We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Delight in M Club Access
View deal
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2349)
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (1032)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 05/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Updated 05/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#104 of 285 in San Diego
GreenLeaders Silver level
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our waterfront hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Recharge in spacious hotel rooms and suites with impressive views of the city or San Diego Bay. Take advantage of thoughtful amenities like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, two outdoor pools, an inviting spa and award-winning on-site dining.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Kids pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4789Reviews74Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,417
  • 1,567
  • 474
  • 174
  • 157
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
austim wrote a review 23 Jun
Long Beach, California219 contributions103 helpful votes
I previously reviewed this hotel as 3 stars but after a recent 3 night stay in a renovated room in the north tower, i can't give a hotel i would not want to stay in again more then 2 stars. What the hotel misses the mark: Valet lines: Excruciating waits for a valet, not only at check in but every time returning the car. Check-in lines: The lobby at check in time was packed, chaotic and loud with children. I am a Titanium Elite and have never waited so long standing just to be able to check into a room. Check-out lines: The hotel had only one desk open for Bonvoy elite at check out and the regular line move faster then the elite line. Seriously? More crowds at the pool: At any time of day the pool was excessively crowded in no way able to have a relaxing, quiet pool day. Tons of kids and unlike the Hyatt next door, has no adult pool. At certain points i saw people crowded into the jacuzzi and eating in the jacuzzi! No hotel staff on hand to monitor guest behavior. Small rooms: Even tinier closets Lines to get a drink: At the pool be prepared to stand in even more long times to order a drink or food.....there are no servers available at the pool to take your oder. Limited food & beverage options. The restaurant menu is very limited, hours are limited and the pantry where room service comes from is pre-maid convince food, which also tastes like it. High Fees: The resort fee is $35 and given the quality of the amenities on property does not give you a lot. The valet parking which you will have to wait for..a long time...every time..i believe was close to $60 a day
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: North tower rooms have balconies
See more room tips
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Lbtim, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite member and posting a review of your recent stay. We are sorry for the delay you experienced at the time of check-in and check-out and also with our valet service. We understand your frustration, and we will share your concern with our team to improve our service going forward. Please know, that we implemented our destination fee after an overwhelming number of requests from our guests to bundle our resort-style amenities. To make it a significant value, we must pass the fee through to all guests, and we encourage you to take advantage of these amenities! We also regret that you were disappointed with the cost of our valet parking. Our fees are competitively priced and posted on our website so guests can have this information before booking with us. We encourage you to try us again as we are confident you will have a better experience. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
DavidG wrote a review 23 Jun
New Jersey7 contributions14 helpful votes
This is a great hotel - the property/facilities are clean, modern, and perfect. And the hotel staff - literally everyone on site - is professional and courteous. I was traveling on business, and the hotel offered great opportunities for relaxation and eating. And the Marriott Club was spacious and well-outfitted. Special thank you to Kassandra L (Operations Manager) - for great communication and assistance.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled
Calif0rnia_traveller wrote a review 17 Jun
Oxnard, California117 contributions53 helpful votes
Amazing stay at this beautiful hotel! We were in a recently renovated room with a balcony and view of the bay in the north tower. It was great in every respect! The total renovation apparently replaced everything in the room. Beautiful, modern furnishings. Comfortable bed. Convenient outlets. New furniture on the balcony. Gorgeous view! And everything was spotlessly clean. The M Club lounge for elite members was one of the best we've encountered anywhere. Phyllis was very welcoming and attentive. The entire staff there was great. The pool bar had great food for lunch. The grab and go restaurant was also convenient and tasty. (Try the shrimp and bacon wrap - it's amazing!} This was a special occasion with our granddaughter, and the stay exceeded our expectations in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Calif0rnia_traveller, Thank you for sharing about your stay at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. We appreciate the flattering remarks, and we are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel. We understand the importance of the details that make up a great stay, and we are happy knowing our hospitality enhanced your visit with us. Also, we are delighted to know you were pleased with our colleagues, especially Phyllis, and will be sure to pass along your kind words. We hope to see you again soon! Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
christine wrote a review 16 Jun
Edina, Minnesota4 contributions2 helpful votes
While the location is wonderful for this hotel the room itself was disappointing to say the least. We paid well over 500 dollars a night for this room (member rate) and they didn't even have bottled water in the room. Paper cups with plastic and a coffee machine that didn't work. When I asked for a teapot, I was told the property didn't have such a thing. Tried to oder coffee in the morning and nothing was open until 7am. All around disappointing stay. Will not be back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 1 week ago
Dear canakes, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are truly sorry your stay was not the positive experience you deserve. We never want a guest to leave with a contrary opinion, and if given the opportunity, we would have taken measures to address every concern while you were staying with us. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose us. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Bobej wrote a review 14 Jun
Litchfield Park, Arizona407 contributions43 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay here at Marriott! Nice to walk the marina early in the morning. Wish I was able to kayak during my stay but my back wouldn’t participate. We were in the North tower and did self parking which was in the convention center parking. The first day we walked through the parking lot to get to Roy’s (restaurant) not fun. We finally learned it was easier to take a service elevator up to the ground level (you can take the stairs) and there’s an entry into the south tower of the hotel and walk through to the North tower or Roy’s. We could hear music from the shell when we were at Coronado Island! The night view was breathtaking when the marina was all lit up! Just a lovely place to stay if you can get a view of the marina.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: It’s a nice little walk to self parking and it’s always busy.
