We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leo House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Leo House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

635 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leo House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

There was one lady who seemed to be a senior receptionist, she was rude and unfriendly just about all the time. My room was unbearably hot so that I couldn't be in it in the day time at all and had trouble sleeping at night. No A/C in my room. I requested this lady to find out about a fan...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lynne S
Ashley B, Dir. of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you though of your stay. i'm sorry that your stay at The Leo House was not what you were expecting it to be. I would like to opportunity to make things right with you. We always strive to give our the guests a great experience while staying...

Nashville
Reviewed 2 June 2015

I stayed at Leo House with my wife and 3 children on an overnight in the city. It was a decent place for the price, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. Facilities were older but clean, and the breakfast spread of some hot and continental breakfast items was reasonable for the price as well. My only complaints were:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank willijr
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The hotel is located on E23rd Street central Manhattan - its in a fantastic location. The subway is right at your door step and close to all conveniences and eateries. I had a private single bedroom with a bathroom - the size of the room and bathroom was adequate. For the price you pay it is value for money. Breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark74768
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Three and a half star property in the heart of New York City. Leo House represents good value for money. In the heart of Chelsea, it is close to local transport with the M34 Crosstown bus within a block, and two subway lines within two blocks. While there for a fortnight, I bought a weekly Metrocard, valid for unlimited travel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank caran275
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2015

At the time of the booking , there were no rooms with private bathroom. Had to go for a shared bathroom and it was just next to our room. Couldn't sleep at night. Heard all the noises from inside the hotel. Guests coming at middle of the night and taking a shower, using toilet. Unfortunately couldn't take a nap after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitta2
Malaysia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Stayed here overnight as I had an early train to catch from Penn Station. Location wise, Leo House is great; close to many shops and restaurants, with easy connections to the subway. The room itself was clean (although dated) and the shared bath was well maintained. My only gripe was that there was no AC in the room. Unfortunately, it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChristineMayYong
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

I have very mixed feelings re Leo House. They overcharged (accidentally) my credit card by $1200 , denied it and my card had to be closed. They eventually admitted error and I received room update. I turned up at the Hotel and became upset when they asked for my credit card.,.. I did not like theroom as it was small,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew G
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 6 May 2015

I thought the Leo house was just fine. The rooms & beds were clean & comfortable (no pest) . The flat screen was smaller than expected but actually that was fine as well. I was able to a private bathroom so that made me happy. I loved the pristine white bedding. I truly enjoyed the well appointed breakfast as well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

The wifi is a rather inconsistent in the bedrooms, & some of the rooms aren't ultra modern, but make no mistake: the Leo is a real gem. Comprehensive facilities & exceedingly friendly staff (special mention for Marilyn, who greeted us on our arrival). The location is fantastic, in the heart of Chelsea, with a subway station almost on the doorstep....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anita C
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Built over 100 years ago in the Chelsea district for Catholic clergy, this small hotel is still primarily an inexpensive place for Catholic visitors to the City. The notice boards emphasize social justice work, and there is now a small chapel. The Leo House is well located on a quiet street close to two Metro stations. My upper-floor room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sevadar2015
Ashley B, Director of Operations at Leo House, responded to this review

Good morning, We are glad to see that you throughly enjoyed your stay with us. Because we are a non-profit organization, we are able to keep our rates low and affordable for our guests. We recently renovated our Chapel. It is now back in it's original location. Our breakfast buffet is awesome and a great bargain in Chelsea!! We do...

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
European Style Double Room (15)
Viewed
European Style Double Room (Upper Level) (20)
Viewed
European Style Double Twin Blue Room (22)
Viewed
European Style Double Twin Room (21)
Viewed
European Style Single Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single Room (with Shower) (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#219 of 477 in New York City
4,509 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 477 in New York City
1,463 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#315 of 477 in New York City
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#259 of 477 in New York City
1,296 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#381 of 477 in New York City
492 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#322 of 477 in New York City
6,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s jewels when it comes to neighbourhood life. The contemporary art scene is an integral part of the neighbourhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost every night of the week and countless exhibits to explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York City, it’s also a diverse district with a vibrant nightlife scene. The opening of the High Line, an abandoned elevated train track transformed into a world-class pedestrian park, gave this neighbourhood new life as a tourist destination. The High Line provides visitors with a tranquil, elevated space with incomparable views, providing an unparalleled way to experience the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Leo House

Address: 332 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011-2289
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Price Range: €91 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leo House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Leo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo House Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leo House staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Leo House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I paid a little more to have a private bathroom and it was worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles nadyalajeunesse, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mine was a room on the courtyard. I had not requested this location. Very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles sprattmitchell, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All very basic I think but it is only to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles R656HMandrewg, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one that doesn't face the busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeV32174, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Reserve a room with a private bath, which may help you better deal with the dated, worn, unattractive, grungy appearance of the bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyTraveler2020, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay