We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

W New York - Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
W New York - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,089 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for W New York - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 984: English reviews
Drumheller, Canada
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

At the time of 9/11, the site where this hotel stands was merely a parking lot. Therefore it is modern, roomy and nicely appointed. Our room featured a view of the 9/11 Memorial and Museum and we were walking distance from Battery Park, awesome shopping and restaurants and made a little longer hike up to Little Italy. We were taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cobilly
Mickey S, Director of Front Office at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hello there Cobilly! Thank you for great review and choosing W Downtown as the destination of your travel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; we do have a true unique view and location! We will definitely communicate this to Caroline! Thank you for the great comment. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you come...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I was supposed to stay for 3 nights. I ordered room service. The dish wasn't served with the same sides as listed on the menu. I broke out into hives and anaphylactic shock with my throat closing. I called guest services asking for someone in the restaurant to tell me what was actually in the dish. The employee said they'd...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ECass123
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ecass123- If you would like to discuss your experience at the W-Downtown please contact me directly at prithvi.shah@whotels.com or alternatively 646-826-8603. Warm Regards, Prith Shah

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

After reading reviews for this particular hotel after booking I was a little apprehensive about what to expect. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely porter who sorted our bags whilst we checked in. Hotel was lovely, clean and tidy and staff were very friendly. Room was larger than I was expecting which was an added bonus as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becki J
Mickey S, Director of Front Office at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Becki J - Thank you for choosing W Downtown as the destination of your travel to NYC! We are very happy that you gave us chance and very happy that we were able to exceed the expectations in regards to the room and service! I am sorry about the miscommunication about the charges; this is a hold for...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

I often take negative reviews with a grain of salt, but this is my first. I'd avoid this hotel like the plague. I'm an extremely loyal long time Starwood Platinum member, normally staying more than 75 nights a year, sometimes much more. My office in NY recently moved near this hotel, so this is my third stay, the last being...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rick W
Mickey S, Director of Front Office at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Rick W - It is with great displeasure that I read about your experience. I would like to thank you for choosing W Downtown and letting us know about your experience, however it is very clear that you did not experience the true W Downtown Experience these times. I am ashamed to see that we were not able...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Purchased through Hotwire and pleased with the value we got for the rate paid. Asked for a high floor and received it (thank you!). Also requested the reservation be put on my SPG account even though we couldn't get points, but wanted to use mobile room key. Didn't happen despite making arrangements for it in advance. Also requested a tower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
Mickey S, Director of Front Office at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi there Brian L - Thank you for staying at W Downtown! I am sorry to hear about the SPG Keyless and the view of the WTC, I am happy to see that you did get the higher floor! We are also happy to see that you enjoyed the room and that our Front Desk was great! We apologize for...

Belmont, Ca
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Nice typical smallish NYC room with modern amenities. best feature was the Bar that overlooks WTC 1 Building off the fifth floor. Very cool. Happy Hour specials. Nice view from the 20 something floor we were on on skyline.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777mechanic
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi 777mechanic! Thank you for reviewing your escape at W-Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip! Warm Regards, Prith Shah

Edegem
Reviewed 21 November 2016

stayed here for 1 night and did enjoy the stay. as we were here during the weekend, the area was quite calm. the hotel itself was nothing special, not according to other W properties that i know. what does make it worthwhile is the staff, Tracy at the Welcome Desk handled our check in very smoothly and gave us all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JunNagels
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JunNagels- Thank you for taking the time to post a candid review of your experience at W-Downtown. We are thrilled to read your comments regarding Tracey and Andrew. We are proud to share these comments with our team! All the best Prith Shah

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Hotel entrance is a black hole...literally painted all black. There is no indication when you arrive that you have to go to 5th floor to check in. Fifth floor lobby just makes you dizzy with black floors and walls and lighting. Rooms are all white and cold. Bathroom only had shower which was poor. Bed was ok but that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joaniej3
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joaniej3- We are disappointed to read of your disappointment at the W-Downtown. If you would like to further discuss your experience please do not hesitate to contact me at prithvi.shah@whotels.com. We hope for another opportunity to change your view of our property. Warm Regards, Prith Shah

nj
Reviewed 14 November 2016

okay - my big three safe, quiet & clean - great marks on all 3 - extremely helpful, friendly staff !!! - the only complaints are the rooms - they are roomy enough especially for nyc - but not user friendly for guests - the rooms are dark - i know they are supposed to be hip spaceship styled rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joisey-joe
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joisey-joe- Thank you for choosing the W-Downtown for your recent stay in NYC! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall escape and thankfull for your honest feedback and suggestions. We hope for another opportunity to serve you in the future. Warm Regards, Prith Shah

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We had travelled here in May of 2014 and just wanted to put in my two cents about the amazing experience. First and foremost New York is an experience everyone in my opinion needs to have. Specifically about the W in the downtown area, we loved that on the tiny tourist filled area of Manhattan it was the perfect place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hovik M
Prith S, Front Office Manager at W New York - Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Hovik M- We are so pleased to read your review! Thank you for staying at the W-Downtown we hope to welcome you back the next time your in NYC! Warm Regards, Prith

723 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (411)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Cool Corner Room (116)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#190 of 464 in New York City
1,712 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#306 of 464 in New York City
4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#97 of 464 in New York City
2,783 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#386 of 464 in New York City
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Financial District

Neighbourhood Profile
Financial District
At the southernmost tip of Manhattan, the Financial District is where New York City began as a center of commerce. Today, the historic streets and beautiful setting are complemented by museums, countless skyscrapers, and the heart of the Financial District, home to Wall Street and the New York Stock Exchange. Catch the Staten Island Ferry for an unbeatable view of the skyline and Statue of Liberty, or sail to Ellis Island to learn about the vital immigrant history of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
W New York - Downtown is where the Financial District power action is, rubbing shoulders with the Statue of Liberty, NYSE and Brookfield Place. Power wheel and deal at our sleek and chic Living Room Bar & Terrace with stunning unobstructed north-facing views of 1 World Trade Center. With 217 rooms and 58 floors, explore the signature W bed, innovative technology, fantastic in-room entertainment and more, as Whatever/Whenever(R) makes all big city dreams come true. ... more   less 

Additional Information about W New York - Downtown

Address: 8 Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Price Range: €192 - €507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Downtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from W New York - Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from W New York - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles CoquiLostInNY, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a room facing the world trade 1”
 of 5 bubbles david1964186273, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors minimize the street noise, though there wasn't much when I was there”
 of 5 bubbles internetethan, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor room”
 of 5 bubbles brianlV2766CF, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get rooms facing the one world trade center”
 of 5 bubbles JunNagels, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5