We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor

Save
Share
5102 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2356
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$254
View deal
Comfort Inn
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Updated 23/07/21

About

#191 of 293 in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Escape to a boutique style hotel on San Diego Harbor, where bay breezes and sunsets captivate your spirit. The Comfort Inn San Diego Airport at the Harbor is an intimate coastal retreat for family vacations, fishing adventures, and cruise getaways. Overlooking the sparkling harbor, our San Diego hotel is the place to relax, refresh and explore the wonders of the bay. Relax in redecorated guestrooms with stylish décor and soothing waterfront views. Lounge on the sundeck overlooking the marina, swim in the outdoor pool and walk to the fishing landing. Wake up with our breakfast buffet and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We are just minutes from Ocean Beach, San Diego Convention Center, Balboa Park, SeaWorld San Diego, Seaport Village and the San Diego Zoo, and one mile from San Diego International Airport. Enjoy a Southern California getaway and the beauty of the coast just beyond our doors.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Bicycles available
Boating
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Car hire
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
0Attractionswithin 0.5 km
291Reviews11Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 95
  • 74
  • 39
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Charles wrote a review Sep 2021
Sun City West, Arizona2 contributions
This was an old motel, built in the 50s. Not much had been upgraded except the bed--it was really comfortable., and the price, which was awful for what there was. Check-in wasn't a problem, walking to our room on the other hand was scary. We were down in a short dark hallway. The room wasn't very large, but it did cover most of the loud street noise, all day and most of the night. There was a small size coffeemaker but the cord was very short and could only be plugged in on the desk, which left no room to work at the desk. The view was of a block wall building maybe 8 feet away. The outside trash cans were totally filled when we arrived, and were still with the same things when we left 3 days later, because some of it was ours that we recognized. While the other hotels we have stayed in while in San Diego area in the last few months have had fresh breakfast, this was a cheap grab and go, with a small sausage/egg sandwich, and a small granola bar and a bottle of water. Doesn't seem like that is a state mandate, but personal choice by the owners!! Bathroom was really tiny and when husband was taking a shower, someone upstairs was also showering, and he had water backing into our drain--yuck! Our A/C was in the wall and stuck out from the base. It looked unsafe. There was room cleaning only if you asked for it. We understood that, but the price should reflect no breakfast, no cleaning and no trash pickup, but it certainly didn't. For $160 a night, we expect A LOT more . We are Choice Hotel members and frequent stay in one; there was nothing except a choice of 200 points or a bottle of water for us. Quite disappointing, for sure. Plus we talked with a disabled vet who had to pay extra for a handicap room, and then since he had a big truck, was told he had to pay for two spaces!!! I can't even believe that is legal and it certainly wasn't moral. Street people going through our trash cans. The refrigerator really needed defrosting. We could hear the people above us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not sure if the 2nd floor had any views, cuz ours certainly didn't
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 15 Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be using your input to make improvements to our guest experience. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
gafiltafish wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California1861 contributions82 helpful votes
Booked an hour before I checked in on Priceline for just under $73 with tax (had a promo code for 12% off). I just wanted a clean place for 1 night to sleep to recover from an operation so wanted a place that was within 25 minutes due to traffic. My expectations were low. To my surprise, the place overall was great. I've stayed in 3 motels including this one during Covid, and I have to say they get an A++++ on how they are handling the pandemic. They give you a mini hand sanitizer at check in, and i the room everything is prewrapped (the remote, towels, soap/shampoo etc). They really went above and beyond compared to the other motels. I saw a review mentioned the grab and go breakfast. At least they are doing it. Two motels I stayed at still list having a continental