We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West

Save
Share
350 W 40th St, New York City, NY 10018
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
US$188
View deal
DoubleTree
Expedia.comUS$261
Orbitz.com
View all 21 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (965)
Room & Suite (293)
Videos (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 26/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Updated 26/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#444 of 539 in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York - Times Square West, just steps from the Broadway Theater District. Along with stunning views of the Empire State Building, our New York Times Square hotel offers an enviable location near Rockefeller Center, the Chrysler Building, Madison Square Garden and other iconic attractions. The Port Authority Terminal is moments away, and the Jacob Javits Center is a short walk - perfect when visiting for a convention. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you with a signature warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Settle into a guest room with a 40-inch HDTV, premium cable, coffeemaker and well-equipped workspace. WiFi access keeps you connected and blackout curtains ensure a great night's sleep. Upgrade for a higher floor, prime city views, satellite TV and a walk-in shower.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
449Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
140Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2808Reviews267Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 756
  • 806
  • 500
  • 354
  • 392
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
EricInSF wrote a review 21 May
Los Angeles, California174 contributions78 helpful votes
Honestly, it was the lowest priced mid-range hotel I could find in midtown, so I booked it. Plus you get those awesome cookies while staying at a Doubletree. The check-in was friendly and swift. The rooms are small, but typical by NYC standards. The rooms are well maintained and very clean. The bed was super comfortable. I was a bit concerned, since my room backed up to the elevator. But I didn't hear the elevator at all! With my gold level Hilton Honors status, I received $18 a day credit for the restaurant, which provides a nice breakfast. Not a large menu, but almost anything you could want. The hotel is right across from the Port Authority bus terminal, which has its pluses and minuses, but we didn't have any problems. I'd definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Room 3505 backs up to the elevator, but surprisingly I didn't hear the elevator at all
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 2 days ago
EricInSF, thank you for your loyalty to our brand and for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West. We are glad you were pleased with the attentive service our front desk associates delivered and that you enjoyed the delicious Doubletree cookies. We are also delighted to learn that you were happy with our well-kept accommodations with comfortable beds and the food that we offer at our restaurant. Thank you for sharing your review with fellow travelers and for your excitement about returning; we look forward to your next visit. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Meg I wrote a review Aug 2021
Varna, Bulgaria86 contributions81 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The only thing is they don't enforce masks in elevators, lobby and public areas. At one point, there was probably 50-60 people in the lobby, almost all maskless - kinda scary. Otherwise, they did their best to accommodate our needs. The maintenance guy came to fix the AC within minutes. Value for the quality and location is absolutely amazing! I was super impressed by the isolation. I could barely hear anything from the street, possibly only some really loud ambulances passing by the same street. Would probably stay there again if I come to NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 24 Aug 2021
megitooo1992, Thank you for being a guest at our hotel and for sharing your views with others. It was delightful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West. Please know it has been a top priority to coordinate our efforts throughout our hotel to ensure continuity in keeping our guests safe. Therefore, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we may take proper action. Thank you once more for your comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Ben Elie Hotel Manager
Read more
Lina K wrote a review 21 May
Bronx, New York1 contribution
Aaron Caraballo and Michael Quinde provided exceptional service throughout our visit. They were very helpful, friendly and went above and beyond to to make our stay more memorable. Jaden, Sonam and Mustafa were also extremely welcoming. All in all a pleasant stay except for the small rooms, the fridge not working and the AC being very loud.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 3 days ago
linakX8524UQ, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West. We especially want to thank you for acknowledging our devoted, attentive staff. We will surely share your compliments with all the associates you mentioned for a job well done. However, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the amount of space in your room. Please know our front desk is always available to help make you as comfortable as possible. We are also evaluating the concern you had with the fridge and A/c unit as we are committed to offering better service for our guests. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to NYC. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
RTS wrote a review 20 May
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Arrived at Hotel for a 3 night stay. We paid extra online for an upgraded room. When checking in we were told there would be no room clean and we would have to go to reception if we wanted fresh towels; usual excuse of covid given for the lack of service/cleaning. When we got to our room it was very basic, I checked with reception that the upgrade had been taken into account however I was informed that all the rooms were the same in size and decor but it was for a view (we did t have a view!) I asked if the “upgrade” could be taken off but they said there was no other rooms available now. No water in room, no fridge in room and just one minute shampoo for two guests. All in all sadly lacking. We don’t plan on spending much time in the room! ! 😞
