We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square

Save
Share
339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
Expedia.com
US$197
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
No prepayment needed
Priceline
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
No prepayment needed
Hotels.comUS$197
CandlewoodSuitesUS$199
AlgotelsUS$219
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (653)
Room & Suite (477)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#272 of 519 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Discover NYC Manhattan from Our Extended Stay Hotel Surrounded by the electrifying Times Square, Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square is the perfect NYC location for your extended stay. When blending business with leisure, our NYC hotel is convenient to major businesses in Times Square and the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to "the Big Apple" for just an overnight stay or for a long stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites with full kitchen facilities will make your trip a smashing success. Our Times Square address places you within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, Hudson Yard, Ernst & Young, New York Times Building and Amazon among others. Our All-Suite hotel offers comfortable work spaces and free high-speed Internet access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
365Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
142Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2105Reviews84Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 913
  • 858
  • 207
  • 60
  • 67
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Axel wrote a review 1 Feb
Los Angeles, California27 contributions14 helpful votes
This hotel would get a 1 star were it not for the fact that the room size was good and, at least, everything in it worked. The staff really left a lot to be desired. I realize this hotel is a budget pick (I elected it because I needed a fridge) but wow, the people who work here have zero training. And the thing is, it's everyone. From the girl at the desk screaming to her colleague a complaint about a guest (she was apparently annoyed they asked to speak to someone else who answered the phone previously? She began to go off about how this was "her hotel" and that she was the manager. It was weird and very unprofessional) to the other desk agents who seemed uninterested in even engaging with guests and were distant, to the housekeeping woman who didn't realize I spoke Spanish while she talked about me in the elevator with her, (she didn't say anything particular rude, but it's still inappropriate) this hotel is being barely kept together, and not by the staff. To their credit: the shower was hot and functional and the HVAC unit worked perfectly and quickly. The kitchenette area was missing a lot of things, but they had at least a plate or two and everything was in working order, so there's that. I kept trying to call the property after I left to ask about something I may have left behind. The phone will ring and ring and ring. The people working at the desk must really not be getting paid a competitive wage because there is ZERO effort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide wonderful hospitality to all of our guests; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our services going forward. We are truly sorry and hope you will consider giving us a second chance in the future. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CDKing wrote a review Jul 2022
Boston, MA89 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I was on a day trip to Manhattan and I missed my flight home. I'm an IHG Platinum member and this was the cheapest points option since prices were high for a last minute stay. I booked the hotel around 10pm for same day stay as I was waiting for the LIRR at Jamaica station. It was good proximity of Penn Station and the OurBus back to Boston. Check in was a breeze. I was assigned a room on the 4th floor at the end of the hall by the stairs so it was quiet. I chose the snack as the elite welcome amenity was a water, root beer and a bag of chips. Its a small hotel so not a lot of rooms on each floor. I didn't take advantage of many of the amenities since it was just a quick overnight. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the AC and the fridge worked. There was a 7-11 down the block where I grabbed a beer before bed and water for the bus ride home the next day. In the morning I walked around the neighborhood for late breakfast at one of NYCs famous halal food carts. I forgot how much I hate Times Square so thankfully the hotel was far enough away to avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments about our hotel. As a member of the IHG Rewards Club, we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We are truly sorry that you were stranded at the airport due to a flight cancellation. However, we are glad to read that we were able to turn your difficult situation into a pleasant one with our comfortable rooms and ideal location. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon at Candlewood Suites New York City-Times Square. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob13501 wrote a review Jan 2023
New Hartford, New York120 contributions15 helpful votes
