We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ocean Villa Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Villa Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ocean Villa Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 305: English reviews
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ocean Villa Inn on W Point Loma Blvd San Diego CA. It was our interest to find a place that our dog and us could enjoy the coast with out the looks non dog lovers give you. I must first qualify this as we didn't bring our 99lb. Buddy with us just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack H
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your feedback! We can't wait to meet Buddy! See you soon. Best, Jennifer

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The short version, if you don’t want to read about the whole experience: The beds are so springy and uncomfortable, you won’t sleep, the bathrooms are so gross, you won’t want to shower. There was sand on the floor, and in the bed. The TV remote was broken, the phone in the room didn’t work, there was no internet access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Damon R
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are currently in the midst of a renovation and about 3/4 of the way complete. Mattress are being replaced as well. Thank you for your feedback and the issues are being addressed. Best, Jennifer

Phoenix
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We booked this stay for the location and dog friendly. We didn't know what to expect as we hadn't traveled with our dog before and the standard of a pet friendly room. Checkin was a breeze and super friendly hotel staff who gave us a dog treat and toy and map of local OB restaurants. Our room was #25 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azkimPhoenix
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy everyone had a great time! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the OVI! I will take a look at our policies on TripAdvisor. Best, Jennifer

Vieille-Toulouse, France
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Not set in the most salubrious of ares this in does the job. From the outside it looks oh so tired but inside its clean and tidy rooms are OK we needed accommodation there and we got it. Somewhere to throw your head down and close to the beach but I would not be staying there for a holiday. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T194909
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are currently painting the exterior of the Inn as I'm sure you noticed during your stay. Hopefully you will come back and see our progress. Best, Jennifer

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms clean, outdated but I didnt expect much. It is a very friendly dog motel afterall. Parking difficult. Views are great of the ocean and dog beach. Very relaxing. No grocery stores nearby except little marts for booze so stop and shop before you get there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We could definitely use a closer market. I believe one is opening up on Newport ave. soon. Best, Jennifer

El Cajon
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This hotel has pluses and minuses. First the plus, we have two dogs and this is a dog friendly hotel. All people with dogs are on the first floor. Each room has an outdoor patio and a dog run length of hotel. They provide a doggie bag during check in, and there is a outside dog cleaning area with shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura S
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. So sorry about the plane noise. We look forward to your return. Best, Jennifer

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I loved it here. The balconys make me very happy. The ocean and bay view are gorgeous. The rooms are clean, the staff are nice. I loved the housekeepers. It's by a beach, dog and ocean beach. Which were perfect for our swimming needs. We don't have a dog and I was worried about cleanliness but that wasn't an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lin W
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying and reviewing the OVI! Please come back soon. I believe the deli you spoke of is Hungry Lu's...really good! Best, Jennifer

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Steps from the beach, not just pet friendly but pet preffered, and a nice continental breakfast all at a very decent rate per night. Wonderful balcony to eat on with a beach view, full size fridge, comfy beds and friendly staff. If you are staying with a group and plan on using the couch as a bed though, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SarizonaHey
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and come back soon! Can't wait to meet the pups next time! Best, Jennifer

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Would have been great if I actually was able to sleep. There what seemed to be crack addicts above me walking and moving furniture around upstairs until 5am. The ceilings and walls are paper thin and you can hear people talking and dogs barking all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GenoB3
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

We're very sorry about the noisy neighbors. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. Best, Jennifer

Pinconning, Michigan
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I wanted to stay somewhere near the beach for a portion of my stay in San Diego, and I found this place to be one of the less expensive options. It ends up being an ok little hotel. It is older, but the rooms were still pretty comfortable. When I checked in, things went fairly well, though I did have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gittinsj
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. What day and time did you check out? I would like to address this with the front desk associate. Best, Jennifer

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#143 of 278 in San Diego
726 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#125 of 278 in San Diego
349 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#124 of 278 in San Diego
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,008 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#109 of 278 in San Diego
625 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Ocean Villa Inn

Address: 5142 W Point Loma Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-1315
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Price Range: €109 - €228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Villa Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villa Hotel San Diego
Ocean Hotel San Diego
Ocean San Diego
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Villa Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Villa Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No view from the bottom floor. Upper floors would have an ocean view but are not near the dog run.”
 of 5 bubbles gmdga, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The beds made a lot of noise above us. Not sure how to get around that.”
 of 5 bubbles stuart310, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view balcony is a great way to start your day”
 of 5 bubbles charleegirl2, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view to the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles Surfergirl90, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have room for non dog people but i suggest you like to be around dogs and some barking.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH44, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5