We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pacifica Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Diego
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pacifica Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Cheap, really good located, it's not extremely clean, could be a little better, shared bathrooms kinda clean, not something to be concerned... The rooms are a little warm, but they have a fan in the room, which is good. You dot have a refrigerator so you shouldn't bring any food. But they offer a microwave on the third floor I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomas B
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Staying here has been one of my worst hotel experiences. First of all, upon arriving, the manager, an old lady who only speaks basic English, tried to squeeze more money out of me: although it says $45/night (+tax) on their website for a single room, she said I need to pay $55/night + tax (the price of a double), and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LongTalker

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hostel (really, that is what it is) is located in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter - you couldn't ask for a better location. There are 3 pubs across the street and 1 beside the hostel, not to mention many, many restaurants within 3 blocks. The Convention Center trolley station is about a 5 minute walk from this... More 

Helpful?
Thank cdnburlesque
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Would give the hotel 3 and a half rating if i could. Hotel is in a great location close by to public transport and many places to eat at and socialize. Room was pretty small and the bed was really small making it hard to sleep sometimes which is probably my only major complaint and no elevators so you will... More 

Helpful?
Thank cuzzie6
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay for the basics. I had the single room with bath - it was clean, inexpensive for the area, and in a great location (which is right in the middle of the historic Gaslamp District). There are no "extras" but it was well worth it (for example no mini fridge or microwave), but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lkt7779
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I knew when I made the reservations that I shouldn't expect a mint on my pillow, but I wasn't expecting to find bed bugs on my pillow either. I woke up with bed bug bites all over my face and body; two weeks later, I'm still waiting for the scabs to go away. I had to throw out my suitcase... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank AYone
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I traveled to San Diego twice last year and stayed at the Pacifica both times. We loved it. It's close to the beach, walking distance to La Jolla shopping & restaurants, but most of all because the staff was fantastic. Very kind, accommodating and not 'fake' friendly, but 'real' friendly. The hotel bar has live piano player... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arnie F
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This place is crawling with bugs in every corridor! We stayed here during Comic-Con and couldn't sleep thanks to half of the crap in our room. There is no A/C in this place, so you'll be sweating like hell all night as well. Even if there was A/C I doubt the slumlord owner would turn it on. The wifi seemed... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Michael C
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

You get what you pay for. Nothing special, cheap and affordable. Small private room with bathroom but very clean. Friendly staff. Good location.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyan
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

it´s the worst place EVER! .. we didn´t sleep there... when we arrived we got a terrible smell... the rooms are so dirty and smells like public restroom... i´m seriously you will find that everything i say it´s true, if you put a foot in the hotel...

Helpful?
2 Thank JocelynSoler
SanDiegoHotelman, Manager at Pacifica Hotel, responded to this review

We have several reviews on other sites (------- and -------) that are very complimentary about our hotel. We offer clean and secure accommodations for budget conscious travelers. This reviewer called and e-mailed us several times and reserved 2 rooms (without a deposit). As far as we know, this reviewer did not even visit the hotel, much less stay with us.... More 

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#53 of 283 in San Diego
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Pacifica Hotel

Address: 551 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6979
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Price Range: €66 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pacifica Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for top floor as you can hear everything anyone does above you if you're second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles cdnburlesque, 16 Oct 2013 | Read review
1 of 1