We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Western Motel

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Western Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of The Western Motel
 Click to rate
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This motel was recently updated and you could see the renovations in all aspects of the room. It was very tastefully done. We prefer to stay at places that are not a chain property and really enjoyed our visit here. The gal at the front desk was so nice and fun to talk with. The only thing that needs work...

Thank Goldengirl888
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Very disapointed with this hotel. We had booked a different hotel in Gunnison, but due to a website issues, our reservation hadn't gone through and this was the only hotel with availability for the weekend (should of warned us away right there). The Water Wheel Inn, our first choice, was kind enough to call ahead for us and was quoted...

Thank Adeline E
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I rarely stay in motels - the last time was about 10 years ago. Stayed here based on Booking.com ratings. This is an older motel about 1 block from the center of town. Exceptionally clean, mattress very comfortable, pillows new, linens fresh and new, furniture heavy wood, no cleaning product odor. I really appreciated the fact that the linens didn't...

1Thank DEHNM
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The main thing about this place, it is exceptionally clean. It really stood out compared to the six other hotels I stayed at during my trip. Yes, the parking is a bit tight. The bed was comfortable and sheets were very soft. There rate was fair as this was definitely off season. Yes, I will...

1Thank CaptainUncleRick
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write review about us.

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Overall my stay at the motel was fine, until the morning of checkout I sat on the plastic toilet seat lid to tie my shoes, which then cracked. 2 days later I found a charge on my credit card for $50. A new plastic toilet seat & lid costs $14.48 at the local Ace Hardware store. A bit unreasonable if...

2Thank Zach P
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

At the time of your check out ,you accidentally forgot to report the damage to the toilet. I'm wondering why ? When you called me after receiving the charge of $50.00 for the damage, you started to argue that the damage occurred under normal use, well if that was the case than we would have to replace every toilet seat...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

Basic accomdations, but clean, and the staff was friendly. The heater was a little noisy, but on the plus side it worked very well and kept the room comfortable. I was on a motorcycle trip and the Western keeps a supply of rags for cleaning bug splatter off your bike. I thought it was a good value and reasonably convenient...

1Thank Richard A
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of Western Motel. We try to accommodate and treat our guest as part of our family, therefor we go beyond our normal services.

Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed in room 305. The bed was comfortable, the carpet, bathroom, and linens were all very clean. The HVAC unit was quite, and modern. The décor of the room is dated, but this is nothing uncommon when staying in a MOTEL. Christina the owner is a jewel. She is very friendly, and kind. I am going to stay here...

2Thank Ihavethepower
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fine review.

Reviewed 18 September 2016

I would expect a place like this to be slightly cheaper, the rooms are very basic, but it's clean and the bed is comfortable. Tight parking for large vehicles or trailers. You can walk to downtown, although it is a little ways. Nice park across the street. Breakfast was mostly a danish and some coffee. No pets.

1Thank Amanda G
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our motel. For your info. are aware of the real estate taxes in downtown district ? perhaps it may may worth while to spend some time and research it. Our rates are based on the cost and that's the reason for the rates, which accidentally are lower than other Gunnison Motels.

Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 August 2016

But sometimes there is too much of a good thing, as soon as you enter the room there was a very strong odor of bleach, we left the door and windows open but nothing got rid of it, but the room was quite clean. Hot tub not working and the other down side is the shower, I could only get...

1Thank Kaylee4848
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank for your review. We have instructed our housekeeping staff not to use to much bleach. Shower was repaired and the hot tub is shut down for winter season. The reason it was down because someone put panties into the inlet and burned down the motor. It's fixed now, but will not be open until next summer. Once again, thank...

Reviewed 13 August 2016

Old world European style hospitality was extended to Doug and I (David) during our stay. The room was spotless. We appreciated the attention to detail. The beds were comfortable and the linens were spotless. Excellent continental breakfast and really good coffee. The owners take pride in their business and it shows by the way they maintain the property. Hope to...

1Thank davidgI3608ZX
CCcop027, General Manager at The Western Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our mgt. and staff take it a pride to keep this motel as a family friendly place. We appreciate our guest and their review's, which help us to correct any problems that we may mist. Our motto is guest in our motel is a family in our house.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (9)
Room/Suite (5)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnison hotels
2.7 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Gunnison
1.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Gunnison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
142 reviews
0.2 km away
A-B-C Motel
A-B-C Motel
#9 of 12 in Gunnison
76 reviews
2.7 km away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#7 of 12 in Gunnison
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Western Motel

Address: 403 E Tomichi Ave, Gunnison, CO 81230-2031
Region: United States > Colorado > Gunnison
Price Range: €77 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Western Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Western Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 305 has a good bed.”
Ihavethepower, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The street can be quite noisy so ask for a room in the back”
Kaylee4848, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with best Wi-Fi reception if this is important to you”
davidgI3608ZX, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor close to the lobby where breakfast is served.”
486iann, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with only one bed are tiny.”
astrobob, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$99* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates