We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
521 Market St, San Diego, CA 92101-7024
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$172
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$180
PricelineUS$172
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 138 Specialty lodging in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Experience the best of Southern California’s beaches, warm weather, and culture when you stay at our downtown hostel in San Diego, California. Located in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, HI San Diego Downtown hostel is a perfect base for exploring the city. Decked out with endless art and San Diego flavor galore, this hostel is for anyone who wants to feel immersed in the local scene. Heading out to the beach, a local park, or a walk to see activist murals? We’ll set you up with all the info you need to get there hassle-free. Our awesome staff will help you get to know the city like a local with self-guided walking tour guides and tips for finding the best tacos and carne asada fries in town. Come relax in one of our private rooms or shared dorms while getting to know San Diego a little better.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Game room
Billiards
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Wifi
Darts
Board games / puzzles
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
394Reviews5Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 146
  • 58
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jamesin415 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
This hostel had clean bedrooms and very good service. The location is in the Gaslamp District, a fun downtown area of restaurants. I stayed in a two bunkbed, 4-person room with 3 friends. The mattresses were comfortable. There was a sink and shower in the room, all clean and pleasant,. We all had bicycles and were able to park them in the large common hallway area. The only negative is that on weekend nights there is street noise. I am a light sleeper and with wax earplugs I was fine. I would be happy to stay here again on my next trip to San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DennisAlabaso wrote a review Feb 2020
Carson, California82 contributions56 helpful votes
The location was great, the check-in and check-out went a-okay, and so did with the dorm rooms. In fact, the widescreen HDTVs were very-good, especially when we all watched the New Year's Eve Countdown Live from Las Vegas, Nevada.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Best Views, Quieter Floors, Ceiling Fans and of course the hostel's kitchen.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daydream22212048385, General Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 6 Feb 2020
DennisAlabaso, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again, it is always a pleasure to host you! We are so glad you were able to enjoy the New Years Countdown with us. Happy Hosteling! Your Friends at HI San Diego Downtown
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sanook T wrote a review Oct 2019
Bangkok, Thailand5 contributions3 helpful votes
My friends and I just spent a horrible week here at San Diego Hostel. Every day there were cockroaches in our room. Showers were despicable. I haven’t seen this kind of filth even while visiting developing countries in Africa & SE Asia. Overnight girl was terrible. Not friendly or hospitable. Hardly at the reception desk. Many times we had to wait for her to show up. Refund requested ... pronto!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daydream22212048385, General Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 16 Oct 2019
sanookt, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about yours and your friends recent stay at out Hostel. I am very caught off guard by the pictures you have as well as what you had to say about your stay as this is the first I am hearing of the issues you are describing. I have gone ahead and shared what you had to say with my department heads to ensure we correct the issues, and I can report back that we did not find any bugs of any kind, but still had our Pest Control people come to the property to verify as well. If you would like to further discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me, as I and my team are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay. I do hope that you were able to enjoy your time in San Diego, and although you didn't mention you enjoyed any of our free tours, I do hope you were able to join one, and if not that you were still able to enjoy San Diego's diverse neighborhoods. I hope your continued travels went well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DennisAlabaso wrote a review Oct 2019
Carson, California82 contributions56 helpful votes
The experience of my dorm room, free wi-fi, and good breakfast activities gave me a very-good example on how to relax for the next three nights, especially since I also went to Coronado to see a free concert with "The Mighty Untouchables."
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: "Each floor in every dorm room have a ceiling fan with less unit noise."
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad that you got to enjoy the free concert in Coronado. Safe Travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lambretta101 wrote a review Sep 2019
Gourock, United Kingdom3777 contributions1061 helpful votes
+1
Location: Amazing, Staff: Awesome, Kitchen: Incredible. This has to be right up there with the best hostels I’ve stayed in around the world. Absolutely incredible. I really cannot recommend HI downtown highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 8 Oct 2019
Thank you! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anton-Scott wrote a review Aug 2019
Detroit, Michigan112 contributions59 helpful votes
I went to a molecular genetics conference in San Diego, four days' stay in late August 2019. The conference hotel was $250 a night, so I opted for hostel, in a shared room--10 beds male dorm. The check-in was great--I arrived in the morning, and the front desk staff were helpful and all--bag drop so I could explore the Gaslamp. The Gaslamp Quarter is awesome--lots of people strolling all evening into the night, cheap eats and expensive, whatever you want. The weather was normal San Diego but the windows in my 10-person room were NAILED SHUT. It was horrible--no A/C, and no ventilation. Several guests simply checked out not able to sleep. On the third night of my stay, staff responded and un-nailed the windows. It was fine after that. The other people in the room were mostly from outside USA, and interesting to meet. One yucko Trump supporter (Sam) told me I was a loser. Fortunately, other guys in the room just said he was cray-cray. The weekend prior to my visit there was an art show and there was awesome art all over floor 2 and 3, see my pics. Plenty of baños for all, and clean. I met guests from all over--even from Mongolia (my first time). The breakfast was awesome (free) with fresh bagels, fruit, oatmeal, coffee-on-demand, hot water for tea, and tons of Philadelphia cream cheese for the toasted bagels. Every evening 5-9 pm was BYOB where guests could brink alcoholic bevs to the cucina. I made myself a frozen pizza from Ralphs (nearby grocery store) with new friends and a local SD India Pale Ale (Stone IPA Delicious). The staff was professional and chatty and very knowledgeable about attractions and how to use the public transit (trolley and buses). I had a great time, sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid Room 209, no A/C.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 5 Sep 2019
Hi Anton! Thank you for staying with us and sticking through the heat wave we experienced. We are glad you enjoyed the art from our show! We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa Z wrote a review Aug 2019
Aspen Hill, Maryland56 contributions41 helpful votes
What a wonderful hostel! Clean, safe, friendly staff, comfy beds, free breakfast. Pool table, games, conversation with travelers. Highly recommend this place! Stayed with my family - got a room with bunk beds and private bathroom - we were thrilled to each have our own bed. A lot of space to sit and relax, including a garden-like nook. Lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Thank you for the lovely review! We are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Hostel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeana wrote a review Jul 2019
Nashville, Tennessee4 contributions8 helpful votes
My children(ages from 11 to to 22 yo) and I stayed at the hostel for a week(last week of June)for a family reunion and to also see the city while we were there. Before making final making decision in staying there I called several times at various times to ask questions and kinda get the feel of distance/transportation mode. Every single time I called they were so helpful, knowledgeable and so patient. I ended up using the transit(buses/trolleys, you can purchase the Compass card there at the airport and at various locations for the duration of your stay) as a way for my family to get around and reserved a van(Enterprise rental less then 10 min walk and parking garage across the street from the hostel) for our trip to Knott's Berry Farm for one of our day trip(faster way to get there instead of transit). Once arriving at the hostel we were greeted warmly and efficiently. Due to availability at the time I made the reservations my 2 oldest stayed in a 2 bunk room and I stayed in a 4 bunk room with my younger children. It was a perfect set up. Our room had a private bathroom and a small fridge. My 2 oldest invaded our bathroom when the shared bathroom were being used. We walked the 9 minute walk to Ralph's to get food supply. The hostel provided bagels, but after staying a week the kids would be tired of it. ☺I made breakfast a few times or had cereal as well as soup and sandwiches. Bring labels and marker to label your stuff to put in fridge/freezer/cubicles provided. Walks to the transit to get to our destination was fairly a short one, I used my Google map app the whole time. We went to Ocean beach, Coronado beach, Sea world, zoo, Bolboa Park, museums, water tour using the transit. If you're going to be there a few days the Go City Pass is the inexpensive way to go! I chosed the 7 day pass, it had 45 attractions to choose from, we only had time for 7! Lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes. Backpacks and water bottles were allowed at the attractions I mentioned above(this can change). What a great trip, a great experience for us and I would definitely stay here again! The staff were very friendly, a joy to chat and deal with! Thank you for making our stay a pleasant and fun one!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rachel wrote a review May 2019
Cairns, Australia61 contributions78 helpful votes
This place was nice for a first visit in San diego, the location was perfect and the staff were so helpful! The street next to the hotel has great nightlife which also means the noise is loud until 3/4am.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 20 May 2019
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a fun time in San Diego.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ariya wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
I have traveled San Diego to attend an exhibition. My flight has been postponed for one day and I had to delay my hotel reservation for one day. Hopefully Hi San Diego Downtown staff helped me to run out of difficulty. They rescheduled my reservation without any extra charge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Judith_AGM, Manager at HI San Diego Downtown
Responded 7 Feb 2019
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hostelling international san diego downtown hotel san diego
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hostelling International San Diego Downtown
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / Gaslamp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HI San Diego Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to HI San Diego Downtown?
Nearby attractions include The Shout! House (0.1 km), Murder N’ Mayhem (0.07 km), and Gaslamp Quarter (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HI San Diego Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What are some restaurants close to HI San Diego Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Richard Walker's Pancake House, Half Door, and Cowboy Star.
Is HI San Diego Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at HI San Diego Downtown?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HI San Diego Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to HI San Diego Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (5.7 km), Whaley House Museum (5.6 km), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (0.1 km).
Is HI San Diego Downtown accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.