We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Booking.comUS$210*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Start your review of Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of four stayed here prior to taking a flight to Honolulu for a cruise. There are three requirements that I have in a room when we are traveling: 1) Breakfast included, preferably hot, waffles are a plus, 2) Shuttle to the airport, 3) Shuttle to the cruise dock. In this case, we were flying out so we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery A
Angelica R, Guest Service Agent at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your quick stay with us. Our shuttle is a great way to get around not only does it go to the airport it also goes to the harbor and the Amtrack station. My management team and I love hearing about...

Warrensburg, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our visit started off shaky when we were unable to use their shuttle service from the airport but they paid for the shuttle service we did take. The room was modest but clean and fine enough for us to make camp in. Location was fantastic for what we wanted to see.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Monterey, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nothing to special about the place. we just stayed for a night and we had a good night sleep at least. the downfall would be paying extra for a parking spot and the rude front desk lady. other than that, you get what you paid for. basic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rackz30
Angelica R, Guest services at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. I apologize for the rudeness of the front office staff. There is no excuse for poor service and rudeness. Please accept our sincere apology. We hope to host you again the next time your travels bring you to San Diego.

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Let me start by saying we had no serious issues with the place. What irritated me most was a) being charged in 3 separate card transactions and b) the rate we were quoted on Booking.com was room only so we got charged for that plus tax. As you will always have to pay these tax I don't see how they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VampyreNance
Angelica R, Guest services at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are in a a period a transitions and appreciate your observations so that we can improve our service. Many of these issues will be resolved in the near future. We hope that you return.

Clovis, California
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Sent the boys down for a couple nights at Spring Break. Room 207. They didn't have high expectations as it was a place to crash when they weren't visiting friends or hanging out at the beach. Booked it through Expedia, and was asking them about the place to leave a review. Completely grossed out when the one staying in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Angelica R, Guest Services at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to provide a review of your stay. On behalf of the management team I apologize for your experience. I have scheduled the room to be inspected. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and including the room number so that we could act quickly and remedy the problem.

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The worst hotel I've been in....booked for 4 people, not enough towls, not enough parking had to pay extra for parking garage daily, hole in the wall cause no stopper for the door, the water was clogged in the sink, I honestly don't recommend it. ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vasquezcv
Angelica R, Guest Service Representive at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the Red Roof Inn San Diego - Downtown! On behalf of the Management team, I'd like to thoroughly apologize for not exceeding your expectations! Your complete satisfaction, comfort and enjoyment during your stay is our primary objective. We apologize again that you did not fully receive the experience that you deserved....

Reviewed 25 February 2017

I am a frequent customer at this hotel every since i recieved my dui i had a situation happend to me on 2/24/16 the employee shanica was able to assist me and find a solution for my issue i was very upset about what had happend i was yelling and cursing she understood my concern listened to me and adressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon H
Nicholas V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review. We will let her know about the review. Shanica is a valuable member of the Red Roof team.

Reviewed 23 February 2017

We booked a double room with 2 queen beds, the beds were springy, could actually feel and hear the springs when I move. The space for the shower was only half the normal size and it was kind of blocked where the water in the shower will rise up to my ankle. 2 towels was only provided hence there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April B
Nicholas V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your stay. We are excited that our remodel plans have been approved. I will have a conversation with my housekeeping to adjust the amount of towels in the room. As I believe more than 2 sets should be provided in a room with 2 queens.

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The most amazingly accommodating and efficient staff. We called from airport at 9:30 a.m. for a shuttle. While others from more expensive hotels waited frustrated by poor communication, we knew how long ours would take and got a call back with an update. When we arrived at hotel, we were hoping we could leave our bags behind the desk since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
Nicholas V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay. Our staff strives to provide each guest with excellent customer service we look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to San Diego.

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 29 January 2017

WOW! What a great little stay in San Diego at the Red Roof Inn....Newbie to SD. Free Customer Service Shuttle that was prompt when called upon arrival. The Driver was extremely friendly and courteous. He was knowledgeable about the city. Upon mentioning that we wanted to go to the zoo he gave up a $5 off coupon for each person....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylebaber
Nicholas V, General Manager at Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown is located just minutes from The San Diego International Airport via car or our complimentary shuttle. Our newly renovated rooms are the provide the perfect place to stay while visiting local attractions like the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego State University or the USS Midway, all located within an easy drive of our location. For a day or evening out, enjoy all that the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer from food, to shopping to entertainment less than a mile from The Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown. Enjoy our Non-Smoking rooms and free WiFi while experiencing all that San Diego has to offer. Our business center is open 24 hours for all of your travel needs and a microwave & refrigerator are available in select rooms. Relax in our lobby with coffee house style coffee and tea in the lobby. Parking is available for passanger vehicles is available for a fee and complimentary shuttle service is available to the San Diego Airport, Amtrack & cruise ship terminals. Shuttle Hours are from 5AM to 9PM. So, if your destination is the San Diego Zoo, or taking in a game at the ball park or just visiting all of the attractions and events San Diego has in store, the Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown welcomes you as a guest in your travels to San Diego Downtown. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 719 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3213 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: €78 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtown
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel San Diego
Rodeway Inn Downtown
Rodeway Inn San Diego
San Diego Rodeway Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Sparta, New Jersey
Toronto, Canada
San Diego, California
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a different hotel”
S3827EVthomasb, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good rate a little bit away from downtoen but for the price walk or catch a uber 4$ or go 5 blocks down tge street and pay much more”
brandonh430, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try not to get a room by the main street, to noisy”
danaV1444WK, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“upper rooms are spacious with good a/c”
andyh642016, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
panama2000, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$210* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$555
Red RoofUS$209
Orbitz.comUS$209
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates