We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Bronx, New York
Reviewed 20 December 2015

I staid here back when it was called "Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown", and was DESPERATELY in need of a hotel stay for an entire week that would not cost me an arm and a leg! At the time, I was a poor college student traveling for the summer in the Downtown San Diego are but hotels located Downtown were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie D
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time in writing a detailed review. We are happy to hear that you had a good experience here at Travelodge Hotel. Thank you for mentioning our location is near many food facilities. We provide customer service 24 hours, glad to hear we were able to assist you. Hope to see you soon!

Placentia, California
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Room was so clean. No noise. Excellent customer service. Free breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Prices are cheap. Closer to sea world.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 383ranganathans
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found your experience here at Travelodge excellent. Our staff works hard to provide our guest with a clean and welcoming room. Thank you for mentioning we are located close to SeaWorld. Hope to see you again.

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Z6530XHmarke
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsep_2111
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

This is the worst place that I stayed with my family this year. We are from Brazil, but I live in Miami, and I had my so expected vacation in October. I received my cousins from Brazil to enjoy San Diego, but we had the worse experience in this place ( Travelodge). We are used to travel every year and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that we failed your expectations during your stay. We do appreciate the feedback as we always try improving our quality of service to our valued guests. Hopefully you can give us another try so we can make it up.

Tehran
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitra A
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42kristin
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

LATHROP
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

The room supposed to be a non smoking, it was the worst I almost have an asthma even though I don't have one. I have sprayed all night long with febreze it seems like it's not working left the window open still didn't work. That's what I have experience I would not recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily G
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for spending your valuable time to put on a review. We are very sorry that you did not get a comfortable room during your stay at Travelodge. Help desk people might have find an alternative room if you have approached them. I do hope you will give us another try so that we can arrange a room more...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Very nice staff very clean property quiet in a good neighborhood I feel safe overall rooms were excellent

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulettec995
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback for mentioning very nice staff and our staff always strives to improve our quality of service. We are pleased to hear that our hotel is safe to stay. I hope you will be here again.

Palm Desert, California
Reviewed 8 October 2015

I stayed the weekend here with a friend for my birthday. At first glance the room seemed cleaned. But that was at night in dim lighting. the next day I had noticed crayon and pencil scribbling on some of the walls. Cleaners might have tried taking it off but they didn't do a good job. As long as there weren't...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaineee2015
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in reviewing Travelodge. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the scarcity of water during your stay in our hotel. Help desk people always strive to help the customers as much as possible but we are sorry to facilitate you with the cab in time. We appreciated for mentioning that our hotel is...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 278 in San Diego
473 reviews
Motel 6 San Diego Downtown
#194 of 278 in San Diego
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave., San Diego, CA 92113 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: €82 - €264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for bay side room, opposite of I-5”
 of 5 bubbles 61glennj, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Top floor on the west side had a view of downtown and convention center”
 of 5 bubbles AlaskaScubaGirl, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles pranam9, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles lvb2013, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
“A bit of traffic sounds in the a.m. Bring ear-plugs or use the fan for white noise. I had no problem and am very sensitive to noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SMStevenson2014, 22 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5