We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

San Remo Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,014 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for San Remo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 800: English reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2015

My daughter and I stayed here seven nights in May. It was the perfect compliment to a wonderful vacation in San Francisco. Yes, the rooms are small, there's no elevator, the bathroom is down the hall, etc. None of that mattered to us. For what it may have lacked, the quaintness, cleanliness, convenience, value of the place and the friendliness...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taprindle
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you had a delightful experience and that you enjoyed everything that makes the San Remo Hotel so different from others. Our goal is to make the stay of our guests very special, so that the memory of the San Remo Hotel will be something to remember and cherish....

Haskell, New Jersey
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This is not a hotel- it is a hostel! BEWARE! The rooms are small & the interior rooms windows open to the hallway. Lines for the toilet & showers every morning. Paper thin walls but they give you ear plugs

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel110389
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Please BE AWARE of the latest communication sent on May 19, 2015 from Marc Charron, President of TripAdvisor for Business: Congratulations to San Remo Hotel! FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE On behalf of all of us at TripAdvisor, I'm very pleased to welcome San Remo Hotel to the Certificate of Excellence Hall of Fame. This unique accolade is...

London
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I was a little worried regarding size of rooms and shared bathrooms but staying only two nights did not think it a problem, and in fact was not a problem at all. Although the room was small we only slept there so who needs a suite! The bathroom were spotless and never had to wait. The walls were a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebbieLondon
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent trip to our lovely city. We curate every room by choosing unique period furniture as well as Victorian decoration throughout the hotel, it makes us very happy to know you appreciate them. We will pass your kind words on to our staff and are glad that you found our...

Vonore, Tennessee
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Know what to expect, or you will be disappointed. This is not a motel or hotel chain. It is not even a boutique hotel. It is almost like a hostel. You will share the shower and toilet rooms. You will see people of all ages and nationalities in the hallways in various stages of robe/ towel/ clothing attire. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Torte_Sue
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are a historic, Victorian, European style hotel that will offer you a unique experience in a wonderful location at affordable prices. We are happy you decided try our hotel and you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return visit!

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Kenley and crew do such a wonderful job. Four of us come to participate in the Bay to Breakers and would not consider staying anywhere else. Yep, have our reservations for next year made. Meet the nicest people, many young people visiting the U.S.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2bers
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. Tom and Robert Field, owners of the hotel have been part of the running community in San Francisco for many, many years. We have always welcomed sport enthusiasts. Our location is ideal because of its proximity to many of the starting points of these races. To celebrate the festivities, we love giving out “goodie baskets” to...

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I was on a brief visit to San Francisco with my adult daughter. She is an international backpacker/hosteling type and I have Hilton and Starwood loyalty cards. We were not prepared to pay the atrocious SF hotel prices for a bed and a shower, so we ended up booking a double twin room in San Remo based on price. And...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caneuropianada
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you took the time to send valuable comments about your stay at our historic San Remo Hotel. Our rooms are equipped with period style furniture to represent the typical turn of the century character of a 1906 Hotel. Thank you for mentioning our great location, how romantic our hotel can be, our state of the art...

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 23 May 2015

First things first: You have to be OK with having a bathroom down the hall. This was never a problem for me. I stayed here about a week and never had to wait, either in the morning (I got up around 6 a.m. every day) or in the evening. This is a wonderful old hotel ... tiny rooms but well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whichthat
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our San Remo Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you felt at home with us and enjoyed your time in our colorful North Beach neighborhood! We are looking forward to having you with us soon again.

Mystic, CT
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My business breathren poke fun at me for my Priceline habits or sometimes my 1 star boutique stays etc. but this time in san Fran I had not made a reservation and the town was packed w/ a tech conference which I was attending and I got the only decent appearing hotel left. Well, I really like it. Very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MysticKid
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you found us by luck, booked a last minute stay, and liked your choice. Our hotel policy allows 2 persons per room with the exception of the Triple Room that can accommodate 3 people. We are perplexed as to why there were guests sleeping on the floor. On...

Australia
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

We ended up staying at this hotel when we struggled to find anything in San Francisco reasonably priced. We stayed for 4 nights with our infant son. If we were a couple without a baby the hotel would have been fine but the room was very small for 3. The hotel was extremely clean. The cleaning staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XmasIslanders
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly. About 2 weeks ago we did have an issue with one of the several water heaters in the hotel but it was fixed the next day, we regret the inconvenience. We love babies and we want our guests to...

guadalajara
Reviewed 14 May 2015

When I dream of getting back to San Francisco, I now imagine the San Remo as a big part of the magic. A friend from back east discovered this wonderful hotel, and I couldn't wait for an opportunity to stay there myself. Turned out my next SFO trip was with a young teen, razzle-dazzled by the city, old enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda M
CChevaili, Guest Relations at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that your dream of getting back to San Francisco now includes the memories of your visit to the San Remo Hotel. We are a different Hotel and hope that your niece left with fun memories of her stay as well. Our staff will always look forward to welcoming you back. Hope...

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (331)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (232)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Corner Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (21)
Viewed
Double Room with Wardrobe and Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (15)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (16)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (18)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Street View) (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 228 in San Francisco
1,914 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#63 of 228 in San Francisco
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in North Beach / Telegraph Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
The aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans, the sounds of opera, and the sights of the romantic Italian ristorante come together to create the charming neighbourhood of North Beach, once the stomping grounds for the Beatnik Generation. Although parts of North Beach are known for nightlife that’s not always suitable for younger visitors, few neighbourhoods in the city exude as much European charm and style. Peruse a bookstore for the literature of Kerouac, Ferlinghetti and Ginsberg, grab some gelato and head to Washington Square for a perfect afternoon of people watching. Just east of North Beach, the hills and staircases of Telegraph Hill are a unique delight. At its peak, the art deco Coit Tower provides sweeping panoramic views of the bay and city. The beautifully landscaped Filbert Street Steps, a street too steep for a roadway, rewards those willing to hike uphill. Keep your ears open and you might even hear the squawk of the wild parrots who call this neighbourhood home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1899
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Price Range: €100 - €166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Remo Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from San Remo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We would be happy with any room but like to have a sink.”
ktsloanie, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have windows onto the hotel hallway, they may be less quiet”
wandering-tattler, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with a window facing outside. Showers upstairs are bigger with room to change clothes.”
rolledtacos, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get #11 and pay a little extra to get one of those nicer rooms with a window”
SerendipityIndia, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had an inside-facing room and it was quiet plus we didn't need a view.”
juliadC742KL, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates