We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Inn & Suites

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Downtown Inn & Suites
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Downtown Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 551: English reviews
Indiana
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Friendly staff. Guests seem like urban hipsters and budget travellers. Room was clean. Front office had to turn on their air conditioner. Funky parking situation. Near lots of unique restaurants. Apparently the only budget choice downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 2Midwest
ridegefield
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is an OLD motel style property. The location is better than any other in Asheville for walking around the town center. The motel itself is very dated, cracked tiles, patched bathroom tub , stale smoke smell But the room was basically clean - and on that one point I'm very particular. For the price and the location it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank betsdeb
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Ignore the negative reviews. The person who thought this was a "seedy" part of town needs to get around more. Within two blocks is a vibrant restaurant filled area with a small park that had live music when we were there (on a Thursday night!). Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and it had all the amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David P
Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We are at the hotel right now, on the provided computer with printer/tax/copier in the lobby. Me and my 3 adult sons are in Asheville two days for the beer festival. At first, we were doubtful about staying here due to the fact the current owner purchased the motel from Day's Inn. But, it does not take long to discover,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jong9412
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 May 2013

especially if you have kids. seedy part of town. your first clue should be the charging of your credit card upon check in with no refunds. the second clue would be the gated, locked, exterior stairwells. budahh in the lobby kind of sums it up. look elsewhere and spend a few extra dollars for peace of mind. "oh no no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bandihop
NK_Patel-Owner, Owner at Downtown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This individual has never stayed with us. We sent two emails to see if they have any other details to verify their stay, but never received a response. The observations in this review are false for the following reasons: 1. We do not charge the credit card at check in. We get an authorization only. 2. Exterior stairwells are not...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The building is run down, but the staff was incredibly helpful and the room was adequate for budget travel. It's easy walking distance to most of the local brewpubs and eats in downtown and we chose it for the location, not the wallpaper (although the lobby stairwell is good for a laugh if you're not color blind). On the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lgwacbb
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival to Asheville it was late and with two kids we just wanted to get settled. I went to check us in and the employee (night manager?) was a younger guy with longer hair. He was very friendly and extremely helpful and full of information. We had no issues at all. The beds were comfy, pillows amazing and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoulaJennifer
New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Husband & I spent 3 nights in Asheville, one a Super 8 outside of downtown (which was under construction which we vacated) and 2 nights at the downtown inn. For $75 a night the location can't be beat. Steps away from the Thirsty Monk & Tupelo Honey (excellent) just south of visitors center (helpful stop) and close to Riverarts district...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denheinz
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 19 May 2013

When I first walked into the lobby of this downtown hotel, my immediate thought was simple: "We are going to die." A lobby that stinks of old incense and body odor, coupled with the garish pink tones of a condemned Miami bathhouse circa 1985, does not exactly scream "Welcome!" It does seem to indicate that you might spend your stay...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank floridabetch
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We were passing through on a quick visit to Asheville and wanted to be close to the downtown area. The Downtown Inn was a good value for this purpose. It was too cold to swim but the hotel appears to have tried hard to make an inviting outdoor pool area. Although the pool is within high cement walls on two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreBetty11

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 63 in Asheville
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Price Range: €50 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Downtown Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a "mountain room" for more quiet.”
frolikchocoholik, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher floor room with mountain views”
NancyOO7, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter than those in the front.”
TwoAtlantaTravelers, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street provide a great view!”
C7545MKkennethc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe you should forget the pool side in the summer unless you are here mainly for the pool.”
  • Arranged amenities in our room 102 in one locale.
Carfash, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates