We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3999 Mission Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92109-6959
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Save UP to 20% Off
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$524
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$379
View deal
PricelineUS$524
TravelocityUS$435
Hotels.comUS$435
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2320)
Room & Suite (776)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Updated 10/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa is a paradisiacal destinationon the shores of Mission Bay and mere steps from San Diego’s famous Pacific Beach. Featuring lush tropical gardens and a private beach, this Polynesian-themed hotel offers 310 guest rooms, studios or suites, each with a private balcony or patio. On-site amenities include signature restaurant Oceana Coastal Kitchen, featuring a surf and turf menu and a patio lined with tiki torches, fire pit tables and lush palms, and the Catamaran Spa, the only beachfront spa in San Diego. Additional activities include bicycle and water-sport rentals and the beach towns of Mission Beach and Pacific Beach, featuring a beachside boardwalk, Crystal Pier and a variety of cafés and boutiques. The Catamaran is conveniently located within 10 miles of major attractions including SeaWorld,the San Diego Zoo and the San Diego International Airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Boating
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Evening entertainment
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Save UP to 20% Off
6420Reviews131Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4,265
  • 1,243
  • 515
  • 227
  • 170
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
S. PEDROSA wrote a review 11 Aug
2 contributions1 helpful vote
My kids and I recently attended the Sunset Luau and it was truly awesome. The food was delicious and Hop was great! The show was really entertaining as well. This will definitely be a new tradition for our family. Thank you for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, thank you for attending our summer Sunset Luaus here at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed an amazing evening filled with delicious food, outstanding service, and live entertainment that will transport you straight to the Hawaiian Islands. Thank you for making the Sunset Luau a new family tradition. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Read more
Ashtone wrote a review Mar 2022
Phelan, California2 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Except for the last two, really hard, years, we have stayed here every year for our family vacation. The hotel is absolutely fantastic, perfectly located , and the customer service is exceptional. One employee in particular, Diante, went above and beyond to ensure our return stay was especially fabulous! He is a joy to talk to, was super informative, and is a tremendous asset to The Catamaran.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Our sincerest thanks go out to you for returning to the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that our Reservations representative was helpful in planning your stay. Families will find the Catamaran to be the ideal destination thanks to the abundance of activities and amenities. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Read more
Najee C wrote a review 10 Aug
1 contribution
I wanted to shout outs to Kyra at the front desk. She was very welcoming, friendly, and informative at the resort. She has answered all my questions regarding the resort and so far I can enjoy myself and stay here. Thank you so much, Kyra!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, it is an honor to be recognized for our exemplary guest service. We appreciate your comments about Kyra, since "excellence in hospitality" is an integral part of our resort's culture. Thank you for choosing the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa and for the 5-star review. Our team looks forward to welcoming you to back to the Catamaran next time your plans bring you to San Diego.
Read more
Ruby C wrote a review 9 Aug
San Diego, California1 contribution
Last Saturday, my husband and I celebrated our 17th Anniversary at Catamaran Resort, eating at the Oceana Coastal Kitchen. We went to Oceana because of the good reviews and we were not surprised because first, the food was great and second, we met some amazing people working at the resort. We were first acknowledged by AUGUSTO when he valeted our car. He gave us his most beautiful smile and helped us locate the way to the restaurant. We were also greeted by JULIA, one of the bartenders in Oceana. She was very kind to us and very welcoming. It was a pleasure meeting wonderful people like Julia and Augusto that give excellent service and makes you feel very welcoming. We will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Ruby, thank you for allowing Oceana Coastal Kitchen and the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa to be a part of your 17th anniversary celebration. We are delighted to hear that that you enjoyed our delicious California coastal cuisine, and that our staff made such an exemplary effort to ensure you left with positive memories! We know our staff will appreciate your recognition of their service, and we hope you have the opportunity to join us again soon.
Read more
Lindsey M wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution2 helpful votes
If I could give this hotel zero stars I would. The one redeeming quality is access to the bay. The rooms are outdated, filthy and smelly. Had to move rooms multiple times due to shower not working, tv not working and losing power in our room. The entire hotel looks as though it hasn’t been cleaned in months. No daily room cleaning. This hotel by far is a dump. Do not waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Lindsey, thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the issues and inconvenience you experienced. Our manager would like to contact you directly to address your concerns. However, we don't have your contact information. Please email us at your earliest convenience at info@catamaranresort.com and include the name under which your reservation was made, dates of stay, and phone/email address. We hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Tina S wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
Had an absolute blast on our vacation here. Beautiful location, the hotel atmosphere is incredible. Ryan from guest services was so helpful and pleasant. Could not speak more highly of her customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear valued guest, it is music to our ears to hear that you had an amazing vacation at the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, location on Mission Bay, and our tranquil tropical vibe. Ryan exemplifies the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa's commitment to excellence in guest service; thank you for the recognition. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Read more
Laurie M wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
I just reserved a room at Catamaran resort with Kyla. She was very personable and professional and went out of her way to get us the best rate possible. I really appreciated that. Thank you Kyla. We’re really excited.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, we are pleased to receive your 5-star review. It is a pleasure to hear that our reservations agent exceeded your expectations during the booking process. We are eager to welcome you to the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa, a tropical paradise with many activities, amenities, and lush grounds. Enjoy your visit.
Read more
Amanda W wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
I wanted to make sure Ryan G got a shout out. He helped me print out my baseball game tickets. I didn’t realize till last minute that they had to be printed out. My husband and I would have gotten down to the park and would have been out of luck. Thanks again Ryan G for your help!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, we appreciate you letting us know that Ryan provided you with the personalized and friendly service we are known for. We are pleased that you were well prepared for the game, and we hope you enjoyed all the amenities and activities at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in San Diego.
Read more
Aubrey B wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
My family and i have been staying at this hotel for 30 years. We come every summer and this was one of the best visits so far! The newly renovated rooms were very nice. But perhaps the best part was that Lacey got us the exact rooms that we had requested plus all of the extra things that we had asked for. This is the first year that that has happened and it transformed our stay. Upon arrival Erik stored all of our bags and was the one who kept all 4 families things together and delivered it with a smile and some Cher. And Hannah W checked us in and was so awesome! We stayed for a week and the hotel took the best care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Aubrey, thank you for once again choosing the Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa for your family's vacation. It is a pleasure to have you back at the Catamaran and we thank you for your kind comments about our staff's exceptional hospitality and service. Our team works hard to make our guests feel at home and well taken care of; knowing that was your experience is very rewarding. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms and all of the wonderful amenities and activities we offer. Best wishes from our team at the Catamaran, where it's "island time, all the time." We look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Peter S wrote a review 7 Aug
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We were made aware of "last minute construction works" shortly after the point when we could cancel the trip at no cost! That started alarm bells ringing. Upon arrival we found construction fencing around the tower building which had clearly been there some time, not last minute as suggested. Our room (357) was very poor, clearly hadn't been decorated for years, appliances didn't work or were broken and was not clean. We then looked at the balcony, WOW the concrete structure has decayed to a point where its falling apart, huge cracks in the floor and lumps loose in the ceiling. We promptly checked out and reported the problems to the booking agent, the hotel and agent have waived all costs. On a positive the young lady on reception was very understanding and didn't seem surprised by our complaint, she had zero support from her management team who have made no attempt to contact me and discuss. I can only comment on the tower building, other rooms might be lovely, it needs condemning and knocking down as its structure poses a serious health hazard. Great location however terrible hotel and management are not interested in guests.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose another hotel, Mission Bay is fantastic and well worth visiting
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Wilson, Marketing at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Peter, thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your kind words about our location, however, we are sorry to hear about the rest of your experience. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you by the unexpected maintenance on the balcony. Providing an excellent guest experience is very important to our management team and we regret that we did not deliver our usual standard of hospitality and service. We hope you give us another chance to make a positive impression in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$319 - US$524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catamaran resort & spa san diego, catamaran hotel mission bay, catamaran resort san diego, catamaran san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
310
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Promenade at Pacific Beach (0.3 km), Cannibal Bar (0.05 km), and Playa Tortuga (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oceana Coastal Kitchen, La Playa Taco Shop, and Woody's Breakfast and Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (5.4 km), Mormon Battalion Historic Site (6.7 km), and Whaley House Museum (6.8 km).