We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Jane

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jane
The Jane
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Jane
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,062: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the Jane for four nights on a recent solo trip to New York and can't recommend it enough to others. The room was tiny, but I was expecting that and, really, it's New York! Who wants to hang out in a room here?! The room was well appointed and clean, the bottle of water, robe and slippers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
miami beach
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Staying at the Jane is a unique experience, like being in the middle of a Wes Anderson movie - the attention to design and historic-luxe details. Yes the rooms are crazy small, but comfy and well appointed. Even the shared bathroom isn't so bad, when you consider the very-low price of the stay. The staff is lovely. I love their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agent9999
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Come back soon...

Miami
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Jane hotel is off the beaten path on the west side highway. Its where the alternative cool kids hang out due to its locatation. The hotel has an old charm feel and lots of people, europeans, rave about the hotel. For American standards, do not stay here! Rooms are small and There are BED BUGS at this joint. They...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cruzan22
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy yourself. I don't recall interacting with you personally but I'll do my best to address your concerns now. I'll start by saying that all of our guest rooms include air-conditioners. If a guest should ever have trouble operating their unit we are just a phone-call away at...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Staying at the Jane is a great way to stay in NY and get a taste of living in the city. I stayed in a one bunk room on the 3rd floor. So there's your first taste of real ny living, tiny living quarters. The room was clean. I did not like the fabric panels surrounding the bed, seemed like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katrina L
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. For guests who are not so comfortable with the shared bathroom experience we do offer Captain's Cabins which provide one full, queen or king-size bed and a private bathroom. We hope to see you again soon! Let us know if we can assist you with anything else in the meantime.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place is so special for me because of a long love story. Anyway, I was in two different rooms, I was in one of the smallest ones, the "Standard Cabin"... and this is it... it's like a ship cabin, very very small but nice. I just spent one night in there. It's a great choice for solo travelers or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikadVise
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We are thrilled to be a part of your love story. We hope to see you both again soon! Thanks for taking the time to write...

losangeles
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I thought the people who stayed at the Jane were great, i thought Gilbert and other staff mmembers were great, i thought the location was superb, i thought the room was a great bargain but i did not like trying to use the public bathrooms to find people who look like they are homeless doing their toilette or using the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RKZ90027
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. I'm glad you enjoyed getting to know Gilbert, we'll send him your best. We do employ a staff which services the common areas around the clock to prevent anyone who does not belong in the restrooms from being in the restrooms. I apologize for the boiler malfunction. While these things do happen, we certainly apologize that this...

Skokie, Illinois
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed two nights at Jane Hotel (July 2-4), other than good location, everything else was horrible. Carpet in the room is dirty, room is stuffy, so is the corridor, very noisy from corridor and other rooms. Don’t stay at Jane in hot days—no air-cond, and the fan is loud, and air is not circulating at all. Courtesy of staff is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Henryyo
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We pride ourselves on having the warmest and most friendly staff in the world, so I'm sorry if this was not your experience. We are happy to take requests from guests to accommodate them in areas of the hotel which get less traffic if at all possible. This...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It may be unfair to write a true review as I ended up not staying here. I did have a reservation, I did show up and check in, I did go up to my room. At that point I pretty much headed back to the desk and checked out. First, the place smelled moldy, and the communal bathrooms (which are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank saltshaker
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We understand that our smaller cabins are not for everyone. I would suggest giving our Captain's Cabin a shot next time. These rooms are closer to a traditional hotel room at about 250 square feet. We do employ porters who clean the common areas 24 hours a day, so I'm sorry if you did not feel this...

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2013

when arriving on a friday was greeted by drunken teenager outside who were queuing to get into the bar. the room is tiny and smelled a bit (think was the carpet).. however, was clean, great location, staff was friendly. cannot complain. think the review from "miril44" is pretty much complete. would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Takoka72
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. We're glad you enjoyed yourself. If you should ever run into a smell in your room please let us know so we can address it or find you another room. We're happy to hear that you'll be back and we're looking forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My daughter and myself spent 6 nights at the Jane. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean, we were in a bunk room which was very small, but we did know this before we arrived!!! The shared bathrooms were always clean and tidy, I never had to wait for a shower and the water was always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren W
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear that you both enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (434)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (99)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Cabin (10)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin (45)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin Queen Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Cabin (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#259 of 477 in New York City
1,299 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
1,467 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#382 of 477 in New York City
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4,514 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 477 in New York City
794 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#429 of 477 in New York City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: €80 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jane staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Allentown
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Jane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay higher up so you're away from the club downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles RachelE958, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Captains Room are nice overlooking the Hudson River but the traffic on the street can be a bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles hellotheretracy, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere and visit for the photo opportunity.”
 of 5 bubbles O8749ENamandam, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not book a standard cabin with bunks, very small, the Captains cabin is the way to go”
 of 5 bubbles seawolfau, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring ear plugs and try to get a room on a lower level with a street window.”
  • View from the bar patio
 of 5 bubbles LostPharaoh, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay