We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
112 W 25th St, New York City, NY 10001-7461
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Renaissance Hotels
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#389 of 518 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel is a new boutique destination located in New York City's Chelsea neighborhood. Enjoy modern accommodations and an array of inspired amenities, including stunning views of the city.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
131Reviews16Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 62
  • 24
  • 12
  • 20
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kevin G wrote a review 1 Jul
1 contribution
Had a wonderful 2 night stay with my wife and 2 boys (age 10 and 12)! The bellman, Julio was awesome and super nice - teaching my boys dance moves in the lobby, and Mariam at the front desk was lovely as well! Beautiful property, perfectly located for our NYC getaway! View from our room looked right out at the Empire State Building - short walk to Mad Sq Park, the High Line and Mid-Town. We were will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Any higher floor room will pretty much get you a great view of the city
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Bruce Wagner wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Angeles, California9 contributions13 helpful votes
The rooms are not maintained. The phone didn't work. The building's hot water was out of service for 24 hours. The shower head sprayed water everywhere except out of the shower head. The Front Desk resolved NONE of our issues (other than to offer us 5000 marriot points to appease us --- when each room was costing us 58,000 points or $450+++).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for the feedback and as we had discussed while you were here, we will be addressing these issues with the Team. Again, I apologize for your poor experience and per our conversation we have credited your points back. Please feel free to reach out to me directly and I would be happy to provide you any future assistance required. Kind Regards, Chris
Read more
Sudi M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Julio was amazing! A lot better than the other people at the hotel. The rest of the staff was okay except for the rude guards at the door who asked if we are guest of the hotel almost everytime we walked in the hotel and it was extremely annoying and belittling to be asked that when we paid so much to stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in order to provide this feedback and thank you for your kind comments regarding Julio. We will certainly recognize him for his efforts. Although, I was sorry to hear about your experience with the Lounge Security and we will share your comments with the Security Leadership Team in order to address this situation. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you wish to further discuss your stay or have any additional feedback. Kind Regards, Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
Barney K wrote a review Jun 2022
Chevy Chase, Maryland1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed last night. When I got to my room, I could hear loud thumping from the pool party going on the roof (was on floor 35). Was told all they could do was re-locate me. When I asked why I wasn't warned about this, they simply said I should have been. Question: why put guests in rooms where they are going to be disturbed...at a "nice" hotel like this? Desk people rude about this too like I should have known. Will NOT be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Dont stay too high I guess in the summer. Don't ever stay low to ground in NYC. So I...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in providing these comments. I was sorry to hear about this disturbance during your stay with us. We continue to work on upgrading the hotel’s soundproofing and feedback such as yours assists us with these improvements. I am sorry that your response from our front desk team was inappropriate and we will address this with the Front Office Leadership team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you have any further feedback or I can be of any assistance. Kind Regards, Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
Jay L wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel has real potential but there are too many inconveniences to not note them. TLDR: I love Renaissance properties but this one left too much to be desired. Pros- * Beautiful newer property. One of the best Marriott hotels I’ve stayed in the NYC chelsea area. * Plenty of bottled water provided complimentary at the front desk. * the property’s gym is adequate. Good amount of space and towels/bottled water available + core gym necessities. Cons— * Service is severely lacking at ALL areas of this hotel- starting with the front desk but I will say the absolute worst service was the staff at the Cotto restaurant for breakfast (more on that shortly) * $25 “destination fee” for no amenities except bottled water is astonishing. They will offset spending at the hotel on food and beverage with this fee - and trust me, you’ll use it at that nightmare of a breakfast restaurant - Cotto. * Cotto - where do I begin? I was encouraged when I checked in and learned that Cotto honored either a complimentary continental breakfast or $20 voucher towards breakfast for Platinum elite. This is where everything turned sour with my experience at this place - I visited 4 mornings for breakfast, the first morning was painfully slow (almost 2 hours for 1 person to have breakfast - a simple omelette with toast) and the 3rd morning they refused service due to being “too busy and understaffed” — on a Saturday! The prices at this restaurant are a joke - $20 does not get you much folks. Coffee is $6, juice is $8, toast $4, oatmeal with 3 blueberries and 1 strawberry $18, an omelette that you can only have bacon in for a protein (?) but you could order sausage, salmon on the side of course. And the rudest staff I have encountered at any Marriott property to boot. It was as if they were really doing me a favor to bring salt and pepper to the table. * Rooms are very small. I was upgraded to a room with “20% more room” but really can’t imagine what a smaller room would look like. I did have to use the desk regularly for work and was traveling alone and it was very tight quarters. * Pool is not for hotel guests. They should work on allowing some dedicated hours for hotel guests at the pool considering we are inconvenienced by the club the entire stay. * check in was a disaster. Granted I requested an early check in and understandably those are not guaranteed - however, I did the mobile check in and then chatted w the front desk and they said they could not add me to their “waiting list” for check in until I arrived in person at the property - what is the point of mobile check in if you require folks in person? Seems redundant and the hotel should consider using the mobile check in as their waiting list since that’s what every other Marriott property does.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in providing these comments. I was sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay. I have shared your feedback with the Hotel Team and we will certainly address the service issues that you did have at the Restaurant and Front Desk. I also wanted to let you know that we are in fact working on “Hotel Guest Only” hours for the pool and hope to roll these hours out over the next couple of weeks. Again, I am very sorry that you did encounter these service issues throughout your stay and would be happy to further discuss them with you should you like to do so. I have included my email below so please feel free to reach out to me at your convenience. Kind Regards, Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
rchu wrote a review Jun 2022
Palm Springs, California83 contributions92 helpful votes
Pool is an entire different business, NOT AN AMENITY for hotel guests! TripAdvisor AND Marriott needs to update this critical information! Plus, during the busy weekends it causes problems for hotel guests with noise and ability to use two out of four lifts! All reviews about issues with lifts is indeed correct because we experienced it! We got ‘upgraded’ to a corner King on the 27th floor, which offered incredible views but the room is the size of a walk-in closet! We were offered a 20% bigger king room starting our second night, but who wants to move!?!?? Our shower drain was clogged constantly and never fixed by hotel! We just took our own action to make it work. Cabinet hinge broken which make 50% of drawer space very unusable. They offer Marriott Platinum members a good fixed bfast at their only restaurant Cotto, but the restaurant is small and outdoor is not open. When we do pickup order, it’s always wrong! They also offer a daily CR of 25.00 to offset the resort fee, nice idea but with only one restaurant it’s tiring for a 7 days stay! Overall impression, nice newer property if u don’t mind all the inconveniences, and don’t overpay! I would say 200 or lower would be reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in providing this feedback. I was sorry to hear about your disappointment with your past stay. Currently, we do not advertise the pool on the hotel's website as a hotel amenity since there are limited hours and reservations are required. We had already requested the picture that is posted on Google to be removed as well. I am sorry for any misunderstanding as our intention was not to mislead you or any of our guests. However, in the future, we do hope to expand our pool's hours and availability and will communicate this on our website once we have finalized the programming. I was also sorry to hear about your disappointment with your room size and about some of the engineering problems that you experienced. I will certainly share this feedback with our Engineering Leadership Team to ensure that these items are addressed. I have also shared your comments regarding Cotto with their Management Team. I am including my email address below, please feel free to reach out to me directly and I would be happy to further discuss these concerns. Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
wigirl2006 wrote a review Jun 2022
Oneida, Wisconsin11 contributions2 helpful votes
Things I wish I had known: 1) They charge a $25/night resort fee, you’re able to use this in the restaurant, bar, laundry etc, but they don’t tell you this at check-in so didn’t know until check-out; the laundry is closed on Sundays. Felt misleading. 2a) The rooftop and pool are not available to hotel guests; if you want to visit, you have to reserve with a $100/per person minimum. Misleading given the photos, was hoping to have a quiet place to do some work outside. 2b) The rooftop is actually a club so on the weekend there’s a long line of club-goers outside the hotel and one of the inside elevators is dedicated to the club. I didn’t have any noise issues on the 21st floor but definitely something to check. Other than that, the rooms are new and the location is convenient, especially for coming in and out of Penn Station. The service was so-so.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in providing this feedback. I was sorry to hear that your were not given full information during your check in and couldn’t fully utilize the $25 daily food and beverage/dry-cleaning credits. I will certainly review this with the Front Desk Team to ensure that they are giving this information upon check in to all guests. I was also sorry that you could not utilize the rooftop during your stay with us. We will be rolling out guest only hours for the pool/rooftop in the near future. Perhaps, if you would be willing to give us another opportunity, we could have you stay with us again and you could enjoy the rooftop. Please feel free to reach out me directly and we can further discuss. I have included my email below. Thank you for your time and consideration. Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
andy wrote a review Jun 2022
San Francisco, California827 contributions57 helpful votes
I stayed for four nights at the hotel recently and had a wonderful experience. It was a last minute trip due to a personal emergency, and the hotel team ensured that I had a pleasant stay. I was placed in a quiet room on the lower floors, which was calming to come back to each evening. Thanks to Paul and his team, including Amani, Omar and the folks at Cotto restaurant, I really appreciated every interaction, your professionalism, but even more so your kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: lower floors for quieter rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Alison wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