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for being so specific in your evaluation of our hotel. We regret your disappointment with some of our services not being available on a regular basis during your stay due to the current circumstances. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation in these challenging times. We are also sorry you were not pleased with your room. Your feedback is important to us as it helps to improve our guest experience going forward. We do hope you will stay with us another time so we can provide you with a much more satisfying experience. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Clàudius wrote a review 17 May
8 contributions1 helpful vote
From the minute we walked in we knew we had made the right choice. Aaron greeted us with food ( had my attention immediately ) Mustafa checked us in with professionalism and speed and we loved the room allocated. I have nothing to complain about even when our breakfast was forgotten one morning and had to re-order, it happens, oh and having to wait for a few more minutes longer for a lift, didn't bother us at all Expected when the hotel is busy! The shower was phenomenal nice amenities... When we asked for housekeeping, it was done and our room was cleaned. Great location, yes it's in Hells kitchen and yes you will see homelessness in close proximity but that's hard to escape. But it also gave it its realism. On the door step of time sq, walking distance to central park and all the other main attractions that New York have to offer. If ever we shall return, I will stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
Claude J, thank you for being a guest at our hotel and for sharing your views with others. It was delightful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West. We are thrilled you loved our location, excellent service, and spotless rooms. We will surely share your compliments with Aaron and Mustafa for a job well done. Thank you once more for your comments, and we cannot wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Luigi G wrote a review 16 May
Stanmore28 contributions40 helpful votes
To say the hotel ruined my holiday is an understatement. I took my wife to NY as part of her 50th birthday present. I called the hotel a week before hand to advise them of this. They said they would have something organised for her in our room. This never happened. However Dennis (who was on the front desk) and his colleagues did apologise and sorted a bottle of champagne for her. However after that it went down hill. We had to ask for shampoo/soap on a daily basis, which you shouldn’t have to do. The hotel had run out of milk/cream for coffee. But the real heartache was that I had organised a meal on the Saturday at NOBU for her. We had been out for the day, and went back to the hotel to shower and change. We couldn’t get in our room (on the 36th floor) as they had a glitch. This glitch lasted for hours, which meant we couldn’t go to the restaurant, as we not dressed appropriately. I obviously made a formal complaint the next day, and was told that I would get a refund for one night. REALLY? DO YOU THINK THIS IS GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE AFTER YOU HAVE RUINED MY WIFE’S BIRTHDAY MEAL. You are only 50 once. Getting that from the hotel was a fight, and if anything they should have moved heaven and earth to rebook us in NOBU, and pay for the meal the next day. This wasn’t even an option. I also had to pay $50 to NOBU as we couldn’t attend the restaurant. I would urge anyone thinking of booking here, DON’T DO IT. Seriously, think twice before you part with your money. I have been at other 4 star hotels, were the service was of a far higher standard, and I genuinely wished I had re-booked with them.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Go to another hotel. It will be less stressful.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
708luigig, please accept our apologies for any disappointment you felt during your stay while you were here to celebrate your wife's birthday. Providing outstanding customer service to every one of our guests is always our top priority and is something we pride ourselves on. Therefore, we are genuinely sorry to learn that this was not your experience, and we understand your frustration regarding the various issues you described. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your and your wife's trust and welcome you both back the next time your travels bring you to the area. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Derek H wrote a review 16 May
Sunderland, United Kingdom2 contributions
On arrival the hotel foyer was very busy, got allocated our room quickly enough, we had room 705 which worked for fine for us , but if you want a room with a view this is not the one for you,the elevator can get very busy. got some great advice from Carlos the concierge " Don't do that" in the finest NY accent I've ever heard, Carlos you should be in movies , you are a credit to the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Hells kitchen road and Times square, we regularly had breakfast in the Westway diner just around the corner the service and food is excellent. Finally our visit to NYC was everything and more, we prepared a itinerary before we went and it worked excellently. Finally I would recommend this hotel particularly for its location, can't wait to go back and would book this hotel again. All the best to Carlos, keep up the good work, and don't do that! someday you maybe a Peaky Blinder.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Low floor for when the elevator is busy, high floor if you want a view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
