We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
171 Ludlow Street, New York City, NY 10002
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
US$231
View deal
Expedia.com
US$231
View deal
Hurb
US$201
View deal
Booking.comUS$260
TravelocityUS$231
HotelIndigo.comUS$233
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1082)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#189 of 519 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Immersed in a culture of creativity and surrounded by vibrant street art, experience life as a local at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York. A custom mural by graffiti legend Lee Quiñones greets you as you enter our 14th-floor sky lobby; have your camera ready for spectacular 360-degree views of Manhattan too. On our rooftop, enjoy sweeping vistas while you sip a cocktail outside, dine at Mr. Purple or take a dip in the open-air, heated pool. Our 293 rooms, including four luxury suites and a duplex penthouse suite, are urban oases with hardwood floors, spa-inspired showers, C.O. Bigelow bath amenities, Garnier linens and locally sourced minibars. You'll wake up refreshed and ready to discover the eclectic art, styles, flavors and sounds of the LES - just let our interactive touch-panel neighborhood guide point the way.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 1 more
1477Reviews58Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 929
  • 303
  • 112
  • 60
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sarah B wrote a review 4 Feb
4 contributions
Even though I was there for work and 3/4 I was staying inside with my laptop the place felt comfortable. My view from the room was great and the common areas were perfect for me. I would recommend this hotel. Probably would come back to experience it for fun.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christy B wrote a review Mar 2022
Knoxville, Tennessee167 contributions67 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo February 20th - 27th. Our company provides flexibility with teleworking so we decided to visit the Big Apple and telework. Hotel Indigo is conveniently located, the 14th floor is the best office / cowork space and the house keeping and concierge staff are attentive and kind. Additionally, they cleaned our room daily and I am so grateful for this. We requested it and the front desk pushed back so we weren't sure if it would occur. Finally, there are so many iconic places nearby like Katz's deli, the Back Room, Beauty & Essex and El Sombrero. We are planning a return trip in the Fall! The one downside is the room isn't available until the afternoon. They will hold your luggage, but the lobby is tight. Have plans if you have an early flight!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Visit the 14th Floor at night - great hangout space & phenomenal views Go to Lazy Llama for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joseph Casas, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Hello 420christyb, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit and thank you for choosing us out of hundreds of hotels to choose from in New York City. Thank you for highlighting our rooms, customer service and common space which factored in favorably to your scheduled teleworking visit. Please make plans for a return visit and we hope to welcome you back soon! Best Regards, Joseph Casas Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Drummer F wrote a review Jan 2023
Austin, Texas1 contribution
The night front desk agent Donald was amazing at customer service with me and some friends, Donald is an asset to the hotel with his professionalism!! Thanks for everything! He was able to upgrade us to a higher floor with a GREAT VIEW of the NYC! I will recommend this hotel indigo.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jordan T wrote a review Jan 2023
My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo for 12 nights in January and had a very mixed experience. I've stayed in NYC for long trips over 10 times and this hotel, despite the cost, ranks low in comparison to similar and/or lesser options. Positives: Comfortable beds - This isn't always a given in NYC hotels and the Indigo have great mattresses. Bathroom - Really good, really hot showers, again not really guaranteed in NY. Housekeeping staff - Very courteous and professional providing a great service and were the true highlight of this hotel sadly. Negatives: The curtains (or lack thereof) - If you have any kind of issues sleeping or need a sleep ins then this hotel is not for you due to the lack of adequate curtains, when the sun is up, you're up. They have a simple roller blind which really doesn't do much at all and this really impacted the trip, I did email the hotel beforehand but didn't receive a response about my query. The staff - Outside of a singular member of the front desk staff and a singular member of the concierge, nobody else really tends to give a damn about you and they can't even get the basics right. For example, my partner and I ordered food into the hotel one evening and rather than inform us of this the FOUR members of staff lazing around the reception area (with zero customers present) chose not to inform us and as a result my food was completely stone cold and ruined. When checking out I had to wait a good few minutes - again with no customers present, because the three lads at the desk were instead discussing boxing... astounding. Oh and a couple of the concierge staff were outright rude, typically when a person says "thank you" you say "you're welcome" not grunt at them, again the basics. Oh and they completely failed to inform me that my delayed baggage had arrived, again the basics. The location - It's honestly pretty meh, the F line isn't great and the surrounding bar scene makes the neighbourhood feel slightly obnoxious, you'd honestly be better in Chelsea or Hells Kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hello Jordan T, We appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear from one of our most valued guests and for always choosing our hotel brands for your stay. Here at Hotel Indigo, we always ensure that we are a haven for our guests. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with hotel management for review. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony J wrote a review Jan 2023
