We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor

Save
Share
5102 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2356
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$142
US$124
View deal
SAVE US$18
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$142
US$124
View deal
SAVE US$18
Priceline
eDreamsUS$124
HurbUS$142
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Updated 02/06/20

About

#193 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Escape to a boutique style hotel on San Diego Harbor, where bay breezes and sunsets captivate your spirit. The Comfort Inn San Diego at the Harbor is an intimate coastal retreat for family vacations, fishing adventures, and cruise getaways. Overlooking the sparkling harbor, our San Diego hotel is the place to relax, refresh and explore the wonders of the bay. Relax in redecorated guestrooms with stylish décor and soothing waterfront views. Lounge on the sundeck overlooking the marina, swim in the outdoor pool and walk to the fishing landing. Wake up with our breakfast buffet and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We are just minutes from Ocean Beach, San Diego Convention Center, Balboa Park, SeaWorld San Diego, Seaport Village and the San Diego Zoo, and one mile from San Diego International Airport. Enjoy a Southern California getaway and the beauty of the coast just beyond our doors.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Bicycles available
Boating
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
0Attractionswithin 0.5 km
290Reviews11Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 95
  • 74
  • 39
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gafiltafish wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California1,833 contributions76 helpful votes
Booked an hour before I checked in on Priceline for just under $73 with tax (had a promo code for 12% off). I just wanted a clean place for 1 night to sleep to recover from an operation so wanted a place that was within 25 minutes due to traffic. My expectations were low. To my surprise, the place overall was great. I've stayed in 3 motels including this one during Covid, and I have to say they get an A++++ on how they are handling the pandemic. They give you a mini hand sanitizer at check in, and i the room everything is prewrapped (the remote, towels, soap/shampoo etc). They really went above and beyond compared to the other motels. I saw a review mentioned the grab and go breakfast. At least they are doing it. Two motels I stayed at still list having a continental breakfast however they aren't doing jack **** due to Covid (which is understandable since the travel industry is taking a huge loss so I get it). The Comfort Inn at least is giving you a little something so be grateful or give to a bum (lots of them here in California!). Front desk employee was sweet too. Using us Priceline folks get the worst rooms due to prepaying. She actually asked me what kind of a room I wanted (upstairs, downstairs, 1 bed, 2 bed etc). Due to it being near a busy street, I just said any quiet room, and that's exactly where I'm at right now. Walked around a bit for exercise and they have a cute little pool, and a patio on the 2nd floor that overlooks the boat dock. Wifi is strong, and the shower pressure was fine. Only reason 4 stars and not 5 is because the parking lot is really small and cramped. I have to leave very early in the AM when it will be dark out so I hope I have no difficulty getting out. Also when I went to the bathroom I found a couple hairs (hairs get to me...granted they didn't look like pubes). Would stay at again. Other motels walking distance including Ramada (stayed at the PL Ramada and had problems), Vagabond, and a couple smaller nonchain ones, but I liked the Comfort Inn. You got Humphrey's too of course but $$$. Lots of places to eat walking distance for all budgets as well as a Ralph's.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Point Loma area. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
Peter H wrote a review Feb 2021
Honolulu, Hawaii169 contributions61 helpful votes
Room: spacious, good size bed with enough bedding, pillows. Refrigerator had a broken freezer. Although a large room, lots of empty wasted space; they could use another dresser/drawer for more clothes storage, the single hutch is shared with refrigerator, thus only 3 small drawers available. Only 1 small collapsable suitcase stand, should get more of these and/or table. Plenty of room to place either a large chair or loveseat, since there is only 1 small desk/chair; if you have more than 1 person, everyone else will have to stand while they eat (didn't want to eat on the bed). Old air conditioner and old refrigerator kept making lots of noise, impossible to sleep at night. Service: Front desk is friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping is good when you get it. Day 2, housekeeper checked in and asked if we wanted service (good). However on Day 3, no one came by or checked with us, even with no "do not disturb" card out (bad). I had to go to front desk to request new towels. Ditto Day 5, they saw the "do not disturb" card in the morning but when we pulled it in during the afternoon they didn't check in (bad). Daily free "breakfast" affected by Pandemic, expect just an apple, muffin, juice in a bag. Not even a boiled egg. Location: Great. Across from harbor with a lot of eating places e.g. Mitch's Seafood, Jimmys Famous American Tavern.