We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mill House Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mill House Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mill House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Gaston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stumbled upon Mill House while looking around Priceline for a great deal for our mountain trip 4 years ago. We have a family of 5 so I love finding spots with great prices that help make it affordable for us to travel often. From the moment I booked I was impressed. I received a confirmation email and also a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vgraddick
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Wow- thanks for the review! We appreciate your detail and are sure it will help other customers. We look forward to your return! More 

Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Reservation and front desk people seem very nice. We chose this place because it was on a lake and has availability to picnic tables, canoes, and paddle boats. Parking was on the back side of the building. We had to carry our things between two buildings to get to the front of the building to our room. There was no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AJPL
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for staying and for leaving a review. More 

Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Mill House Lodge is located in a quaint village in W NC mountains, Flat Rock. A variety of rental choices around a small lake. Single motel rooms, suites, apartments or home. Pets are also welcome for extra fees. We love that there are canoes and paddle boats for our use at no extra fees, and a nice sized swimming pool... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed review and for mentioning additional things to do in the area. Please come backhand see us again! More 

Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Great place to stay! Rooms were modest but very clean and nice. Very close to Local towns of Flat Rock and Hendersonville. Great Views and a very nice lake. Pay in advance. Only downside was no phone in the room,but that's what cell phones are for!

Helpful?
Thank foodismypassion729
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! Glad you got to enjoy the views and local area. Please come again! More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed here for 1 night on a tour of NC and I felt like I had walked on to the set of Dirty Dancing. It is a throwback to holiday resorts of earlier times but great fun nonetheless. Our room looked directly on to the lake and was clean if a bit dated and that was my only negative... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jellybean7788
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Dirty Dancing was filmed not far from here and the remake is in progress! We are making updates slowly but surely. Thanks for staying and glad to hear the customer service was good. Thank you! More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Okay, this property is nice and the suite we had could have accommodated up to 7 people (we had a trio). The room is decorated in a homey fashion, nothing glamorous. But the customer service really needs a brush up. One of the selling points of the lodge is wifi. But the password we were given didn't work for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SueBee19
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry about your wifi experience...unfortunately there is not a lot we can do when the wifi isn't working well. We have had reviews that say it worked great, so it can be a problem with the provider when it is slow or spotty. We're sorry that it came off as a bad attitude, though. Thank you for your review! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

They have several blocks and mine was facing the lake. Didn't get a chance the paddle boat or kayak. Room was modest, clean and comfortable. Quiet surroundings. There was no phone in the room so you can't contact the office if you had an emergency. The office closes at night. Payment in advance upon checking in.

Helpful?
1 Thank James P
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We hope you'll get a chance to come back and be able to let out on the water. More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a very relaxing place to stay. We were in our own lodge with kitchen, two bedrooms, living room for having friends over and a front porch that overlooks the lake. Our room was very quiet and set up so you can't hear the next door guests in your bedroom. It was a very hot day, but the air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chrissy M
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this great, detailed review! Glad you were able to take advantage of the lake and that your dog was able to be with you. We'd love to see your photos on our Facebook page if you haven't shared them already. Thanks! More 

Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

First i would like to say the grounds was beauitful. We went in to check in she gave us our key when we could not find the room we went back in and she pointed us to a door. We went in to room 101. It was horrible. Dark musky. The windows would not raise. The steps that lead up... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there- sorry you had issues with your stay. We have to say that it is posted that no alcohol is allowed at the pool. Sorry you felt like teenagers on spring break but several people complained to the office about the noise, so we had to had to try to do something about the noise level. More 

Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I booked this because it was fairly close to Dupont State Recreational Forest and had the most reasonable rates. I had three adults but wanted the most economical room so I chose the Jordan lodge. The room had 2 double beds, a small dinette table, microwave, small refrigerator and small gas stove. The room had a coffee pot and some... More 

Helpful?
Thank JGK930
MyMHL, Public Relations Manager at Mill House Lodge, responded to this review

Great! Thanks for the very thorough review and including that you were able to look at other rooms. We are always happy to let people see our other options when possible. Can't wait to have you back...we can help you get Biltmore tickets, too, if you need. More 

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flat Rock
1.2 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.4 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
79 reviews
4.2 km away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
305 reviews
7.6 km away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
661 reviews
7.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our tranquil lake setting is a haven for those seeking lodging in a casual, family resort atmosphere with the unhurried pace of a mountain retreat. A perfect place for honeymoons, anniversaries, family reunions, small group meetings or a quiet restorative getaway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mill House Lodge

Address: 1150 W Blue Ridge Rd, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9707
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Flat Rock
Price Range: €75 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mill House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mill House Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tryon, North Carolina
Charlotte, North Carolina

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mill House Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a room with a view is a good idea”
 of 5 bubbles joeyeatsout, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles O9464YPangelaw, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are best!”
 of 5 bubbles Vgraddick, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You may want to ask for a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles SueBee19, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I would choose the lodges across the dam. Not as many guests and you have a more secluded feel.”
 of 5 bubbles chrissym507, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay