We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (161)
Pool & Beach (1)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good34%
  • Average21%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“rooftop garden”(21 reviews)
“prince street”(13 reviews)
“original cabin”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Rooftop Terrace
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for The Bowery House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
114
160
88
45
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
114
160
88
45
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop gardenprince streetoriginal cabincommunal showershotel hostelshared bathroomprovide ear plugsnew yorkrooms are smallwhole foodsshort staylower manhattanlounge areaearplugslowrychinatownnyc
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Not shown in the pics here, but you should Google image the single bed cabin with no window. Quite a unique experience.. Last Saturday night, around room 410-420, the privacy rules were absolutely not respected. People talking in the middle of the night. People talking...More

4  Thank GuyBest
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 January 2018

Dear GuyBest, Thank you for your stay and review! We offer Cabins with windows and without. The Cabins with windows are always the better choice. As a hostel, we let everybody know at check in that Cabin areas are QUIET AREAS. At check in, we...More

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

I acceptes to stay since I had no alternative. But I finally left not even having a new place booked. Is a hostel but you pay a hotel and you would sleep better on a estable. The reason for me to leave was to see...More

1  Thank angelbarnamail
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 January 2018

Dear angelbarnamail, Thank you for your review. My apologies for your experience. Any kind of issue, especially ones of bed bugs is of utmost concern to us. We want every guest to have a safe, affordable and enjoyable stay with us at The Bowery House....More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

I really liked this place -- but you need to know what to expect. I stayed in an "Original Cabin" and it is not (as some past reviewers seemed to expect) a tiny hotel room, bur rather a deluxe hostel bed. It has walls and...More

1  Thank 7MileRiver
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you for you FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are a hostel and offer guests individual Cabins instead of a dorm bed style setting. Hostel, not hotel - you are correct! We are happy you enjoyed your stay, the location and the history of The Bowery...More

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

This is a hostel, so that must be kept in mind. This is not a handicapped accessible hotel. Steps up to registration desk. Staff VERY friendly and helpful, willing to please. Original cabin is about 4 feet by 6 feet, with a comfy cot (my...More

1  Thank BSK450
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 January 2018

Dear BSK450, Thank you for your review and staying with us! Our staff is here to help guests with check in, directions, tickets and insider tips to the neighborhood and NYC. The Original Cabin is the smallest so next time, upgrade for a few dollars...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Warning: This is not a hotel in the ordinary sense. Failing to understand this point will lead to a catastrophe and a major disappointment. Having said that, depending on the taste, this is a natural five star or one star candidate, depending on how one...More

Thank Karlkoreander
Response from MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery HouseResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Karlkoreander, Thank you for your stay and review! We are a hostel, not a hotel so we offer Cabins for sleeping and shared bathrooms for our guests. The Bowery House is charming and affordable. Our location is in one of the best neighborhoods in...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in New York City
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$91 - US$213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (161)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (12)
Amenities (6)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nolita
Despite being just off of busy Houston Street, Nolita
maintains a low-key vibe that makes it a pleasant
retreat in the heart of lower Manhattan. Short for
“North of Little Italy,” Nolita was once considered to
be part of Little Italy. Today, the neighbourhood is
popular with young fashionistas popping in and out of
the chic independent boutiques that line Mulberry,
Mott and Elizabeth Streets. In addition to shopping,
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Art M
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from TBH_220 | Property representative |
Greetings! Yes, it's safe to leave your luggage in your cabins, as no one will enter the cabin unless instructed by the guest. However luggage storage is offered anytime during your stay. After check out, it will be $10 for... More
1
Vote
samanthajwebb
8 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LiseMcDowall | Reviewed this property |
There are plugs by the mirror, in the ladies bathroom anyway:-) I think you can leave your bag at their office for 10 dollars:-)
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Don't book it unless it's an emergency.... No roof on the rooms, tiny "room" feels like a..."
Read review
"Go elsewhere"
Read review
"Just dont come here. Get an airbnb somewhere."
Read review
"Book with them directly , instead of websites like booking or Expedia."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing