We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Show Prices
#43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
See the most recent reviews
Showing 824: English reviews
Edmond, United States
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a very friendly place. The pool area is absolutely beautiful! I do wish the breakfast area was a bit bigger, because of crowding. In our AAA book it states this hotel is in San Diego, but it is actually in La Mesa. Just an FYI.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dedra M
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Dear Dedra M. We just wanted to reach out to you and say thanks for the kind words about our staff and pool area. TripAdvisor is about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research. You are right, about...

Yuba City, Ca., United States
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We loved staying at this Best Western!!! Everything was excellent. And the staff was so friendly and Awesome!! They had a grill in the pool area so you could bbq when you stay there. This hotel was close to all of the things we did like the zoo and Seaworld.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lawrence D
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Hello Lawrence D, Wow! It is great to hear that you loved staying at our little hotel! Here at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn, we strive to give superior service to all our guests and it's a wonderful feeling when this is recognized....THANK YOU! We do our best to make our guests feel at home by adding extra amenities, such...

Grasonville, Maryland
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was here for 4 nights, and I had the best time. It was a nice location not fare from one thing or another. The front desk staff was amazing. Lynn the GM was wonderful on giving me ideas on what to see while visiting the city. Just a great stay and when I return ill be sure to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kara D
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Hi Kara D. It is with great pride that I am able to read so many great reviews about our staff and property. San Diego is great destination, and we really enjoy helping our guests explore what it has to offer. We are glad you took the time to share your experience, and look forward to seeing you on a...

el monte, United States
Reviewed 1 May 2014

For a short overnight stay this hotel would be acceptable. It is affordable and the beds are comfortable but the rooms are small and lack a microwave or refrigerator. The carpets were dirty and there were stains on the bedding. The rest of the room seemed clean as was the bathroom and shower. The staff was very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John T
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us, we were glad to read that you found our beds to be comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. We hear this often, and it gives a sense of pride since our staff is dedicated to providing superior customer care. We were unhappy to learn about the cleanliness issues...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Main reason for us to come to San Diego was to visit San Diego Sea Wold and Zoo. They both are close to the hotel. Many verities for breakfast and it is free. I stayed with my family for 5 days and they liked it. Room is clean. Staff went out of the way to get us the same room...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Milinda S
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Dear Milinda S. Here in San Diego, we know that there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, and we are very happy that you decided to stay with us. While we are not directly near the Sea World and San Diego Zoo park they are only about 15 - 20 minute drive to each. We take pride in providing...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 27 April 2014

While the facility is a bit dated, the staff and cleanliness made it a great hotel. The bed was a bit firm, but comfortable. For a low cost hotel is definitely exceeded my expectations. It is very convenient for visiting SDSU. The pool looked inviting on a warm day, although I did not get to try it.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlMomTraveler
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Dear tlMomTraveler Thank for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to know that we have provided you exceptional service and gone above and beyond your expectations. Our staff takes pride in there work and are always eager to provide guests with the best service possible. I'm sorry to hear you were unable to enjoy our heated pool...

Brighton, Utah
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Construction project next door made for very early banging and lots of noise. The rooms need immediate updating, very old and dirty. The TV reception not clear. Lots of Mexican workers swimming in pool and noisy. I don't recommend at all.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cindy C
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We strive to exceed our guests expectations, and on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not succeeding in this instance. Our neighborhood is going through some major changes that we are very excited about. New commercial and housing buildings are sprouting up, which will bring new energy to our area. That being...

Milpitas, California
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights here on my family trip to San Diego. The room is very clean and the location is very convenient. It is close to the most famous attractions ( sea world, zoo, old town). The front desk (the gentleman named Justin) is very polite and helpful. The bed is very comfort and we had good sleeps. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qiz77
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Hello quiz77, It was a pleasure having you stay with us here at Best Western Lamplighter-Inn. We are fortunate to be located in such a convenient area and privileged to have so many fun and exciting attractions for our guests to enjoy here in San Diego. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to check you in and...

Monroe, United States
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A quiet and comfortable room on the second floor. Even though property is along a busy road, noise was not noticeable in the room. Breakfast was small with usual continental items. However, fresh made oatmeal was available each morning, which was a nice plus!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Dear Kelly D, We appreciate that you took valuable time out of your day to write a review on your stay here at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn. It's always nice to hear that our guests were satisfied with our accommodations. Being located in a residential/business part of town, the street can get a little busy during the day, but...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Ideal for our needs and reasonably priced! The room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice and well-maintained, and they are dog-friendly! They are a couple of minutes away from the interstate roads and walking distance from grocery and drug stores and other shops. All in all, a little gem for the price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LENNYPAL
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review

Hello Lennypal, We are so glad that you chose to stay here at our little hotel during your visit to our beautiful city! It is so nice to hear that we successfully met your needs during your stay! Our staff strives to provide great customer service and spotless, well maintained rooms and grounds so that our guests can experience optimum...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (261)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Family Suite (40)
Viewed
King Business Room (29)
Viewed
King Mini Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool Area (14)
Viewed
Queen Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Studio Suite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
1,961 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd., San Diego, CA 92115
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: €116 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
California
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago
Sacramento, California
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed our suite at the ground level.”
rtbeck70, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are only 2 floors to this hotel. We preferred the first floor, but we would accept the second floor here if necessary.”
583patt, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs at the back of the property are very quiet.”
duane298, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are visiting with family, you may want to check on all room options and choose the appropriate one.”
lathagangadharan, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If noise does bother you, I've learned to turn on the low fan to create white noise to sleep better.”
DanaMom4Life, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5