We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Show Prices
#75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,650: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

The hotel was nice & clean , check out was as easy as it can be , the location is PERFECT if you are there the weekend or to party, the only problem I had was a few surprise charges but I called them they were glad to give me a hand and took care of it just waiting on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaBellaVita323
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear LaBellaVita323, Thank you for giving us your feedback! I want to offer an apology that your bill was not 100% correct but thank you for allowing us to make it right with you. I hope you have received your refund and that your folio is now correct. While "almost perfect" is pretty darn good we strive to be "perfect!"...

Tarquinia, Italy
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I arrived at the hotel late at night. For some reason, my reservation was not correct (they had me arriving the next day) and, without me even asking, they quickly fixed the problem, took full responsibility of the incident (I am not sure it was) and upgraded me to a magnificent 3-piece suite! The breakfast is great, the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcoEtGiusy
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear MarcoEtGiusy, First and foremost, I want to apologize that your reservation was not correct upon arrival. I am so happy we were able to resolve it quickly and offer you an upgraded room for the inconvenience. And while we certainly pride ourselves on having a super-clean hotel, we don't plan to have any surgeons scrubbing in and getting to...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 January 2015

This hotel is located across the street from the convention center, 15 min walk from Midway, 2 miles from the zoo and in the heart of the Gaslamp quarter. Service upon check-in was super friendly and the staff always greeted us with a smile and asked if they could be of assistance every time we walked through the lobby -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Starthur
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Starthur, WOW! Thank you so much for the amazing review! It sounds like you enjoyed a stay in one of our awesome Loft rooms. You'll have to come back again and stay in our main tower as all of those guest rooms have just undergone renovation and are fully refreshed with a modern look and upgraded amenities. Thank you...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

To start with the hotel is in the perfect location.. Right across from the Gaslamp quarter but not close so you cannot sleep. The rooms are very clean and the bed is very comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean the only thing missing is an exhaust fan. However, the service was excellent. Upon arriving the valet team is friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eagles1096
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Eagles1096, Thank you for the outstanding review! Perfect location + clean, comfortable rooms + excellent service = a winning combination for sure! Nothing makes us happier than to hear that we delivered on our hospitality promise to you and that you were able to have a comfortable, enjoyable and carefree stay. Thank you for allowing us to serve you...

Laguna Niguel, United States
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The location next door to the Gaslamp District was great, the room was clean and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately, we were guaranteed a 3pm check-in but our two rooms were not ready until 5pm so two hours late! I also had to call the front office three times before a toothbrush was sent up. In compensation, the hotel did...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Jean B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback. I apologize that you encountered a few issues during your recent stay. Three calls for a toothbrush - yikes. We are better than that and I apologize that we failed to show you that. Please accept my apology. I am also sorry...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 January 2015

This is my second review of this hotel...and it was exactly the same as the last time...excellent. This is a great property in a great location in the Gaslamp district. The staff was tremendous. They have always been very professional and courteous. We stayed in a Terrace Loft Suite...and it was tremendous again. I highly recommend these rooms. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UsingCommonSense
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear UsingCommonSense, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us another review. I am delighted that you've discovered our Loft rooms and that you're spreading the word! The contemporary look and feel and spacious layouts in our Loft rooms really make them something special. I am disappointed to hear your feelings about our restaurant and breakfast buffet....

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 January 2015

I had booked on line in October for a December visit. I specifically requested adjoining rooms -- one with a king; one with two doubles. Not a big deal. We started our trip at the Hilton on San Gabriel -- no problem. We got to this Hilton, PROBLEM. First of all, although we were after 4pm, our rooms weren't ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adobin
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear adobin, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. I want to offer an apology that your stay was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service that we pride ourselves on delivering. I am so sorry that you did not receive your requested room type with two double beds...

Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Its a neat and clean and functional hotel located in an interesting area where there are several options for eating out and for those who are interested in going out at night and having a few drinks. The biggest disappointment has been not even a fridge in the room which is available in several average hotels. The breakfast is $30...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arshadaltaf
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear arshadaltaf, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate your review. It seems you stayed with us just before the completion of our room refresh project as now every single one of our rooms has a refrigerator as a standard room amenity. We are excited to have this new offering. Thanks also for recognizing...

Gainesville, United States
Reviewed 23 December 2014

Upon check-in I was given an upgrade to accommodate my family. We could have done fine with a room that had 2 full sized beds, but I was given a loft room that was very nice. The hotel staff was very helpful. The Valets were equally as helpful. I was given a few suggestions for breakfast and dinner. They were...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William J
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear William J, Thank you so much for the "nice" review! That is great to hear you enjoyed an upgraded room on our Loft side. We have such a unique hotel with our beautiful rooms in our main tower in addition to our spacious Loft rooms with modern, stylish decor. We have something for everyone! Thank you also for the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Finally away for vacation and not business! Hotel staff and location superb, from initial contact with valet parking, check in to check out. Rooms recently renovated to a modern comfortable traveler friendly style, bathrooms could use a little more updating. Location in Gaslamp Quarter gave easy access to all San Diego offerings. Restaurants, shops and harbour side location perfect for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
Brooke B, Manager at Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review

Dear Daniel M, Thank you for your review. How nice to be able to enjoy a trip from New York to sunny San Diego for leisure instead of work! It sounds like you stayed in one of our newly-refreshed guest rooms and enjoyed the modern, updated look. Thank you for the feedback on the bathroom and tub in your guest...

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (357)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Full Room with View (39)
Viewed
King Room wih View (26)
Viewed
King Whirlpool Room (55)
Viewed
Pool Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
3,987 reviews
The Horton Grand Hotel
#67 of 279 in San Diego
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
New Leaf Restaurant
New Leaf Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish 12-story Hotel situated in downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, adjacent to the bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 401 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Price Range: €147 - €496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in San Diego
#78 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
dallas, tejas
2 months ago
Naples, Florida
10 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Free Wifi for Hilton Honors people.”
 of 5 bubbles LMK101, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on a higher floor or stay somewhere on the bay side.”
 of 5 bubbles jam3nd, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a nicer view are those facing the convention center and bay”
 of 5 bubbles Conventus4swiss, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you join the Hilton Honors program and download the app, you can check in and choose your room ahead of time.”
 of 5 bubbles pandacookies, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Parking is a little bit pricy, suggest you can park nearby parking (or street parking). Overnight parking is only $15”
 of 5 bubbles latecheckoutpls, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5