breakfast however they aren't doing jack **** due to Covid (which is understandable since the travel industry is taking a huge loss so I get it). The Comfort Inn at least is giving you a little something so be grateful or give to a bum (lots of them here in California!). Front desk employee was sweet too. Using us Priceline folks get the worst rooms due to prepaying. She actually asked me what kind of a room I wanted (upstairs, downstairs, 1 bed, 2 bed etc). Due to it being near a busy street, I just said any quiet room, and that's exactly where I'm at right now. Walked around a bit for exercise and they have a cute little pool, and a patio on the 2nd floor that overlooks the boat dock. Wifi is strong, and the shower pressure was fine. Only reason 4 stars and not 5 is because the parking lot is really small and cramped. I have to leave very early in the AM when it will be dark out so I hope I have no difficulty getting out. Also when I went to the bathroom I found a couple hairs (hairs get to me...granted they didn't look like pubes). Would stay at again. Other motels walking distance including Ramada (stayed at the PL Ramada and had problems), Vagabond, and a couple smaller nonchain ones, but I liked the Comfort Inn. You got Humphrey's too of course but $$$. Lots of places to eat walking distance for all budgets as well as a Ralph's.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Point Loma area. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
Peter H wrote a review Feb 2021
Honolulu, Hawaii181 contributions82 helpful votes
Room: spacious, good size bed with enough bedding, pillows. Refrigerator had a broken freezer. Although a large room, lots of empty wasted space; they could use another dresser/drawer for more clothes storage, the single hutch is shared with refrigerator, thus only 3 small drawers available. Only 1 small collapsable suitcase stand, should get more of these and/or table. Plenty of room to place either a large chair or loveseat, since there is only 1 small desk/chair; if you have more than 1 person, everyone else will have to stand while they eat (didn't want to eat on the bed). Old air conditioner and old refrigerator kept making lots of noise, impossible to sleep at night. Service: Front desk is friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping is good when you get it. Day 2, housekeeper checked in and asked if we wanted service (good). However on Day 3, no one came by or checked with us, even with no "do not disturb" card out (bad). I had to go to front desk to request new towels. Ditto Day 5, they saw the "do not disturb" card in the morning but when we pulled it in during the afternoon they didn't check in (bad). Daily free "breakfast" affected by Pandemic, expect just an apple, muffin, juice in a bag. Not even a boiled egg. Location: Great. Across from harbor with a lot of eating places e.g. Mitch's Seafood, Jimmys Famous American Tavern.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: No elevator, if you require accessibility or can't lug your luggage up narrow stairs, request...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 24 Feb 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful time visiting San Diego. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience regarding not getting housekeeping service as requested. I have forwarded your comment to our housekeeping supervisor to ensure housekeeping service is provided when requested. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Point Loma area. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
Nancy O wrote a review Jan 2021
Clovis, California22 contributions9 helpful votes
Old motel with BUSY TRAFFIC on each end. Noise unbearable. No elevator for second floor. Rooms clean, bath tiny. Told clerk we couldn't stay. He said we had been in the rooms for 3 hours so no refund. One hour we were gone for lunch. Didn't use rooms, but he said no refund. He told me traffic noise is less at night. I said, what about at 5am? No answer. We checked out with no hint of I'm sorry or refund of any kind. As a Choice Hotel member who often stays at Comfort Inn, this was beyond disappointing. Nothing like a typical Choice Hotel. The rooms2 rooms we had were clean. Bath was tiny. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE. No elevator so lugged bags upstairs. No way can I recommend this place. If I could give a negative rate I'd have done it. We left and checked into the Hilton which was beautiful and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No quiet or best rooms
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 25 Jan 2021
We charged you for one room even though you occupied and utilized two rooms for over three hours. When you checked in at 12:00 noon, there was some traffic noise that goes away in the late afternoon after rush hour. We do not claim anywhere to have a shuttle. Thank you for your time and feedback.
Read more
hrcalso wrote a review Oct 2020
Grand Rapids, Michigan1788 contributions179 helpful votes
TA says it has airport shuttle. Before I booked I called if there is a cost and they do NOT offer it. What more is there to say but I have to have 200. I need 51 more to finish this off. I am getting closer to the 200. Got it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hello, I am not sure who you were booking with but our website does not say we have an airport shuttle. We provide information for taxi cabs, Uber or Lift. Thanks for your feedback. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
California_Dreaming wrote a review May 2020
La Jolla, California3 contributions10 helpful votes
I stumbled across this smaller place while walking by, and they were also listed on the third party hotel websites. I enjoyed my stay so much, I have been back several times, and will continue to stay here if it works out. It’s really cute on the outside, right next to tons of food, a big grocery store, Shelter Island, and lots of other cool stuff nearby. The beach is nearby for sunset, and the area itself seems to be very local and lots of people walking and driving around doing normal life stuff. At night Point Loma in the other side of town is way scary, but this is the very nice part of Point Loma where all the locals live in large homes and own boats, and it just feels nice if you stroll around. The staff at this hotel have been so sweet and accomadating, I couldn’t ask for more. Crystal, the manager is the nicest person, and is very fair, upfront on what she can help you with, is just a terrific manager! Even the cleaning staff is so friendly and warm. This hotel is such a secret gem for this area, don’t stay anywhere else if you happen to be in Point Loma. The other hotels surrounding this place are old and awful! The rooms are very clean here, with hardwood floors, thank goodness no old gross carpet, beautiful shutters on the windows, no old gross curtains, everything feels clean and good here. I travel so much and I stay at 5 star resorts to regular hotels, I know my stuff, and this place if you are into very clean and treated well is the place to stay at! With even the Covid-19 going on, they handled it so well with making sure you feel safe.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 31 May 2020
Hello, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with such positive feedback! We are so happy you were satisfied with our location, room amenities and staff services. I have shared your comments with our staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
JeanettePenticton_BC wrote a review Mar 2020
Penticton, Canada56 contributions32 helpful votes
We had a stop over in San Diego and found a Choice Hotel near the airport which also happened to be near the harbor which was a treat. The hotel was simple, older, almost clean except for the sticky bathroom floor. There was safe, little fridge, wifi all working well and the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 31 May 2020
Hello, We are so happy you were satisfied with our location close to the airport. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience regarding the bathroom floor. I have forwarded your comment to our housekeeping supervisor to ensure we remove cleaning products completely from the floors. Thank you for your time and valuable feedback and we hope to see you on your next visit to this area. Kind Regards, A J and Staff
Read more
DOCBABE_SCOUT wrote a review Feb 2020
Sun City, Arizona737 contributions198 helpful votes
This is an older property. Interior more like Motel 6. Small. No carpet. Wifi actually works!!!at all hours. Breakfast very complete. Rms have coffee, micro, and refrain. There is a roif top sitting are overlooking the harbor.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 31 May 2020
Hello, We are happy you were satisfied with your morning breakfast, the Wireless Internet and the sundeck. We hope you had a great time in San Diego. Thank you for your positive feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit to the Point Loma area.
Read more
mkcurran wrote a review Feb 2020
Yuma, Arizona1048 contributions80 helpful votes
The Harbor at Shelter Island is just across the street from this hotel. It was nice to be able to walk to many restaurants and the marina. The hotel is mostly quiet and clean. The parking lot is small so get there early and don't move your car. Breakfast is okay, but in a cramped room, so patience is required, especially around the coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sonny Thadani, Owner at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 31 May 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed our location. We hope you had a wonderful time visiting San Diego. We truly appreciated your feedback and we hope to see you on your next trip to this area.
Read more
798vincentf wrote a review Jan 2020
Tucson, Arizona2 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was nice enough. The safe did not work, nor were they able to fix it in a timely manner. The toilet bowl was not firmly anchored to the floor. Taking a shower meant waiting at least 5 minutes before the water reached a decently hot temp. There was no Do-Not -Disturb hanger for the door. But the worst was the available parking area, or lack of it. So few spaces and very cramped. There were spaces labeled COMPACT but people ignored them making it at one point impossible to get into the lot at all. I was told by the attending staff that if there were no spaces I would have to park on the street. But the area had few to no street parking available. They do not have adequate parking given the number of rooms they provide.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SonnySanDiego, Manager at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience regarding the safe not working and the hot water taking long to reach your room. We do have parking available for all rooms. There are two sides of the hotel for parking and although we cannot guarantee parking near your room, we do guarantee a parking spot onsite. Thank you for your time and valuable feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn at the harbor hotel san diego, comfort inn san diego, san diego comfort inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mitch's Seafood, Jimmy's Famous American Tavern, and Pizza Nova.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor have airport transportation?
Yes, Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (4.4 km), Whaley House Museum (4.3 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (6.5 km).
Is Comfort Inn San Diego Airport At The Harbor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.