We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

San Remo Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

977 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for San Remo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 772: English reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in an amazing location - so close to great places to eat, grocery stores, cycling stores and things to see - we hardly ventured anywhere else! The staff are so friendly and there is free tea and coffee all day! Don't be put off by the shared bathrooms - there was always at least one available to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashleigh K
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience, we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the free coffee, tea lemon water, and goodies. If you need more room next time ask for our “Family Suites,” you get two adjacent rooms with a pocket door that gives you more space and we are still way below the prices...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel was small, quaint and clean. Quiet for the most part but did get a little night traffic in the hallways since we were located next to the restrooms. Good for the price point but main complaints were the extra small rooms (barely room to walk around bed)and sharing bathrooms with the rest of the hotel. Only 2 toilets and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dustin B
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a beautifully preserved historical hotel, and it is no secret our rooms are cozy. We offer our guest a premium location at affordable prices, and yes, with shared bathrooms. We regret that we were not able to have better informed you about bathroom locations. There are bathroom facilities very accessible throughout the hotel...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Great location, very good wifi, I was able to stream video, but it might not be as good in every room or when it is busier. Cute place, small room with a sink and mirror dresser and chest for hanging clothes or luggage (you can also check your luggage if space is a problem) . Coffee all day. Computer down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry R
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to create a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, a sanctuary for our guests, where after a long day in San Francisco can feel like you “came home.” We have chosen not to add TV’s or phones in our rooms to keep the noise down and to preserve the historic...

Shanghai
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The San Remo Hotel, I realize, is the reason I visited San Francisco for the 3rd time in 20 years. The first time I went there I was young and single. And now I am married with a 6 y.o. child. I wish I can find a San Remo Hotel in every other city I visit: Good value, fantastic location,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grover T
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your heartwarming review. We are honored that you have chosen to stay with us now for the 3rd time in a span of 20 years! The San Remo Hotel has been around for 110 years only because of great guests like you who patronize us through the years. We also wish we could have a San Remo...

Vancouver
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We stayed a couple nights here on a short visit to San Francisco. We had used booking.com so I imagine that's why we got an inside room without windows but that was ok. The room was super warm even with the ceiling fan and other fan on. The staff were all friendly and helpful anytime we needed anything. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teamBCtravellers
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the San Remo. We offer four different kinds of rooms, and the price varies a little bit, all of them bookable directly through the hotel’s website, by calling the front desk or through the online agencies like Booking or Expedia. We are glad that you liked our location and that...

Durango
Reviewed 3 January 2017

2nd stay at San Remo. Absolutely delightful, authentic and charming. Loved the restaurant downstairs for a special meal. So much memorabilia to peruse on the walls. Yes, you can hear your neighbors. If you like "funky," you'll love this place as well. Note: Many stairs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lori G
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for the second time. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and that you got to experience the Fior d’Italia restaurant. It is America’s oldest Italian Restaurant and a “must” in San Francisco. Thanks for mentioning our carefully curated halls and rooms. We would love to welcome you back.

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We stayed one night at the San Remo. Most lodging in the city was extremely expensive-we picked here because it was the cheapest. It has a lot of character and nice little touches throughout like snacks, drinks, and toiletries. Our room was teeny tiny but clean and comfortable and the shared bathrooms/showers were also very clean. The staff was friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jess R
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about our hotel. Our rooms are cozy and small, but our prices are more than proportional. We also have Family Suites (two adjacent rooms with a pocket door) that can give our guests double the room, and the price is still significantly less that one night stays...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 29 December 2016

If you love European-style hotels that are the antithesis of, say, a Motel 6, you will love San Remo. While the rooms are tiny, they're clean and well-maintained. There are all sorts of delightful surprises, such as the massage chair in the book-lined reading alcove, and the jars of licorice and Tootsie Rolls next to the coffee and hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OwlMel
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be a good one and that you also liked our Historic Victorian style and character. We are delighted that you enjoyed the free refreshments and treats provided for our guests. Our massage chairs do make it a nice way...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

This place is lovely if you love quirky stuff! Cosy little rooms which literally have a bed and a wardrobe. Beds are high and comfortable but very bouncy! The walls are paper thin so you do here literally everything! Shared bathrooms and showers which are clean but personally I don't like as it's a long walk at night down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katydoris
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed our beds and found the rooms to be cozy. However, we are sorry that you were disturbed by noisy neighbors on your recent stay with us. The San Remo Hotel is an exceptionally-maintained historic hotel built in 1906. As such we cannot claim the soundproofing...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the San Remo Hotel twice on our way to and from New York. It is an easy walk to Fishermans Wharf , near the cable cars and close to buses. So a very convenient and quiet location. It is not your usual sterile hotel. The rooms are all quite small with floral carpets , old fashioned beds,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne C
Citlali C, Guest Relations Manager at San Remo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in San Francisco and your stay at our hotel. We would like to say the San Remo Hotel are a unique lodging place with a character of its own. We are glad that you enjoyed our carefully curated turn of the century artwork and décor....

611 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (232)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Corner Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (21)
Viewed
Double Room with Wardrobe and Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (15)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Interior View) (16)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Sink in Room) (18)
Viewed
Double Twin Room with Shared Bathroom (Street View) (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 229 in San Francisco
1,697 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,242 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in North Beach / Telegraph Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
The aroma of freshly roasted coffee beans, the sounds of opera, and the sights of the romantic Italian ristorante come together to create the charming neighbourhood of North Beach, once the stomping grounds for the Beatnik Generation. Although parts of North Beach are known for nightlife that’s not always suitable for younger visitors, few neighbourhoods in the city exude as much European charm and style. Peruse a bookstore for the literature of Kerouac, Ferlinghetti and Ginsberg, grab some gelato and head to Washington Square for a perfect afternoon of people watching. Just east of North Beach, the hills and staircases of Telegraph Hill are a unique delight. At its peak, the art deco Coit Tower provides sweeping panoramic views of the bay and city. The beautifully landscaped Filbert Street Steps, a street too steep for a roadway, rewards those willing to hike uphill. Keep your ears open and you might even hear the squawk of the wild parrots who call this neighbourhood home.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family-owned historic boutique pension-style hotel located in North Beach, one of San Francisco's oldest and most popular tourist destinations, and only a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Built in 1906, our hotel maintains an atmosphere of Old-World charm and ambiance with specially selected antique furnishings - no two rooms are alike. The walls of the hotel are filled with a collection of memorabilia and history. Our style is simplicity and sanctuary - there are no room telephones, no televisions, and on the order of European pensions, shared baths which are meticulously cleaned daily, and are private when in use, but for all guests to use. Our rooms are cozy and small, our prices are proportional. Our staff is available while our Front Desk is open to help you find anything your heart desires. A truly unique, non-standardized hotel experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Address: 2237 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Price Range: €109 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Remo Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from San Remo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 has no outside window. Room 27 has 2 outside windows.”
 of 5 bubbles AudreyF571, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were above water street and noisy rubbish collection each night. Don't get inside room.”
 of 5 bubbles KPATauranga, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for upstairs or something far from facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 569minhl, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Faith and optimism”
 of 5 bubbles jessicahunterdickson, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The two stays here I have had a room with an exterior window, more light etc. but nosier, based on other reviews.”
 of 5 bubbles 480larryr, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5