
View deal
SAVE US$11
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Hotels.comUS$266
FindHotelUS$266
eDreamsUS$266
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2143)
Room & Suite (930)
Dining (56)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pod 51 Hotel
Updated 18/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#282 of 517 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Pod 51 is the most affordable hotel in NYC, with a focus on style and comfort. We offer room types for every budget and preference. Free week day walking tours and WiFi. Kick back and relax in our lobby, grab a bite to eat at our cafe, or soak up the city in our beautiful rooftop garden.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
433Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
44Attractionswithin 0.5 km
5644Reviews215Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,842
  • 2,636
  • 762
  • 220
  • 184
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lesley wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
I booked two rooms for March of 2020 for my mother and I. Before our travel date, my mother unfortunately passed away. I contacted the hotel and was assured I would receive a refund for her room if I could provide her death certificate, which I did. I was then told they were unable to process the refund and that I would have to discuss it with a manager. All of this happened BEFORE Covid. After Covid began, I rescheduled my trip twice as I still planned to travel in memory of my mother. I have continued to contact the hotel regarding the refund promised before the pandemic, and to try to see if they would either refund or reschedule my other room, and have not gotten a response through email, phone, or their social media accounts (they left me on read, nice). No one picks up their reservation number or the number to the hotel directly. I understand Covid has been especially difficult on the hospitality industry, but not processing a refund promised before the pandemic hit is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanna Soares, Marketing at Pod 51 Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2021
Hello Lesley, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your experience contacting the hotel as well as offer condolences in the death of your mother. It's important to note that the hotel offers two types of rates: fully flexible, where payment is taken at the hotel and prepaid, non-refundable rates. Due to the discount offered on these rates, we do not generally offer any refunds. Of course, in your circumstance, we absolutely would process the refund. Our current circumstances are unprecedented and have caused issues with refunds. I agree that your situation ought to have been remediated by now, however, we are facing an overwhelming amount of correspondence with limited staff and further technical complications. I will personally apologize for your social media correspondence left "on read." We do use an auto attendant to guide reservation inquiries to the reservation department. This is not only because of the overwhelming amount of correspondence, but because we are unable to directly access or discuss specific reservation details through social media. I reached out to the General Manager at Pod 51 Hotel, and it appears that your reservation was not at this property. I would be happy to get you in touch with the correct person to get this resolved, please forward your correspondence with reservation details to ssoares@thepodhotel.com.
Read more
TAK wrote a review Dec 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts55 contributions62 helpful votes
So I decided to stay at this hotel for 2 nights because the reviews looked decent and the photos posted online, including even on TripAdvisor looked amazing. However, the condition of the place is very different. tl;dr pick this place only if you need a place to sleep, won't need to stay in the hotel for a prolonged amount of time, and want a central location. Pros: * Good location with lots of restaurants and close to the Lex Ave and 53rd St station. * Common amenities space looked nice (although could not use them since this is COVID times) Cons: * The bedsheet was dirty and are big holes on the bed and around. Clearly, this place is not taken good care of. * The bathroom sink is actually inside the room and it is very austere, with little space for washing and it is kind of gross that it is so close to the bed. * Same problem with the toilet. The bed is close to the toilet and the door separating the toilet and the bed is a sliding door which does not even slide all the way. Felt unhygienic. * Extremely thin wall. I had the unfortunate luck of having loud neighbours which made the sleep experience terrible. To add to that, the next room's TV is the wall where the bed is. So you can hear the TV loud and clear. * There was smell of weed and cigarette in the hallway where my room was. * The chair back support is extremely uncomfortable and unseatable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanna Soares, Marketing at Pod 51 Hotel
Responded 31 Dec 2020
Hi Arnob, Thank you for your feedback. While we do have professional photos, as every hotel does, we are very focused on ensuring they accurately represent the rooms, particularly the layout. As the Pod Hotel, our rooms are indeed small. However, they are thoughtfully laid out. I can assure you, the sheets on your bed were not dirty. Due to common sense and state and labor regulations, rooms and linens are currently going through a multistep cleaning process which is inspected by a number of people. Our rooms are always cleaned extensively, and I can personally say that our housekeeping staff at Pod 51 are among the hardest working and accountable people you will ever meet. Additionally, we have sensitive smoke detectors and a strict no smoking policy. We understand that our room concept does not work for everyone. We offer a wide variety of room types at Pod 51, as well as three additional locations throughout New York City. The room type you are mentioning, with a sink inside the sleeping area, is our least common layout. While we take all guest feedback seriously, it is important to address issues that question the integrity of our product and staff. At this difficult time, we are proud of our staff for their hard work and being conscientious and thoughtful of our guests. We are happy to be offering reasonably priced, comfortable, and extremely hygienic accommodations. I am truly sorry your stay did not meet your needs; we would have been more than happy to address any issues you experienced during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your time in NYC.
Read more
RobertChilimonczyk wrote a review Oct 2020
Worcester, United Kingdom120 contributions62 helpful votes
Booked a room for 6 days in May'20 ($1500) but due to COVID-19 lockdown it has been cancelled. Hotel has been postponing the refund and eventually refused to refund any money. I would recommend to avoid this Hotel if you don't want to loose any money. Looks like it has happened not only for me.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanna Soares, Marketing at Pod 51 Hotel
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Hello Robert, All guests with prepaid / nonrefundable reservations have been given a credit, with generous terms, for future use. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to reservations@podhotel51.com. Thank you!
Read more
ruben torres wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This the worst I couldn't sleep because they were working and next to my room but it was too much noise, I understand that they are working but I called to get another room and i called they don’t answer the phone you have to go down to say and were not able to say anything
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Ric wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Booked a room for April 2020. Covid-19 caused our booking to be cancelled by the hotel, who promised a full refund within 60 days. Two months later and without a penny of the promised refund, I got in touch to ask if they were still refunding my stay. They replied bluntly that they would not be able to honour a refund but could offer room credit for the future. Being from the UK, this presented a bit of a problem as we are still not able to travel to the US. I chased this up a few times more and was met with abysmally vague responses about the refund they promised. I was asked to get in touch again when normal business resumes, which in the current climate might not be until 2022 so I declined to wait. Eventually, I received an email saying I could pursue a refund via my bank and they would not contest any dispute. The Pod Hotel must have known at this point that waiting over 120 days after a VISA transaction nullifies any request from the customer for a chargeback from VISA and they could get away with not having to refund. This is despite, as I am happy to reiterate and highlight, Pod51 saying that they would process a full refund. I am still pursuing this refund with my bank and have been advised to take this up with International Trading Standards too. Pod51 were disingenuous from the outset and to renege on promising a refund is absolutely shocking business practice. I do not recommend Pod51 at all. Take your business elsewhere and enjoy NYC without the hassle of dealing with this bunch of thieves.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanna Soares, Marketing at Pod 51 Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Hello Ric, Thank you for your feedback. As you know, we are in unprecedented times and truly, this pandemic had a sudden and significant impact on our operations. All guests with nonrefundable, prepaid reservations were offered credits for future stays, partially because of issues we experienced with our credit card processors. We were happy to work with all guests to accommodate future dates that would work with their unique circumstances and apply the credit as generously as possible. Our staff, which is limited due to the conditions in New York City through March and April, worked diligently to address all inquires and concerns. I can assure you that no one that you interacted with had any awareness of time limits for a chargeback request nor are a "bunch of thieves".
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pod hotel new york city, the pod hotel, pod hotel nyc, pod new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTurtle Bay / Midtown East / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pod 51 Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pod 51 Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Bartholomew's Church (0.4 km), Greenacre Pocket Park (0.1 km), and The Perfect Pint - 203 W. 45th (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pod 51 Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a concierge.
What food & drink options are available at Pod 51 Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pod 51 Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pod 51 Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Symphony, Obao Noodles & Bbq, and Little Collins.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pod 51 Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Pod 51 Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (6.1 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (6.1 km), and Hamilton Park (4.4 km).
Is Pod 51 Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.