We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The US Grant

Booking.comUS$213*
View Deal
#46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$402*
US$213*
US$402*
US$214*
US$402*
US$213*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The US Grant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The US Grant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,288: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 December 2012

It's not their fault, but lots of street bums lined up across the street does bring down one's experience -on prior trips to the area I've stayed in the Coronado Hotel (need good renovation/without destroying the history) and The Lodge in La Jolla -kind of nothing to do interesting nearby except golf). Rooms are nice -odd that most rooms don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SojournerCirca1996
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Greetings Sojourner, Thank you for finding your way to us after all the other hotels you have experienced in San Diego! Your tips to assist other explorers is certainly helpful and detailed. We apologize that the "color" of San Diego left you with a negative impression but it would be interesting to hear how we stacked up against our competition...

Encinitas, California
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was here on election night and booked a suite, with a sitting area and a bed. The sitting area was pretty small and there was no windows there....so that was kind of odd. But it was beautiful in an "old" kind of way. The bathroom was nice and the bed was very comfortable. However, I think the room could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvsd123
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your candor, We appreciate that you joined us for another historic night in the making for our 102 year old dame. Through the years, many of these festive occasions have found their home to THE US GRANT and each one brings another chapter to the story we enjoy regaling! Being a historic hotel has its...

Oro Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The first night we were in room 306 we could hear the elevator all night long. In the morning we changed rooms. Much better! We asked the concierge about the mixology that was downstairs. They didn't seem to know much about it....I showed her the email on my phone. The mixology was a lot of fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T D
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

TD, Thank you for the feedback on your stay! Your forgiveness with moving rooms to a quieter situation is appreciated. We are so glad that you got to experience the mixology dinner in Grant Grill! This was one of our better infusions of culinary and mixology experiences and was appreciated by many! Please come back again and whether we are...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Used early check-in (Starwood Platinum), but were unfortunately not upgraded or given a substitute room. The room had an OK view of the city, but was a great spot all in itself! Bed was incredibly comfortable, and we had a small living room with desk/chair/sofa/tv/minibar. Internet was free, and pretty strong given we were on the 9th floor. Toiletries and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony F
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Greetings Anthony, Your forgiveness with our not being able to automatically upgrade you is appreciated! At times we certainly struggle with our own success! Apparently we made up for this in many other ways from live music in Grant Grill to a great night's rest in order to encase you in a remarkable experience. We hope that you will come...

Roseville, California
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the US Grant on business and I was so impressed. In fact, I would rate my stay very nearly perfect. For a business traveler who spends 100+ nights in hotels, that is saying a lot. Although the staff was young, they were so well trained, they were more like polished veterans but with a cool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleentitus
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed with points and were very disappointed. I thought being a Gold member meant we get an upgrade but no such luck! They said we get free internet(I thought internet was always free) oh well. Our room was OK the rug was filthy and had big stains on it and the high back chair which I guess used to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesspete
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review

Dear Jesspete, We apologize for not meeting your expectations as a Starwood Preferred Guest Gold Member during your stay with us. We acknowledge the fact that this was a very special weekend for you and we were not able to make it a memorable and enjoyable one, particularly because we did not have available rooms for upgrades and that the...

london and tunis
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Grant and I was very happy with everything from the beginning until the end, one regrettable thing was the valet parking that we found extremely expensive .. They should give the option to their guests to park their car alone for a lower fee and keep the valet for the stars ! Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelatbest
London
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed at the US Grant mid November for four nights. Initially things went well - front of house staff were polite and helpful. The room was pleasant and had some nice touches, although as it the case with quite a few hotels, practicalities,can be overlooked e.g. a place to hang a hand towel that is n the same side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JWeanie
Ripon, California
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here for business was really impressed all the little touches. Everyone in lobby from the bellman to the front desk staff are incredibly professional and helpful, really driving home the "Luxury Hotel" experience. It is a historical hotel so things are on a smaller scale than you find in huge new hotel, but it is still such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorCalKimmy
New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 November 2012

hot water did not work. I had to take a lukewarm shower the last couple of days. I called immediately when this happened and the management sent someone up to fix the issue but it was not fixed. Instead, I was given a $100 credit towards my bill which was nice. Taking nearly cold showers is not fun. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deprivation

1,191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (992)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (218)
Viewed
Bathroom (92)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (305)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (288)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
1,915 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#32 of 279 in San Diego
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,125 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4,967 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Price Range: €189 - €586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The US Grant staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The US Grant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved 726 with two large beds a great shoer and nice living room.”
jonathong988, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“I would highly recommend looking in to joining the SPG club and ask for higher floor rooms”
  • Another view with better lighting of the living room is the room
  • Out of view, on the right ,is a large shower with glass doors
  • View from the large bathroom(you can see the glass doors to the shower on the left), looking int
  • Beautiful padded headboard in the obviously luxurious bedroom!
  • This is the sitting area/living room in the room
134theresaw, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Great Location”
981frasers, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Signature Suites are amazing!”
SaskLC, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the main streets will be noisy. Mine was an excellent quite location”
GSSATLANTA, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$213* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$214
Expedia.comUS$213
TripAdvisorUS$212
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates