We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Lake Inn & Resort

Save
Share
86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Expedia.com
US$144
View deal
Official Hotel
US$122
View deal
PricelineUS$144
Hotels.comUS$144
TravelocityUS$144
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (137)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (316)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Flat Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
A Cherished Mountain Retreat with Hospitality You’ll Love. At Highland Lake Inn & Resort, we offer guests a wealth of amenities and options, all at an uncompromising value. There are no other hotels or resorts near Asheville, NC, quite like us—encompassing such a wide range of enticing amenities and accommodations. Poised atop 26 scenic acres on a private lake in the town of Flat Rock, NC in Western North Carolina, our goal is to deliver an authentic mountain experience that’s as vast and varied as these storied hills. Experience a resort that is rich in history, passionate about the environment and eager to deliver warm hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
543Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 122
  • 38
  • 23
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy S wrote a review Nov 2022
Columbia, South Carolina2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This place is a hidden gem! Booked here for my husband’s birthday weekend after a VRBO gone wrong and everything was perfect! We got a balcony room in the Lodge and it was wonderful. The whole property is spotless, well-maintained, cozy, nicely decorated, and absolutely lovely. The on-site restaurant, Seasons, is delicious for dinner (which we ordered to-go and enjoyed in our room) and for the delicious full Southern breakfast buffet they offer each morning. The staff was all very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect as it’s only a few minutes away from downtown Hendersonville. We can’t wait to come back again for my birthday and make staying here a new tradition!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Compeau, Owner at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to seeing you soon to celebrate your birthday allowing us to be at your service again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
triphappy07 wrote a review Nov 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia55 contributions38 helpful votes
Lovely grounds and a very pretty spot. We stayed in one of the cottages. Unfortunately the heat did not work well the first night and we were cold (was fixed the next day). It was uncomfortable and the thermostat also kept falling off the wall. The cottage itself is definitely "rustic" , and a bit on the worn side. For $500 per night was hoping for something a bit nicer and in better condition for guests. The grounds are really beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Britt Combest, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your input and I'm glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. I apologize that the thermostat control malfunctioned during your visit. We replaced it immediately the next day as we learned of the issue. If you decide to visit our area again, I'd love the opportunity to help ensure you have a comfortable and wonderful stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FloridaBelle16 wrote a review Nov 2022
Orlando, Florida26 contributions13 helpful votes
I had a balcony room in the “lodge”. The front desk person was very nice and welcoming. The room was quaint and large. I was disappointed that the king bed is not actually a king bed as advertised but 2 singles pushed together. I had to sleep on one side or the other and couldn’t sprawl in the middle without feeling the uncomfortable center split between the two. I went back to the desk to ask if there were any true King beds in the lodge and I was told no because they like to be able to split them into singles when needed. That would have been nice to know before booking the reservation because it was one of the main reasons why I reserved it. I didn’t have time to explore the grounds, just unloaded and went to the room. While the room looked very clean and tidy, it did have a bit of a musty/mildewy smell. Unfortunately, something inside the room set off my allergies horribly to the point that I was wheezing and sneezing with itchy eyes throughout the night. I almost contemplated leaving or sleeping in my car but found a cloth mask I had and put that on to sleep. While I really wanted to like the room, I probably would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Britt Combest, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. I apologize that you did not find the bed comfortable. We do use a configuration that allows our King beds to be split for guests that have that preference. Our Guest Services Manager is reviewing that room to ensure that the bed is properly situated and comfortable and will make any adjustments warranted. We were unable to detect a smell or anything that would affect allergies, but I've alerted housekeeping to be aware. We do have many types of hardwood trees in Western North Carolina that give some people allergy troubles. If you decide to visit the area again, please call and ask for me directly and I will do my best to ensure a comfortable stay for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ignacio W wrote a review Nov 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We have been staying at Highland lake for seven years. We love the property very relaxing, love walking the property to the lake and sitting there (so peaceful) love feeding the goats and it is close to everything. We stayed at the Willow cottage and it had been recently updated (Beautifully done). We look forward to our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early. Enjoy Hendersonville and DuPont Triple Falls
