We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capitol Reef Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capitol Reef Resort
Capitol Reef Resort
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capitol Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 939: English reviews
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewed 14 October 2015

This hotel is conveniently located for visiting Capitol Reef Park. We stayed two nights and found our room to be quiet and comfortable. The views off the semi-private balcony are amazing and we enjoyed sitting outside in our chairs with a drink admiring the red cliffs and setting sun. While the front desk staff could use a little help in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AllysonJS
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are happy to hear that you found our location near the entrance to Capitol Reef National Park to be convenient for your activities. The views are not to be missed, and we are pleased you were able to enjoy. However, we would like to apologize for any interactions with staff members...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I would agree with another reviewer that this is not exactly a resort, but for the most part at a destination like a National Park you are out and about and not in need of that type of hotel. We were very impressed with the customer service, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the views. If you can, get a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley E
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are please to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and liked the cleanliness of the rooms, and our course the breathtaking views of the National Park! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I wouldn't really call this place a resort. It says that it has a tennis court, but that one is so dated that I wouldn't play a game there. Pool area looks good though. We had a room facing the mountains, which was great. Room has a little sitting area, microwave and fridge. Bed is good as well. Overall, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sugarsweet_NL
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, however we would like to apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations, there are many more improvements coming in 2016. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the views of Capitol Reef National Park, and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with...

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We recently stayed at this resort- good lighting, big room, comfortable bed & hot shower. Also had micro & ref & patio with wonderful view. The patio rooms are down a flight of stairs if you have issues with this, otherwise no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CATHERINE85
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Capitol Reef Resort! We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views of the Red Cliffs from your patio, and that you found the bed and other room amenities to be comfortable and convenient. We hope you chose to stay with us on your next trip...

Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We booked at the last minute and were able to get a room. The resort is older, but the rooms have all been recently updated. The rooms were very nice. Clean with an interesting curtain divider between the room and the vanity area. No onsite restaurant and not a lot of selection for restaurants locally after 9. I think this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BensonWdby
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our recently renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Rockwall, Texas
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I've stayed here each time I've visited the area. It appears the hotel is under new ownership. The basics are just that. I like the views of the canyon from the rear facing rooms. The staff is less than accommodating; I've seen friendlier people at the IRS. There are a number of newer lodging facilities that have cropped up in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drroady
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for stays with us throughout the years, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the views from the Red Cliff View rooms. We would like to apologize to you for your dissatisfaction during your most recent stay, we would love a chance to review the specifics of the issues you had during your stay, please contact...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 11 October 2015

All the rooms of this former Best Western have been nicely updated. Rooms with a patio or deck are the best. For the price, this is the best motel/hotel lodging in Torrey. Even though Torrey and the hotel are very busy in the summer and fall, our rooms were very quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MillcreekUT
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of our recent renovations. It is wonderful that you found Capitol Reef Resort to be quiet during your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This gem has everything a traveler needs. The view from the pool and spa area is spectacular. The room was clean and breakfast was delicious. They have horse trail rentals located across the parking lot. We enjoyed the sunset while soaking in the large spa after a long day of hiking the nearby trails. They have laundry services with new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janell D
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay as well as the kind review! We agree with you, the views from the pool and Jacuzzi as well as many of the rooms is spectacular, and we are glad to hear that you were able to make use of our new laundry facilities. We hope you chose to stay with us on your...

Hayden, Idaho
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

This place had the most spectacular views. The rooms were just perfect, very clean, comfortable, good decor. The staff was very helpful with directions and where to eat. When we go back we will definitely stay there. It is the best place we stayed on our trip. The price is very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhakajh
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us as well as the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the breathtaking views of Capitol Reef National Park from your recently renovated room, and that you found the staff to be helpful. We hope to see you on your next trip to Utah!

Birmingham
Reviewed 5 October 2015

The room was OK; clean but dark. Great views from the balcony looking over the red rocks [great at sunrise]. This is a motel which is of reasonable standard but is grossly overpriced due to the location close to Capitol Reef NP. We didn't use the restaurant as it was only open for breakfast. Evening meal we took at the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EbenezerS
Nadinezd, Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views from you room. However we do apologize that you found the room to be a bit dark and the room rate higher than you would have preferred. If you're in the area again, we would love for you to give us another...

887 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Double Queen Room with Patio (32)
Viewed
King Room with Balcony (34)
Viewed
King Studio Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Traditional Double Queen Room (35)
Viewed
Traditional King Room with Sofa Sleeper (28)
Viewed
Two Bedroom King Suite (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.8 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
658 reviews
4.1 km away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
3.2 km away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.8 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
2.9 km away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Price Range: €77 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capitol Reef Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Loudon, Tennessee, United States
6 months ago
Los Angeles, California
7 months ago
2 months ago
Chaska, Minnesota
Tulsa
1 month ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Capitol Reef Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about the view and close proximity to the front office”
 of 5 bubbles danielcbush, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The superior king suite is nice if guests want space”
 of 5 bubbles D&DWoods, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbenitez06, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check with desk which ones offer best views”
 of 5 bubbles JERRYG448, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a room in the back with a balcony and breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles AM1898, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5