See more room tips
854russelj wrote a review May 2022
Grand Rapids, United States12 contributions3 helpful votes
stayed at the location because it is adjacent to the convention center, where I had to attend a meeting. I arrived at 6pm & there 5 people in line ahead of me to checkin. Initially only 2 staff (surprising given size of property), but after a while, a 3rd person came. My time in line was 20 minutes, more than the time I had to wait for luggage at airport or taxi ride to location. Once 3rd person arrived (manager), line moved quickly. Room was clean, nice view of the bay. Toilet has water saving capacity, but I was surprised that the room did not have the blue Marriott recycle trash bin. I did like the night light in the bathroom- didn't have to use my laptop powercord light. I was there on weekend, so M club closed. They give you a $15.00 credit, but the only on site sit down restaurant was buffet only- $32.00- so breakfast would still cost $17.00. You can use credit at Starbucks, but that only gets you oatmeal & coffee. They should do better on weekends. Check out was easy. Again, only 5-10 minute walk from convention center.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: high floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear 854russelj, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. We are pleased you found our location near the convention center to be perfect for your plans. Your additional comments will be shared with the appropriate individuals to ensure a better outcome going forward. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Allen T wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia146 contributions119 helpful votes
One of the worst Marriott experiences I have had. The hotel is cheap; the customer service is awful. We can’t wait to check out and will never be back. A few things to highlight: - Cheap scratchy bedding; uncomfortable bed (although my wife thought it was fine) - Noisy Vents and AC - No complimentary breakfast for Bonvoy members on the weekends - They charge a resort fee (this is not a resort), but don’t offer resort amenities. No bottled water or drinkable coffee in the room. The gym was closed when we got there. - They charge $15 for WiFi. I object on principle - The staff couldn’t care less about customer concerns. They know SD is booming and a conference town with more demand than supply. Not up to Marriott standard and they break the understood deal that Titanium Elite and Ambassador guests will be taken care of. This is why Marriott should have never been allowed to buy Starwood. They have too much market power and it shows in their declining service and rising prices.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 2 May 2022
Dear 263allent, We appreciate your loyalty to our hotels, and regret that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback on the vents and AC will be shared with our Engineering team so they may focus on this area when conducting maintenance in our guest rooms. Due to our group and convention status as a hotel, our M Club is one of only a handful in the company that does not currently open on the weekends. However, we do provide Marriott Bonvoy points for the weekend in lieu of the concierge lounge. If you did not receive those points, please reach out to us directly. Our Daily Destination Amenity fee is a bundle of our most popular amenities offered exclusively to our Hotel guests at a significant discount, purchased individually these amenities have a value of more than $140.00. In order to provide this value bundle, we must pass the destination amenity fee through to all of our guests regardless if their stay is either leisure or business. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable and comfortable. We do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to regain your trust. Warm regards, Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Melinda R wrote a review Apr 2022
20 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at his property in March for a conference at the hotel. This was our second stay here and it was almost as nice as the 1st. This time, however, the bed was not very comfortable. Scratchy linens and the mattress had me feeling like I was sleeping on a slope and might roll off the bed. That is not what I expect of Marriott properties at this point and was very disappointing. The bed a few days later when we switched to a Residence Inn near Disneyland was so much more comfortable and the room was huge comparatively. That said, the pool area is very nice and we spent a lot of time there. It was also nice to walk along the waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Jason G wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked a room for my birthday weekend over 90 days out and 30 days from my stay Marriott cancelled my reservation claiming it was because I used points and didn’t have enough, even though my credit card was on file and my reservation confirmation said it was guaranteed. When I contacted them to fix the issue they didn’t care and couldn’t be bothered to apologize. They refused to take any actions to help me reinstate my reservation other than to tell me I can rebook the room at 4x the price (originally booked at around $200 a night, now they’re asking over $800). All of my friends who also booked rooms there for my birthday weekend, didn’t have their reservations cancelled… now me and all my friends have to try and find a new hotel 30 days out. I will never stay at this Marriott ever again. I suggest you do not book this hotel unless your ok with the hotel keeping your reservation unless they think they’ll get more money closer to your actual stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Don’t reserve a room here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 23 Apr 2022
Dear Jason, First of all, thank you for your loyalty to our brand. That said, we truly apologize for disappointing you and for the issues you experienced with your reservation. We also understand the frustration you had as you felt our associates were not considerate of the situation and that they were unable to provide a solution for it. If you would kindly provide us with the first and last name the reservation was under along with the Marriott Bonvoy number the points were coming from, so that we can research the reservation. Once we have more information, we will reply back. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and look forward to hearing back from you. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Renee D wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York14 contributions10 helpful votes
My most recent stay in Jan 2022 at the Marriot Marquis San Diego had been really below par and one of the worst experiences I’ve had since I joined the Bonvoy program in 2016 of which I've been an Ambassador Elite member. This was for both a training my company organized for a business trip. As such, my assistant had booked a reservation under my name and the corporate event also reserved a room – with the notion that given our company is using a lot of space at the hotel, there should be flexibility to find a good room for me / upgrade. 1. Extreme service slowness / lack of professionalism: I arrived at the front desk at 10pm local San Diego time, already tired and hoping to get to my room as soon as possible – there was a ~30-40 min wait as the only representative at the front desk took forever to process the guest in front of me, and then when it came to my turn, there was a ton of confusion from him about a duplicate reservation even as I explained I’m here for a corporate event and also on business so that he can charge the hotel bill eventually to either the corporate event or my corporate card. He called his manager and spoke to him for 10 mins on the phone while I waited and finally resolved to cancel one of the reservations. He spent no time explaining to me the amenities- I had to ask about the gym, breakfast, etc. 2. Zero acknowledgement of membership loyalty / did not provide hospitality that should be afforded to loyal Marriot members: o The front desk person also did not realize I was a Marriot member – which is extremely ridiculous and had never happened at any Marriot property I’ve come t0 – he said, “oh sorry I did not realize” when I said, “is it not in the system?” o He also made a rude remark about my last name - “oh, very long last name, no wonder it’s showing up incorrectly” – blaming his lack of knowledge that I’m a Marriot member on my last name. o When I inquired about a room upgrade, which is typical for my membership status as an Ambassador elite member, he said it’s “NOT POSSIBLE”, and I asked about rooms with bathtubs (which I had inquired about prior to arriving) – and he made it rudely clear to me it is not possible given I’m here with the corporate training / conference – even though I had told him he can charge the bill to my corporate card if that makes a difference. He perfunctorily checked the system, and said “the only rooms with bathtubs we have now have twin beds, so, it’s up to you”. Gravely disappointed and shocked at his lack of professionalism, I eventually went with the room he assigned given it was way past 10:45pm local time and I was beyond tired after flying 5 hours from New York City 3. Room was dirty / towels had blood & TV was broken: o When I arrived at my room, I was shocked at some of the elements. First, one of the bathroom towels had two big blotches of blood stains. Second, the TV was broken / had blue light shading across the screen. This is seriously unacceptable at any property o When I called to ask for an upgrade because I really couldn’t stand the room despite how tired I was, the man on the phone (who is the manager of the front desk rep I spoke to earlier) gave me an extremely rude attitude about how my company had cancelled a bunch of rooms due to the Covid -19 omicron outbreak due to participants deciding not to come (i.e., he said “your company cancelled XXX rooms and our hotel is not going to accommodate any other changes. If you want to pay out of pocket i can put you in a suite – but your company is going to be on the hook to pay for this cancellation, too.” I could not believe this is the attitude of a manager at a Marriott property. He was taking his frustration towards my company out on a single individual – me – who is not responsible for the cancellations that have happened. Not to mention that the cancellations I know of had most likely come from our Canadian colleagues who are in lockdown in Canada which happened very quickly (not their fault) 4. Overall unsatisfying: Room service cannot be placed the night before but only in the morning. Overall lack of cleanliness in the rooms. Food quality was low. The only redeeming factor was the view of the bay and the weather. I'm hence giving this two stars - and because now that I've stayed at the W Miami, I now know that this isn't the worst. There's no hotel on earth as bad as the W Miami (it will remain my only 1 star review for a long time to come, I suspect - hopefully anyway)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear rcadl2192, First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty to our brands. We are committed to providing our guests with a fulfilling stay; therefore, we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. Your feedback, and also your patience in these matters, are much appreciated. We will share your message appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services and guest experiences on all levels. We never intend to lose a loyal patron like you, and we encourage you to give us a second chance to make a better impression. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
US$330 - US$526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
san diego marriott marquis & marina hotel san diego, san diego marriott marquis and marina, marriott san diego
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / Marina
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Nearby attractions include Embarcadero (0.4 km), The New Children's Museum (0.3 km), and Top of the Hyatt (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Richard Walker's Pancake House, Cafe 222, and Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.