We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Show Prices
#82 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cons: Limited choice in hotel food and a bit pricey, even with the tailored participants menu. My vegetarian colleague ended up eating fish and chips almost the whole time there. The happy hour food is small so order two of you haven't eaten all day. The nearest restaurant is probably a 15 minute walk. Uber anD Lyft sure made money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience Kathy M. We're so pleased you found our staff wonderful. We certainly try our hardest to ensure that our guests enjoy the unique, relaxing atmosphere, special views and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming your family back for another relaxing visit!

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place, service was excellent. Nice location by the water. I enjoyed my stay there very much. I attended a business conference there. A shout out to Todd W. who works there, he was always so helpful with information where to go in the city. It was my first visit to San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urs B
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Urs B! We're so pleased to hear that Todd was so helpful during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and helping you find more fun places to experience in San Diego!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Kona Kai is an ideal hotel,the setting is beautiful. We upgraded,our room was comfortable & they use nice spa products in the bathroom. We also liked their happy hour which was from 2pm till 6pm & food was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stella8716
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the five star review stella8716! We appreciate your comments on your most recent experience with us. Our team will certainly appreciate your feedback on our rooms and happy hour. On your next visit, be sure to cruise around shelter island on our beach cruiser bikes for the ultimate relaxing afternoon!

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a junior suite and when we checked in (which took an amazingly LONG time) and went to our room it was a small room with one armchair - hardly a "junior suite". We went down to complain and were reassigned what we had paid for. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and we had a nice little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank califbikegal
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback califbikegal. I am disappointed to hear your visit fell short of your expectations. We strive to provide the best service, and a seamless experience for our guests. We will share your comments with our team to assist us in our constant effort to improve our guest experience. We hope to have an opportunity to...

Simi Valley, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kona Kai is located on Shelter Island with access to parks, the water and plenty of space to roam. Shopping and restaurants are close by and a 10 minute drive to Little Italy will keep you busy all day. The resort is pretty and the pool area overlooks the marina, they had movies and refreshments at the pool one night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlyTayHayAlex
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience AlyTayHayAlex! We are so pleased you had an opportunity to experience so much of what we have to offer (including our Friday Night Flicks). We hope to see you on another weekend getaway soon!

Alfriston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I booked to stay at the Kona Kai for 3 nights this April through booking.com back in September 2016 on a free cancellation term. Part of their booking term is to take a deposit at any time prior to your stay - I wasn't aware of this at the time of booking so phoned the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James D
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize that your communication with booking.com was not as seamless as we strive for our guest experience to be. Please rest assured that our team will work closely with booking.com in order to resolve any miscommunication regarding our mutual guests and bookings.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, my wife and I had a very unpleasant experience at Kona Kai. We were traveling for a conference and had reserved a room from March 14th through March 18th. Due to winter weather in the northeast we were unable to make it to San Diego until March 15th. I called the hotel the morning of the 14th to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickantell
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience nickantell. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate the reinstatement of your reservation due to lack of availability. Our management has sent you a direct message regarding your most recent experience.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because of the location. We were looking for a quick but fun weekend getaway for our 15th anniversary. The private beach was a huge plus. Our room was very clean and near the pool and the sand. There is no swimming in the bay but the view was stunning. The color palate of our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsK45963
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience MrsK45963. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us, and our live music in Vessel restaurant. We certainly agree that our views are stunning! We hope to see you again soon; as you know we'll be ready to show off our updated entry on your next visit!

Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff here is very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious, but refrigerator froze all the snacks I bought. There needed to be more space to put things in the bathroom. The single sink with a shelf beneath was not enough room, but there is room to put a shelf unit beside the toilet and they should take advantage of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2ofus
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback Z2ofus. I am so pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and accommodating. Your feedback will be shared with our staff in our efforts to constantly improve our guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to show off our exciting new improvements on your next visit to San Diego!

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for four nights as a family of four. Room was spacious and well equipped, with coffee machine, ipod dock, room fridge and wifi. Beds were extremely comfy and view of the water were great. We used the pool facilities which were good apart from one day we struggled to find towels and noone available to assist with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail742014
KKRManagement, Manager at Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience Gail742014! I'm so pleased to hear that your little boy enjoyed our views and watching the activity in the bay; we certainly agree that we have a spectacular location and views. On your next visit, take some beach cruisers out for the day and enjoy s'mores on our private beach. We hope to see...

600 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (276)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
King Room with Pool View (37)
Viewed
Pool Area (24)
Viewed
Queen Room with Bay View (31)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#52 of 279 in San Diego
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
864 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Vessel Restaurant + Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the tip of Shelter Island, the southern California vibe emanates at our beachfront hotel in San Diego. Sun, surf and sea create the tropical essence of our beachfront hotel in San Diego. With a rich history steeped in the beat and bravura of Polynesian and Spanish Colonial, Kona Kai Resort & Spa is a restyled creation of fresh, fun elegance punctuated by casual luxury. Fresh off a $22 million dollar transformation, the updated property features newly renovated bathrooms with glass enclosed showers in every guestroom, revitalized common areas and a luxurious spa, SpaTerre, offering the finest services from all over the world. Perfect for an executive meeting, a surprise getaway or a romantic wedding, Kona Kai Resort & Spa offers the right space for the right occasion. You'll find that space amidst quiet, private beaches, lush tropical gardens, astounding bay and marina views along San Diego's most magnificent stretch of waterfront. Relax poolside while you take in the view of Kona Kai Marina from the Tiki Bar or zip around the San Diego Bay on jet skis and see the city from a new perspective. Kona Kai Resort & Spa is the perfect place to start living. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Address: 1551 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: €205 - €430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Hotel San Diego
Kona Kai Resort San Diego
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#20 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool side view is the best”
  • spacious rooms
meanmachine439, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not take a room near the exit doors that lead outside - very noisy”
bird481, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book the junior suite and don't let them toss you into a smaller room”
califbikegal, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“lower level with marina view”
AlyTayHayAlex, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lobby building has no elevator to get to second floor rooms”
Z2ofus, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5