We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mountaineer Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Mountaineer Inn
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mountaineer Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Columbia, SC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I decided to stay at this very budget friendly hotel to save money for going out to eat and other fun stuff. We saved money but at a cost. The room was very retro to say the least, but not a cool retro. The matresses were vintage 1960s, well used and well stained. I laughed most of...

Thank nosaj01
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed to see such blatant slander posted here, and I assume by former disgruntled employees. The absolute fact of the matter is that any old furnishings that may have been on this property have all been disposed of this past Feb and March. We totally refurnished all of our rooms, and most specifically with all new mattresses and...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We booked here because frankly the rest of the city was charging exorbitant rates for Labor Day weekend. We wound up loving the retro feel and were impressed by the friendly staff. The water pressure is awesome and the beds were clean and comfortable. A couple of suggestions, although the rooms have AC, it's controlled by the front desk so...

2Thank DavidWeaver
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your warm and favorable review. We do admit that the central ac is difficult to make perfect for every one, but we can usually come up with a happy middle ground. We do have fans and heaters available for whichever way you need to feel comfortable.I am so happy that you enjoyed the character of the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I visited Asheville to be in North Carolina and as an Elvis fan to follow where he performed, downtown at the local Civic Centre. Unfortunately i had not enough time, having to travel by public transportation to see it as I was leaving early on Monday morning and only there for the weekend. Downtown is buzzy and the best bit...

Thank capricornia52
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had a nice visit to Asheville. Thank you for giving us a favorable review. Please stay with us again if you return to the mountains.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I stayed here for 5days in July though the rooms are old Tv and frig not new the location price and hospitality were excellent. Having stayed at many newer much higher priced hotels in asheville what this one may lack in peoples expectations it is a fine family friendly place to stay. While it might not be what people expect...

1Thank doehen
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thanks to a guest you "gets it". This place is ancient by comparison, having the original building constructed in 1939! We are definitely trying to upgrade a bit, but we don't want to destroy the vintage integrity. We do care about our guests, and we certainly hope you will return.

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Great people ...great breakfast ... We were in the rear building which was a little scary ... The place is tricky to get in and out of . BathRoom and furniture needs repair ...good location though close to wherever we wanted to be

1Thank Michelle H
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you, We appreciate your fair assessment of our property. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and the breakfast. We are sorry you felt the back building was "scary", but just as reassurance, we want all future visitors to know that we have an on site security guard watching things 24-7 and a security cameras in multiple...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The Mountaineer Inn has a ton of character, and if you’re looking for something affordable but more interesting than the standard chain, this is your spot. Bonus features include a complimentary breakfast in the lobby with fresh bagels, donuts and fruit, plus a pool that stays open until 11pm! The rooms are standard, but very clean and also have a...

1Thank Kate G
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed all that our property has to offer. We do boast a lot of character and personality here, nothing like those bland corporate chain hotels run by drones. Our owner is 93 and still here everyday to share interesting stories with anyone willing to listen. Please come back!

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This place is exactly as advertised. It is an older place but it is very unique. The employees were all very friendly and nice. The rooms for the area are competitive and you are getting what you pay for. The rooms could use an upgrade but they add to the character of the place. They offer a decent breakfast of...

2Thank Jeffrey O
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review of our establishment. We definitely offer one of the few vintage and character loaded spots in all of Asheville! Most folks enjoy our hospitality and overlook our imperfections. We are continuing to upgrade every month, but not losing sight of keeping the vintage quality. We will always remain extremely fair priced and not rate...

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Quiet rooms with comfortable beds, attentive and accommodating staff too. Great location, convenient to all of Asheville's attractions and entertainment. Also, fresh local fruit provided in the lobby for guests.

3Thank jerry30068
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Hello valued guest, we so appreciate your nice review of our motel. I am glad you had a quiet and comfortable stay. We hope you will stay again when in the area.

Reviewed 1 August 2016

Met my requirements of being clean, quiet and a good bed. Nothing fancey but will definitely stay there again. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful.Great location with lots of restaurants and attractions nearby. Downtown Asheville is just down the road also. A good value.

2Thank Flynt
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We look forward to your return visit!

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Terrible experience!! Tiny bathroom- the toliet rocked-literally! No blow dryer available! Refrigerator was iced over and the door to it was open with towels shoved in it! The air unit was extremely loud! The carpet was disgusting and the bedding had a lot of stains! Never again will I let Onstar choose for me!

1Thank brandi2cst
Mountaineer_Inn_Mgmt, Manager at The Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review

Well, we are sorry you were unhappy with our establishment. We are routinely tightening bolts on toilets due to the constant use. However, we do have hairdryers available in abundance in the office for requests, as well as irons, ironing boards and microwaves. We may have been able to adjust the ac unit's cover or fan to fix the noise...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (74)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (10)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Bathroom (3)
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (2)


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned motel , originally built in 1930's with blocks from the Blue Ridge parkway construction project. Mountain man neon sign has been designated a historic landmark. Centrally located in the beautiful mountains of Asheville, NC. The property has been featured in many motion pictures throughout the years. The main building has "old fashioned" rooms with original cedar walls, and tiled bathrooms. The newer portion has extra large rooms with two double beds. All rooms have fridges, coffee pots and wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mountaineer Inn

Address: 155 Tunnel Rd, Asheville, NC 28805-1887
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: €55 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mountaineer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Mountaineer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you'd like to avoid climbing stairs, request a room on the ground floor.”
C1706RTpatricks, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the New Section if you want my modern / or stay in the Old Section as it is just cool to see the passage of time!”
gckhd55, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I suggest staying in the one-story part, near the office; I think it's the quietest area.”
Skylark414, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay on upper level to the right of the office to be away from traffic in/out from main road.”
buffalogail, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“either at the front or at the back in the annexe, all good”
capricornia52, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5