1 helpful vote
Me and wife stay at this hotel INDIGO lots of times before and our stay was great ,this last stay was our last , since we arrive everything was really bad,no body helped us whit our luggage , we arrive early so we couldn’t check in,and the front desk agent said you can leave your bags there but we are not responsible for them,when we came back to check in are bags they where in the same spot no body was watching them ,so we ask Tara desk agent and he answer, really rude that he wasn’t the bellman ,our whole experience was bad The room we got was what we pay for either ,and they change are rooms next day and new room was pretty dirty,we won’t be coming back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You get what you pay for
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Anthony J, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your business and for making IHG Hotels and Resorts a part of your travel. We work very hard and strive to be the best Hotel Indigo around. We also strive to offer a seamless and relaxing stay and I'm sorry to learn that it didn't happen. We take feedback seriously and would like to get more info to share this with the relevant teams. I sent you a separate message and hope you respond soon. Your loyalty is important to us and we hope you choose IHG still on your future travels. Best Regards, Jenilyn J Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Protraveller99 wrote a review Jan 2023
London, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
Pity. Exciting location close to Jewish Deli Katz but tired small rooms with a cheap hostal vibe and careless management. What might have passed for artsy gritty NY style fresh now looks dirty and unloved. Scarred wooden flooring in my second room (first too noisy). Worn and torn faux leather top on the feature minibar trolley... think ice cream trolley containing the minibar. Dirty rug. While the usual hotel amenities (iron, desk etc) just fit, they are cheap and uncomfortable. Mattress like cardboard. Swivel chair so loose it had no back support. Poor lighting. Trying to work at the desk was an odyssey. An email request prior to arrival went unacknowledged. Check-in staff also ignored my early departure advisory - I was cutting my pre-paid stay from 4 to 2 nights. While I did not expect or request a refund as I knew the terms. it would have been nice to receive some recognition and attention to my needs. Instead I was ignored and frustrated to explain a third time on checkout. The security deposit held against the card was 430 USD for.my 2 night stay. Arbitrary and unexplained at the time, why hostage guests financially? Great to be in NYC again but a poor hotel choice. I was relieved to depart early. This hotel may suit the young, party goer staying 1 or 2 nights but not business travel or longer stays.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Protraveller99, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience with the accommodation. We appreciate your business and for making IHG Hotels and Resorts a part of your travel. We strive to be the best Hotel Indigo around, but I'm sorry to learn about what happened. We take feedback seriously and I have shared your comments with our hotel management to address this immediately. I'm confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. Your loyalty is important to us and we hope you choose IHG still on your future travels. Sincerely, Jenilyn J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Morris S wrote a review Jan 2023
Danville, California28 contributions51 helpful votes
I had stayed at Hotel Indigo LES pre-COVID and really enjoyed it. It was fresh, funky, and clean so when my wife and I came to visit our daughter who now lives in the East Village I thought this would be the perfect place to stay. Sadly, lots has changed since my last visit. First, and most importantly, the rooms are rough. Dirty, in disrepair, and tired. It's not really a housekeeping issue but rather a maintenance issue. The light switch for the desk lamp was broken, the cradle for the handheld shower head was broken, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, the area rug under the bed was gross, and there were scuff marks on all of the walls and baseboards. This is all under control of hotel management so not sure why these things aren't addressed. Then there's the typical stuff you'll find at most places in NYC like staff who seem like they could care less, tiny rooms, lots of street noise, etc. Just be prepared. I was really hoping this could be our go-to for 3 to 4 trips a year but the search goes on.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Morris S, Thank you for choosing our Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York for your travel stay. We wanted to offer a warm and engaging service that ensures there is always something new for guests to discover. I'm sorry if we failed to satisfy your stay. I have sent your comment to our hotel management for proper handling. Your feedback is essential to our success as a whole. We will wait for your next visit to our hotel. Best regards, Dominador R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma S wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
