We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Jane

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Jane
The Jane
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,087: English reviews
Start your review of The Jane
 Click to rate
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed in standard cabin on the fourth floor. Tiny but great for a solo traveler who only needs a place to crash. The shared bathroom was no problem especially if you shower at night. Tip: I noted most people were showering in the morning, might want to alter your routine if you want to maximize your time. Great little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Diana, It's such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the history and your experience here at the Jane Hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

South San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To be frank, my husband and I had a completely terrible experience at the Jane, and I would NEVER come back to stay, nor would I recommend it to any of my friends/colleagues. We planned to stay for two nights, but we ended up moving after the 1st night. We even tried to move to another hotel at 2am on...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank kentwisl
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear about your experience and greatly appreciated your emailing us directly so we could address all of your concerns. We look forward to your next visit. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed 1 night 2/11/17 we had a second floor front room facing jane st and the front main hotel entrance. The room was very nice and well decorated. The problems started with the heat which we had no control of. The room became super heated and we had to open our window. A large very noisy,highly intoxicated crowd was gathered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SusanDinan
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Susan, It was a pleasure to chat with you both during your stay. We take guest concerns seriously. Rest assured we are addressing each of your concerns as discussed. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Jamie

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stylish, and with a lot of character in the details. Feels like the hotel has always been like this, although not too shabby. Nice cafe and bar, lovely staff! Didn't even mind having communal showers as they were so good looking and clean. Only minus point were the wall to wall carpet in the tiny bedroom, hesitant to walk barefoot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisabeth a
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Elisabeth, It is such a delight to hear what a good time you had here at the Jane Hotel. We look forward to your next stay. Cheers, Jamie

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel with 4 friends in the summer. We took 2 rooms with bunk beds. The rooms could not be smaller. You have space to get in and get into the bed, but as we were not hanging out in the room it was great for us. Wach bed has it's own Tv, there is a window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markpaterson747
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

So glad to hear what a good time you had! Cheers, Jamie

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are small but very comfortable. The West Village neighborhood couldn't be better. And for those who care about those things the ultra trendy Meat Packing District is just a couple of blocks away. The bathrooms and showers are always immaculate.They must clean them every half hour or so. I have stayed here several times and the service from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markwax21
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Your notice of our team means all the world! Thank you for taking the time to share. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Wishing Safe Travels, Jamie

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the (THUMBS UP)booked via booking.com cheap price great location,nice safe area,great views of the Hudson river,staff were good helpful,bathrooms were clean and not crowded ever,housekeeping was good the (THUMBS DOWN) the rooms are tiny,if you are on the jane street side you will hear the westside highway traffic 24/7,and on the weekends the bar/club guest will hoot and holla @4am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank huffy72
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

It's a pleasure to hear how much you appreciate the staff and our locale. You might enjoy the Jane Hotel Captains Cabins, which are spacious, furnished with a private bathroom, and a Full, Queen, or King sized bed based on availability at the time of arrival. As our guests stay with us, we get better at matching them to rooms....

New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's difficult to give an overall rating as this is such a quirky hotel, with tiny, TINY, closet sized rooms with shared toilets and shared bathrooms; I stayed in this type room. How can I say it's: great, excellent or poor? So I said average. The room I was in was the tiniest room I've ever been in; a dog...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NJ E
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi NJ, It's a delight to hear that you appreciate what we can do with such a small space and the value of it. Your notice of our efforts in maintaining the spaces are greatly appreciated. You might find our Captains Cabins even more enjoyable as they are spacious, include a private bathroom, and tend to be quieter. As you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm SO glad The Jane exists. I've stayed here several times, and I live in New York. Every time I stay at The Jane I am reminded that hotels in New York City do not have to be expensive, and still be nice. I swear everyone who works at this hotel should be given some sort of medal for staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awmlasasso
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

So glad to hear you have come to expect such a good time at the Jane Hotel! We look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jamie

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at The Jane and loved it. The location is not far from the subway and there is an abundance of bars and eating places within a very short walking distance. The hotel itself is quirky but classy and does not feel cheap or pretentious at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will D
Jamie O, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review

Hi Will, We are so delighted to hear what a good time you had staying here at the Jane Hotel! Thank you; we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Jamie

642 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
Room/Suite (107)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (109)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Bunk Bed Cabin (10)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin (45)
Viewed
Captain's Cabin Queen Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Cabin (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 464 in New York City
1,495 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#258 of 464 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 464 in New York City
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4,614 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#433 of 464 in New York City
807 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#392 of 464 in New York City
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Village

Neighbourhood Profile
West Village
Stretching from Sixth Avenue to the Hudson River, the West Village is one of the city’s most coveted addresses. Full of trendy shops, historic taverns, and cozy restaurants set amid 19th century architecture, this neighbourhood has a unique old-world feel. You won’t find a more picturesque location in Manhattan. Without the traditional city grid layout, it’s easy to get lost here, but that’s part of the fun as you stroll down elegant narrow streets with beautiful brownstones. When you need a break, you can always stop in at one of the many quaint eateries or cafes to soak in the atmosphere, or head to the western edge of the neighborhood to enjoy magnificent waterfront views while taking a leisurely walk in Hudson River Park.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Price Range: €91 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jane staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
San Antonio

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from The Jane staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“request a rear room for quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SusanDinan, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing Jane Street instead of the back of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles Markwax21, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would probably suggest getting a "captain's cabin". Don't be afraid to ask them to move your room to a different one.”
 of 5 bubbles awmlasasso, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a large room. Not a bunk.”
 of 5 bubbles J3434QOpatriciaf, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room far away from the club downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles ANewDayVegan, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5