A colleague and I recently booked a few rooms, 4 nights, mid-week, for a business engagement hosting out of town visitors in NYC. Because I was working, I needed a few amenities: room service, shipments to the front desk, a quiet room…and not much more. Upon check-in it became apparent that Renaissance Chelsea hotel was challenged in providing these very basic amenities, for the “bargain” rate of $600-$800/night, for a single king room. After flying in on a red-eye from the West Coast, upon check-in, I was told the room I booked would not be ready until later in the day. I had to point out the actual calendar date to the reception associate, and also remind them that I had specifically booked the room a night in advance in order to check-in when I arrived early in the day. Once that was sorted out, I made my way to said designated room, only to find that the room key was inoperable. Though it was cumbersome and time consuming, I was moved to another room. While the hotel did make an effort to accommodate my room request (quiet and away from the club on the 30th floor), the hotel restaurant and morning room service was among the worst I have experienced, anywhere. I was required to rise early and attempted to order in-room delivery of, 1) a pot of tea, and 2) toast. Both items appear on the in-room dining menu. First morning, I was told by the woman running the dining service, “No toast. Only bread.” Day two, I attempted to refill my tea cup with hot water directly FROM the restaurant downstairs, and was informed by the SAME woman, “No hot water.” A short walk down the hall to the coffee station revealed, a) coffee to go, b) hot water, and c) all the necessary accoutrements (cups, milk, sweetener, etc.) This woman was by far the rudest, most hostile “hospitality” worker I have encountered, anywhere. It is worth noting that my requests were made politely and patiently, and I have no pre-existing gripe, disagreement or relationship with any of these people. From there, items that were shipped to the front desk for business purposes were misplaced. I was told they had not arrived (they had, and surfaced after much back and forth and several phone calls.) The worst experience of the stay was when a tragic incident occurred on my floor in the room across the hall. I returned to my room one afternoon, and encountered several NYPD officers stationed outside the door. I asked if there was cause for concern, and was not fully satisfied with the response. Leaving the room an hour later and encountering two new NYPD, I inquired again if there was cause for concern. The officer then explained what had happened, and a short time later I witnessed emergency workers pushing a gurney up the hallway. It is worth noting that at no time during my 4 days as a guest did the hotel notify me that there was an “incident” and I was likely to encounter this scene upon returning to my room. Nor did they offer to move me to a new room…or offer any explanation whatsoever. Once the matter was resolved, the room remained sealed with NYPD tape for the remainder of my stay. Come ON, Marriott! I expect more from a company of this size and reputation. We paid more than $3,000 for a 4-night stay accompanied by some of the worst service I’ve encountered, anywhere. I will add, there was one very helpful “navigator” named Leonardo who deserves props for good customer service. Also, the rooms were clean. Aside from that, this hotel needs a lot of improvement. Cannot recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid rooms within several floors of the 30th floor club. Elevators are slow. Don’t bother with...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Rynkar, General Manager at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Responded 31 May 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking your time in providing this feedback. I was very sorry to hear about your disappointment with your stay. Please be assured that we will be reviewing your comments with the Front Desk Team as well as the Restaurant. Certainly, your room should have been ready upon your arrival and deliveries handled in a more efficient manor. We will make sure to review our procedures so that a similar situation does not occur again. I have also escalated your comments regarding your restaurant experience to the Restaurant's Leadership team so that we can take the appropriate corrective actions. Regarding your concern from the incident that had occurred while you were here, I am sorry that you had this interaction and unfortunately because it was on ongoing police matter, we typically do not comment on these situations. I would be happy to discuss this as well as your other feedback should you like to do so please feel free to email me directly. I do hope that you may consider this past experience to be an isolated one and would possibly consider us again. I appreciate your kind comments regarding Leonardo and will be sure to pass them along to him. Kind Regards, Chris Chris.Rynkar@Marriott.com
Read more
France L wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Our Bellman, Julio, from the Dominican Republic is so terrific! He’s very kind, helpful and friendly. And he’s a great dancer! The hotel is very clean and bar had a decent wine list. We used the gym facilities each day where there is bottled water and fresh towels of course. It has become our favorite place to stay in NY
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$333 - US$467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTenderloin / Chelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
341
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Magician at the NoMad Hotel (0.4 km), Museum of Sex (0.4 km), and Escape the Room NYC (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johny's Luncheonette, Brooklyn Bagel & Coffee Company, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (4.0 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (4.0 km), and Hamilton Park (3.5 km).
Is Renaissance New York Chelsea Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.