A lovely hotel in a great location near the subway station and we did enjoy our stay. My main complaint is that when we checked in I was asked to provide my bank card and this was described to me as a card check. I was told I wouldn’t be charged and it was a security measure. I was then charged $135 for our 6 night stay on top of the original fees. I questioned this twice at the hotel in person and was told I’d get this refunded back to me within 3-5 working days after check out. I then emailed two weeks after the stay to query why I hadn’t received this and received no reply. I called and was told this is some ‘amenity fee’ I actually don’t get back so I feel massively misled about this going from being no charge, to a refundable charge to a non-refundable charge. I would suggest you query this with the hotel as having looked online it’s some optional fee hotels can charge which doesn’t seem to be endorsed by the city… I don’t really understand what this fee was and had I been informed this wasn’t a refundable charge at the time I provided my card I wouldn’t have felt as misled. Some better staff training around check in/check out charges would have helped here in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Manny L wrote a review Dec 2022
This is my very first review on Tripadvisor and I am glad I am making a review on Hotel Indigo in Lower East Side New York. My wife and I travelled to NYC and stayed at Hotel Indigo from Dec 18th-Dec 21st 2022. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by a Doorman/Bellman named Kevin. He was genuinely polite and just so kind. He watched our luggage while we checked in. He then introduced us to a front desk associate by the name of Rafeal Grayson (I hope I spelled his name correctly). Rafeal checked us in and I have to say how impressed we were with his customer service. We travel quite a bit and his services really stood out to us. He was highly professional, super knowledgeable of the hotel and it's amenities, and knew the area so well. We talked for a bit after our check-in and he was so attentive to us. Throughout our trip Rafeal would always check up on us to see if we needed anything. See how our stay was etc. Talk about going above and beyond! Truly great person he is! We stayed on the 18th floor and our housekeeper Eileen (I hope I spelled her name correctly too) was superb! Always checking in on us and seeing what we needed. She was so helpful with bringing us fresh towels and toiletries in a timely manner. Cleaned our room so well. The GM by the name of Darlene also greeted us the day before we departed. We had never had a manager or GM say goodbye to us and see if we needed anything at all. Everyone at Hotel Indigo was amazing! They also have a gallery on the 14th floor where we sat and relaxed and also a rooftop bar on the 15th floor and it was fun. Once again the entire staff was the greatest. Extra recognition to Kevin, Rafeal, Eileen, Darlene, and everyone who we met at the front desk and front lobby. We are already planning our next New York trip and we will for sure stay at this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Hotel Indigo has the best staff hands down! Also near good eats such as: Katz Deli, Russ and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jean-Yves C wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed 5 years ago at the indigo LES and had a wonderful experience and were hopeful that it would be the case again this time. Unfortunately it went wrong all along. I am diamond elite with IHG and called the customer care in advance to warn that we would be three for the upgrade that I am entitled to. The lady at the front desk offered me a king room and said that this was the only room available. Finally she found a 2 queen room available after arguing. No amenity was proposed as this is normally the case for diamond elite members. No sleepers available. Freezing cold in the room. In the morning we learned that there was no breakfast available while my rate included breakfast. The bar was closed (Mr purple). No coffee machine. No answer to our calls to guest services. No Christmas tree at the hotel. Clearly the clients were not welcome during that holiday season except their cash. Will not come back again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Other at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, Jean-Yves C Thank you for leaving your opinion and choosing our establishment. We love to see that you're one of our most special IHG One Rewards Diamond Elite members. Your review is crucial for our improvement and allows us to make proper adjustments to offer you and all guests a better service in future stays. I have shared your sentiment with our local team and manager, and I apologize for not delivering a better accommodation. Our staff will work to ensure a much better experience in your future travels. We strive to deliver the most delightful and awesome experience every time. We look forward to seeing you again in future travels. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements based on your priceless feedback. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$202 - US$417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown)
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL INDIGO LOWER EAST SIDE NEW YORK, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Immersive Gamebox - Lower East Side (0.4 km), Yaf Sparkle Fine Jewelry (0.5 km), and Economy Candy (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Il Laboratorio Del Gelato, Russ & Daughters Cafe, and Wafels & Dinges.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Chinese, and Portuguese.