This is my default choice of hotel to stay in NYC. The location is good, between Penn Station a couple blocks to the south and Port Authority to the North. Times Square is a couple blocks to the East. So, it’s accessible if you’re will to walk for around 10 mins from a subway station. Both 8th and 9th Ave are more relaxed for exploring, especially on weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a little breakfast and coffee shop very close to the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rob13501, Thank you for returning to the Candlewood Suites New York City-Times Square. There is no better compliment than a guest who keeps coming back time after time. We are so glad you continue to enjoy our location. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you again Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicole B wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
I won’t be frequenting this hotel again. So first of all, the mattress sagged so much on the middle that I ended up sleeping on the recliner. The pillows were basically pancakes that smelled so musty that I had to use my sweatshirt as a pillowcase. In fact, one of the pillowcases had a sus brown stain and the pillow itself was all yellowed from people’s accumulation of sweat and oils. I was super skeeved out because there was a handprint on the headboard, im guessing someone there before us was having a fun time. there was also only 1 roll of toilet paper in the room and housekeeping never came at all in the 3 days we were there so we had to buy our own. to top it off the elevators broke and no one bothered to say anyyhing so we had to go up and down like 20 flights of steps.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear Voyager612608, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Exceptional service for every guest is our highest priority; therefore, we apologize that you had an unsatisfactory experience. We have shared your feedback with our team and appreciate your patience. We value you as a guest and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen K wrote a review Dec 2022
Just back from yet another stay at Candlewood Suites Times Square - been here on 4 previous occasions so I think that says it all about this hotel; the staff are excellent and nothing is too much for them; the rooms are spotless and a good size, the kitchen area is a bonus if you don't feel like eating out all the time; it's in a great location and ideally situated for shopping, theatres, bars and restaurants. I would also like to thank Laura - Duty Manager - when I checked in November 22nd she recognised me straight away - WOW!! is that customer service for sure - given that she must have welcomed numerous people to the hotel I was greatly impressed by this welcome; I'll be back in March for St. Patrick's Day; to everyone at Candlewood Suites have a very Happy Christmas and very best wishes for the New Year, Helen
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 9 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest once again and for taking the time to review your experience at Candlewood Suites New York City-Times Square. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and that you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. We work hard to provide high levels of service, so we will share your compliments with our team to let them know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
I deleted my account wrote a review Nov 2022
Denver, Colorado3 contributions
Not a bad place because they are a lot of fun things to do. I was only here to meet up with my colleagues, but other things caught my interest. Well, I am a globetrotter and that was how I got to find out the place. The suite has a support system, but if you need assistance, you can ask me but please, make it brief.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 19 Nov 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites New York City-Times Square. Your review was a pleasure to read, and we were delighted to learn that the service provided by our associates surpassed your expectations. We will enjoy sharing your compliments with our team to recognize them for a job well done. Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Munrovius wrote a review Oct 2022
West Springfield, Massachusetts74 contributions56 helpful votes
This hotel is an embarrassment to the IHG brand. It was marginally acceptable but certainly not worth $350 per night. On check-in, the tiny lobby was overflowing with guests waiting because rooms with a 3:00 check-in time were not ready until well after 4:00. Same situation the next day, along with a 10 minute wait for the elevator. The so-called "heating system" rattled and blew out cold air directly into your face in the bed. The toilet dripped internally and flushed itself several times during the night. It takes at least five minutes of cold water before the hot water appears in the shower. And bear in mind this hotel is not really "in" Times Square, just remotely in the general vicinity, and it is in the middle of a dark block. I have stayed in worse places, but not for this price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize that your room was not ready for you when you arrived. We understand the frustration and inconvenience of having to wait for your room was made available to you. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to help us better our guest services. Also, we apologize for disappointing you and for the issues you encountered in your accommodations. We have followed up with the concerned teams to improve our performance in these areas. We understand your frustration and appreciate your patience in these matters. We hope you will return so that we can have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
This was my first trip to this hotel since the start of the pandemic, but I have stayed here a half dozen times prior to the pandemic while covering events at the Javits. I was shocked by how radically this hotel went downhill in just 2 years. Entered room 1403 and felt it was too cold. Turned on the heat and the room immediately smelled like burning and set off the smoke alarm. Went down and told this to the friendly desk clerk, who said she’d send up maintenance in 5-10 minutes to check it out and make sure it was safe to use. They didn’t come in 5-10 minutes or even 5-10 hours, so the room was cold all night and we gave up on asking the staff for help with anything. The TV in the room didn’t power on or work at all, nor did the bedside lamp. The toilet handle had to be held down for 5+ seconds every time or else the flush failed completely. The bathroom door was extremely difficult to close and then took a Herculean effort to reopen. I legitimately feared being trapped in the bathroom, as ridiculous as it sounds. I didn’t trust their unsecured, password-free network so I didn’t use the internet. There were disinfectant dispensers all over the hotel, but on no day of my trip did any of them have anything in them. Thankfully, the elevator was fast and the microwave, refrigerator and freezer all worked. But an overall awful experience that will be my last to one of my previously favorite hotels in the city. Abysmal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 9 Oct 2022
Dear David, Thank you for making our hotel your home away from home. We apologize for disappointing you and for the service concerns you encountered while here. We have followed up with our teams to improve our performance in these areas. We understand your frustration and appreciate your patience in these matters. We hope we will have another chance to provide you with the excellent service and accommodations that you should have experienced on this visit. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rossi wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
Where do I start, from the linen, and towels to the walls of the room had hair everywhere. Even after requesting new towels, those had hair within them as well. None of the front desk agents nor the manager notified guests at check-in that they would not be offering housekeeping services, only if your stay is 7 days or more. The business center computers didn't work. Wi-Fi service was in and out. The guest laundry room looked more like the housekeeping laundry as housekeeping staff used the washers/dryers for hotel laundry. Some of the machines do not work or had missing doors. After reporting the issues and the lack of service to the manager on duty, she wasn’t willing to compensate or come to a resolve. This was the worst hotel stay I’ve experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 28 Sep 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate you choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your concerns. We apologize for disappointing you and for the service concerns you encountered while here. We have followed up with our front desk and housekeeping teams to improve our performance in these areas. We understand your frustration and appreciate your patience in these matters. We hope we will have another chance to provide you with the excellent service and accommodations that you should have experienced on this visit. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
We were using this as a day hotel but when we turned up the room was not ready as it had been booked the night before, when we eventually checked in the room door would not open as it was warped eventually with advice from the staff and brute force it did open, the bathroom door in the room did not close fully. The air conditioning sounded like a jumbo jet taking off so goodness knows what it would have been like trying to sleep. As we were leaving they were posting a notice to the front door saying there would be no water the following day for 8 hours from 8am. If you do have the misfortune to stay here do not use the taxi ordering service they offer as a $50 fare to JKK becomes $77 dollars because of hotel pick up supplement. The whole place needs significant maintenance and tlc. We would not have wanted to be returning to the hotel late at night given the surrounding neighbourhood.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Agency / Consultant at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Responded 5 Sep 2022
Dear MichaelbS8043RQ, e appreciate you choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your concerns. We apologize for disappointing you and for the unsatisfactory service you encountered. We are also sorry that the accommodations were not up to your expectations and regret the inconvenience it caused. Feedback such as yours allows us to continually monitor and improve our guest experience. We hope we will have another chance to provide you with the excellent service and accommodations that you should have experienced on this visit. Warmest regards, Laurie Misko General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$146 - US$330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
candlewood suites new york city times square hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Times Square / Midtown West / Garment District / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
188
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANDLEWOOD SUITES NEW YORK CITY- TIMES SQUARE - Now €172 (Was €̶2̶0̶0̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Nearby attractions include Style Room NYC Shopping Tour Experiences (0.5 km), Mission Escape Games (0.3 km), and Exit Escape Room (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Tacos No. 1, Liberty Bagels Midtown, and Angelina Bakery NYC.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (5.2 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (5.2 km), and Hamilton Park (2.5 km).
Is Candlewood Suites New York City- Times Square accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.