73derekh, thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read that you found our location to be perfect for your plans! We are also happy that you were impressed with the beautiful views and the service provided by Carlos. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to having you return to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West the next time you visit our exciting city. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Iain H wrote a review 15 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel was a 15 minute walk from Penn Station, we caught the LIRR train from Jamaica Station to there after a short trip on the air train from JFK, it was a positive that the hotel was easy to find. On arrival we were given warm cookies which was another positive. Room was small but as expected for a hotel in our budget range near times square, ideal for couples that don't want to spend too long in their room as we didn't come to New York to sit in bed. Lift system was broken on our 2nd day which led to a half hour round trip just to get a cup of tea from the reception shop/ bar. The only reason I had to go get the cup of tea from downstairs was due to the tea and coffee provided in the room not being properly replenished the previous day. Was going to ask the receptionist to give me access to the stairs however another guy was asking this and the receptionist was rude to him. Room was clean although towels were a bit tired but never the less changed everyday. Great location for walking into Times Square.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
Iain, thank you for sharing the details of your stay. We are pleased you liked our location and delicious Doubletree cookies. However, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the amount of space in your room and with some of the in-room amenities. Our priority is to give each guest an experience as perfect as possible; please know our front desk is always available to help make you as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you the next time you are in our area. Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Stephen C wrote a review 15 May
Liverpool, United Kingdom133 contributions113 helpful votes
Stayed here as a couple from 8th-12th May 22. Check in was fine as we checked in late on the Sunday afternoon but disappointingly we where informed that the rooftop bar is only open Thurs-Sat which was sad. Staff nice enough. Had room 1209 on the 12th floor, was in a reasonable condition, clean in both the room and the bathroom. A/C also worked with no problem and the room was quiet enough on all nights so we could get a good night sleep. You can't really fault the location, that's one of the strong points of the hotel. Its not far from times square at all and your literally a five minute walk to 42nd St Subway station. This was perfect for us as we used the subway to get to and from the airport and throughout or stay. Unfortunately there where a few issues during our stay that resulted in me not awarding 5/5. As indicated earlier the rooftop bar is only open over Thurs to Saturdays. A bit unfortunate. Shower pressure in the bathroom was dreadful. This might be a difference in expectation, as someone from Europe i'm used to having shower with good pressure but i cant say in my room that the pressure of the shower was acceptable. The shower done the job but i had to stay in the shower a lot longer in the mornings. I think the issue with the lifts also needs a mention. If you have any intention of leaving your room after 8am then you will be waiting a good while for a lift to stop at your floor that will have space for you to enter in. The lifts are painfully slow and where always full. Myself and my partner had to frequently press the up and down buttons to call a lift, and take a ride up and then down the building in order to get a space in a lift to take us to the lobby. Definitely one to be aware of. For the money paid and the location was an average stay due to the issues highlighted. For us, the hotel is more a place to sleep/wash on holiday and not a major part of the experience but this might be different for others so just be aware. Would i stay again? I would probably have this hotel as a 'plan B' option but its still a solid choice for those who want value and location more than anything else.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try to leave the hotel in the morning before 8am to avoid the busy period for the lifts
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
376stephenc, thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We are pleased you liked our service, location, and spotless rooms. However, we apologize for the wait time issues with the elevators and the inconvenience that this caused. Your frustration is fully understandable, and we are very grateful for your patience. We are evaluating the concern you had with the shower, as we are committed to offering better service for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Big Apple! Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Martin aryeh W wrote a review 14 May
Jeruslem356 contributions264 helpful votes
I spent one night in this property as my usual hotel was fully booked . First impressions are of a very busy and loud reception , but the check in was efficiently dealt with. My room (1413) was well presented and was modern and very clean with good facilities by NYC standards the room was reasonably spacious. The location of the property is convenient being in mid town with a wide variety of shops restaurants and transport links nearby and not too many pan handlers . In short I would definitely recommend this property .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Responded 1 week ago
Martin, thank you for being a guest at our hotel and for sharing your views with others. It was delightful to read that you loved our efficient check-in service, location, and well-appointed rooms while you were here for an overnight visit. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Big Apple! Margarita Pavlova General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$195 - US$354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Times Square / Midtown West / Garment District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
612
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Nearby attractions include Mission Escape Games (0.3 km), Exit Escape Room (0.4 km), and Shop Gotham NYC Shopping Tours (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Conveniently located restaurants include Liberty Bagels Midtown, Los Tacos No. 1, and Il Punto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York Times Square West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.