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: No elevator, if you require accessibility or can't lug your luggage up narrow stairs, request...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Responded 24 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time visiting San Diego. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience regarding not getting housekeeping service as requested. I have forwarded your comment to our housekeeping supervisor to ensure housekeeping service is provided when requested. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Point Loma area. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
Nancy O wrote a review Jan 2021
Clovis, California22 contributions4 helpful votes
Old motel with BUSY TRAFFIC on each end. Noise unbearable. No elevator for second floor. Rooms clean, bath tiny. Told clerk we couldn't stay. He said we had been in the rooms for 3 hours so no refund. One hour we were gone for lunch. Didn't use rooms, but he said no refund. He told me traffic noise is less at night. I said, what about at 5am? No answer. We checked out with no hint of I'm sorry or refund of any kind. As a Choice Hotel member who often stays at Comfort Inn, this was beyond disappointing. Nothing like a typical Choice Hotel. The rooms2 rooms we had were clean. Bath was tiny. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE. No elevator so lugged bags upstairs. No way can I recommend this place. If I could give a negative rate I'd have done it. We left and checked into the Hilton which was beautiful and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No quiet or best rooms
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Responded 25 Jan 2021
We charged you for one room even though you occupied and utilized two rooms for over three hours. When you checked in at 12:00 noon, there was some traffic noise that goes away in the late afternoon after rush hour. We do not claim anywhere to have a shuttle. Thank you for your time and feedback.
Read more
hrcalso wrote a review Oct 2020
Grand Rapids, Michigan1,620 contributions131 helpful votes
TA says it has airport shuttle. Before I booked I called if there is a cost and they do NOT offer it. What more is there to say but I have to have 200. I need 51 more to finish this off. I am getting closer to the 200. Got it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hello, I am not sure who you were booking with but our website does not say we have an airport shuttle. We provide information for taxi cabs, Uber or Lift. Thanks for your feedback. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
California_Dreaming wrote a review May 2020
La Jolla, California3 contributions5 helpful votes
I stumbled across this smaller place while walking by, and they were also listed on the third party hotel websites. I enjoyed my stay so much, I have been back several times, and will continue to stay here if it works out. It’s really cute on the outside, right next to tons of food, a big grocery store, Shelter Island, and lots of other cool stuff nearby. The beach is nearby for sunset, and the area itself seems to be very local and lots of people walking and driving around doing normal life stuff. At night Point Loma in the other side of town is way scary, but this is the very nice part of Point Loma where all the locals live in large homes and own boats, and it just feels nice if you stroll around. The staff at this hotel have been so sweet and accomadating, I couldn’t ask for more. Crystal, the manager is the nicest person, and is very fair, upfront on what she can help you with, is just a terrific manager! Even the cleaning staff is so friendly and warm. This hotel is such a secret gem for this area, don’t stay anywhere else if you happen to be in Point Loma. The other hotels surrounding this place are old and awful! The rooms are very clean here, with hardwood floors, thank goodness no old gross carpet, beautiful shutters on the windows, no old gross curtains, everything feels clean and good here. I travel so much and I stay at 5 star resorts to regular hotels, I know my stuff, and this place if you are into very clean and treated well is the place to stay at! With even the Covid-19 going on, they handled it so well with making sure you feel safe.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
Responded 31 May 2020
Hello, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with such positive feedback! We are so happy you were satisfied with our location, room amenities and staff services. I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn at the harbor hotel san diego, comfort inn san diego, san diego comfort inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mitch's Seafood, Jimmy's Famous American Tavern, and Pizza Nova.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (4.4 km), Whaley House Museum (4.3 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (6.5 km).
Is Comfort Inn San Diego At The Harbor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.