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laura R wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We had an excellent dinner at the restaurant on property one night after being in the area. All of our food was amazing. Easily one of the best prime steaks I’ve ever had. Our waitress was great and our food came out hot and fast. Would definitely recommend going there for a nice meal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sharon F wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
Our family celebrated a wedding nearby and some stayed in the cabins, some in the lodge and some in the Woodward House. It’s a very peaceful setting with a lake and an in ground pool. A full breakfast buffet is served every day with anything you can think of that is included with your stay. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I would definitely stay there again on our next trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Britt Combest, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason H wrote a review Sep 2022
Denver, North Carolina57 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for two nights for our 29th anniversary. This is a nice place to stay. I feel it's made out on their website to be a little more than it actually is. Rooms in the Woodward house are dated. Clean, but in need of a make over. At least the Hummingbird suite was. The grounds are in need of some up keep. Lots of piles of mulch, or cut down trees. We walked out to the dock on the small lake...it's about to fall in. Things around the resort are confusing...and when we checked inn we were giving very little info. For the price..$735 for two nights...I'll probably look elsewhere next time we visit the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
pbcusc wrote a review Aug 2022
Sedona, Arizona14 contributions1 helpful vote
From my check in until I left, the staff was so kind and helpful. Scott, was a special help, even taking the time to check on me. Unfortunately I became ill on this trip and couldn’t take advantage of all this resort offers. They were very understanding of my early check out due to illness. I was accompanied by my service dog who was well received. The restaurant offers great food. I will be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review! We are so sorry you became ill during your stay but do hope you'll return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shira G wrote a review Aug 2022
Hollywood, Florida7 contributions
Beautiful gem of a resort hidden away in Flat Rock. Stayed for two nights and enjoyed the walking trails, canoeing, goat shed, and organic garden. The resort is reminiscent of Catskill style resorts and gives a “campy” feel. Lots of hammocks, reading nooks, swings, and outdoor seating. Season’s restaurant is lovely and offers a delicious lunch menu perfect for those staying on property. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our bed was very comfortable and the Woodward Cottage was adorable with a communal kitchen and sitting areas. The only downside was that our bathroom was very small and not well ventilated. There was a kind of dampness in the room-our towels did not dry overnight- which was accompanied by a musty smell. Nothing horrible, but could be improved upon. Also, bring your own hair conditioner, because the resort does not supply any.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own hair conditioner. Use the resort’s lake to canoe or kayak, it is beautiful! Just...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steven Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and were able to have a nice, relaxing couples weekend. We are looking to improve upon the bathroom and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thanks for choosing Highland Lake Inn & Resort for your recent visit and we hope you will join us again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara B wrote a review Jul 2022
Williamsburg, Virginia88 contributions84 helpful votes
We stayed here for the first time based on positive reviews and we were not disappointed. The lodge is old fashioned but delightful and super clean. The rooms are comfortable and the lodge is very nice with lots to do on rainy afternoons. The best features of the resort are the landscaping and the lake. Peaceful and beautiful, the grounds were so relaxing and inspiring. Season’s Restaurant was great for breakfast. The staff are very nice and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We enjoyed the Lodge with a nice balcony overlooking the woods.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, Sales at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Thank you Barbara for your review, and we are thrilled that your choice to stay with us for the first time was 5 star worthy! We look forward to seeing you for a return visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highland lake hotel flat rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsFlat Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HIGHLAND LAKE INN & RESORT - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Flat Rock, NC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elijah Mountain Gem Mine and Goat Farm (7.8 km), Flat Rock Playhouse (1.3 km), and Mast Store (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Binion's Roadhouse, McFarlan Bakery, and Kilwins Hendersonville.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Highland Lake Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.